• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

CHC idiots defend Sun Ho's lifestyle! Is CHC Church or Brain Washing Cult???

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - CHC idiots defend Sun Ho's lifestyle!</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>2:45 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 18) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>34899.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>___________Churchgoers defend Ho's lifestyle[/SIZE]

by Esther Ng
Updated 05:13 PM Jun 21, 2010

http://www.todayonline.com/Singapore/EDC100621-0000070/Churchgoers-defend-Hos-lifestyle

SINGAPORE - She may have been living like a Hollywood star for the past year, but City Harvest Church's members were not surprised by her lavish lifestyle, with some even defending it.

The New Paper (TNP) yesterday reported that singer Ho Yeow Sun, who is married to Reverend Kong Hee of City Harvest Church, was renting a mansion in Hollywood Hills, a posh suburb of Los Angeles, for $28,000 a month.

The property which she has been renting for the past year has a swimming pool and is about 29,000 square feet in area, about the size of 25 110 sq m five-room flats.

Ms Ho is believed to be staying in the rental estate, which is listed for sale at $7.7 million, with her son, a nanny, her assistant and several family members, according to TNP.

The property has four buildings in total, and two cars - a black sports utility vehicle and a black Mercedes Benz CLK550 - could be seen driving in and out of the home.

MediaCorp spoke to churchgoers yesterday after its 12.30pm service and most - including those who are learning about her lavish Hollywood home for the first time - seemed unfazed by the news.

"Well, she is a celebrity," said 23-year-old student Andrew Lee.

Another churchgoer, Mr David Ong, told MediaCorp that Ms Ho's living arrangements in Hollywood were well-known.

Asked whether they thought part of their tithes was being used to fund Ms Ho's lifestyle, the 10 churchgoers MediaCorp spoke to did not think so.

A member who only wanted to be known as Mr Lim said: "Church money is separate and is protected by the church's constitution. All our financial transactions are on our website - you can go and check it out."

Ms Audrey Tan, 27, said what Ms Ho did was her business and that she had probably paid for the rent from what she earns from her business and royalties as a professional artiste.

Soon after, a bus pulled up to the kerb and a group of elderly folk disembarked. Pointing to the group, a church member who declined to be named said: "This is where part of our tithes go to - we buy them food, medication and pay for their transport to church and back."

Earlier, it was a packed house as Deputy Senior Pastor Tan Ye-Peng led the service.

It being Father's Day yesterday, the congregation honoured fathers with prayer. A special round of applause went to Rev Kong, who was greeted with a hug from Pastor Tan.

But, barely before the applause had died down, Rev Kong left the hall

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"> </TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD><TD class=wintiny width="25%" noWrap align=right> </TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgbfrbot> </TD><TD colSpan=3> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
I am really puzzled. While the pastor Kong Hee preaches to his followers that they should give to the Church and they will be rewarded MANY MANY times than what they give, how come Kong Hee and his wife Sun Ho did not give more and more to the Church?

It is also ironic that while some of his followers SOLD THEIR HDB FLATS. downgraded just to contribute to his church, he and his wife actually own many multi-million condos~! 13 units one shot at the Horizon? Well, at least they should sell 1 or two units to give to the Church instead of having their followers to sell their only HDB flats to give to the Church right?

Maybe someone can enlighten me on this logic...

Goh Meng Seng

Equalisation

I am really puzzled. While the pastor Kong Hee preaches to his followers that they should give to the Church and they will be rewarded MANY MANY times than what they give, how come Kong Hee and his wife Sun Ho did not give more and more to the Church?

It is also ironic that while some of his followers SOLD THEIR HDB FLATS. downgraded just to contribute to his church, he and his wife actually own many multi-million condos~! 13 units one shot at the Horizon? Well, at least they should sell 1 or two units to give to the Church instead of having their followers to sell their only HDB flats to give to the Church right?

Goh Meng Seng

Aiyoh Mr Goh,

aiyoh .... sua sua ker lah .... people want to be stupid sheep, cannot meh .... offend you ah ....:o

commoner

sorry, mr goh,,,, they are just one of the owners of the 13 units of horizon tower,,,,

do get your fact right,,,, sorry to burst your bubble,,,, pap will be more ruthless

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Aiyoh Mr Goh,

aiyoh .... sua sua ker lah .... people want to be stupid sheep, cannot meh .... offend you ah ....:o

Actually, this is not the first time that I have heard about religious leaders talking about their followers selling their flats and donating to their cause... be it religious or charity. Ming Yi has done it for his Ren Ci once; there is another monk did that in some private occasions... etc.

