• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Canadian PR

Hock

hi hock, sorry for the late reply. was busy settling in edmonton & just got my internet working.

decided to buy instead of rent :smile:

Congratulations! Did you manage to get 95% financing 35 years amortization? Asychee is also in Edmonton.

Hock

Got my passport request. Just sent passport to stick on the maple leaf.
Which airline to take for S'pore - Vancouver - Calgary?

Good.......................................................bye S'pore!:biggrin:

Asychee

Got my passport request. Just sent passport to stick on the maple leaf.
Which airline to take for S'pore - Vancouver - Calgary?

Good.......................................................bye S'pore!:biggrin:

Welcome to Canada, in your previous post - you are going to Calgary? Do drop by in Edmonton. There is 4 families of samster from this forum to lim kopi. 1 will be coming in July and 1 in Aug permanently.

Hock

Hurry! Hurry Up! Apply Canadian PR now! Quick leg, quick hand

NOC 38 list is changing soon. Don't say I din tell you.:biggrin:

Hock

Hor say leow! Got my Canadian Maple Leaf PR visa.

Good...................................................bye S'pore
Hello Canada:biggrin:

axe168

Hor say leow! Got my Canadian Maple Leaf PR visa.
Good...................................................bye S'pore
Hello Canada:biggrin:

Yo, heartless dude.. you have no idea our PAP govt invested heaps of time, money and education in you... all they need is your 'vote' during crisis.. & you left.. wah biang.. I salute those die-hard sinkies, die-die also wana stay.. heehee :wink:

Charlie9

Re: Cold

Whether it is cold or mild, is all relative. I may consider 10C as mild, and continue to wear shorts and T shirt (in Oct, when the day time high may be 10C), whereas others may feel cold in 10C weather.

The significant issue is to dress in layers of natural fabrics, such as cotton and wool. Cotton undershirt, cotton long sleeve shirt, wool vest or sweater, jacket. Consider wearing a wool beret or hat.

But the Canadian winter could be longer than desired, say 4 months or longer. Be positive, and enjoy winter sports.

Dear Hock,

Is Canada better than NZ? I am looking for a place where I can retire while my kids goto University. When they graduate, they can find a job in the US.
The cold is Canada is the part that might cause me a U-turn.

Depends on your definition of "better". You need to define your yardsticks. If you think the USA is where your kids fortunes lie, then Canada is obviously a better choice than NZ as the US is just a hop