Even as Buddhist, I am disapproval of that. They will always cite some Buddhist scriptures about how donations or contributions to such charity or religious cause will benefit them in return but that was in olden days when people could just live off the land; we can't do that in modern city state like Singapore. And for the Ming Yi case, we know he actually owns a condo as well! This is actually against the precept of monkhood where they are supposed to keep only the basic necessary like robes, alms, umbrella but not owning any properties...

Goh Meng Seng

Unrepented

Their establishment dont exist in isolation. Wait until they brainwash someone close to us then how? Then they ask you ...... cannot meh

Aiyoh Mr Goh,

Hypothetical defence: They themselves couldn't possibly live in so many units. Therefore, these must be for rental or capital appreciation. When they rent out or sell at gain, 10% will go to the church.

Question is: Where did they get the cash and credit rating from for downpayments to qualify for mortgages to buy so many units?

Peiweh

Goh Meng Seng

Dear Goh Meng Seng,
The actions of the Pastor and his Wife speak larger than words. The results are plain and evident: The Church collects very large amounts of cash every week while the Pastor can purchase 13 Condo Units.

The same thing occured in the USA with thier mega-churches. There was one famous couple, Jim and Tammy Bakker. An insider report exposed the cheating behind church doors where it was discovered many church employess are locked into a room counting, and bagging massive piles of cash, similar to a bank or at the casino. Further reports showed how the Pastors skimmed a % of the cash off the books while fueling a lavish lifestyle beyond thier means. In the Jim and Tammy Bakker case, it was thier massive houses, cars, opulent lifestlye that betrayed them.

This has been happening in Singapore for some time. CHC, the Rock, etc have glorified Religion and turned it into one of the most lucrative money making schemes ever created. And its all in the name of religion but actually has little to do with religion. The Churches do it for the money. Singaporeans give because of the emotional high they see in these mega churches. Its wrong. Its immoral. Its illegal. Those with the means should ensure such fraud comes to a complete stop in Singapore.

Good Luck

Subok

Actually, this is not the first time that I have heard about religious leaders talking about their followers selling their flats and donating to their cause... be it religious or charity. Ming Yi has done it for his Ren Ci once; there is another monk did that in some private occasions... etc.

Even as Buddhist, I am disapproval of that. They will always cite some Buddhist scriptures about how donations or contributions to such charity or religious cause will benefit them in return but that was in olden days when people could just live off the land; we can't do that in modern city state like Singapore. And for the Ming Yi case, we know he actually owns a condo as well! This is actually against the precept of monkhood where they are supposed to keep only the basic necessary like robes, alms, umbrella but not owning any properties...

Goh Meng Seng

Dear Mr Goh,

My advice is you keep yourself out of this issue. Unless it is of National emergency or threaten national security of CHC is already a social fabric of Singapore's life, keep out of it.

I believe as it is, there are enough political issues to keep you busy with and fighting for Singaporean and I am sure CHC is not one of them.

As the conclusion is still not in sight, less you be faulted for singing the wrong tune later. Let the mundane handles the mundanes while you keep your focus for the greater good of Singapore's democracy.

With all due respect and prudent advice.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
You will be right for any politicians who won't want to lose votes and focus on only winning votes.

However, I think for any person with a clear conscience and good character, one should not just pretend not to see the ills and bad things happening around us and that everything is in order when it is not. Else we will be those who just sit by and watch the Emperor without clothes passing by.

Politicians are supposed to be leaders who are taking care of public interests. People in such position must be morally upright. If we lack the moral courage to stand up to something so absurd, there is no guarantee that we may just close one or both eyes on many other inconvenient happenings around us.

Well, losing or winning an elections is just the part and parcel of the democratic process but losing the upright character of a moral living, is life long corruption of mind. I would rather lose an election than living my life with compromise on my morals.

Goh Meng Seng

Dear Mr Goh,

My advice is you keep yourself out of this issue. Unless it is of National emergency or threaten national security of CHC is already a social fabric of Singapore's life, keep out of it.

I believe as it is, there are enough political issues to keep you busy with and fighting for Singaporean and I am sure CHC is not one of them.

As the conclusion is still not in sight, less you be faulted for singing the wrong tune later. Let the mundane handles the mundanes while you keep your focus for the greater good of Singapore's democracy.

With all due respect and prudent advice.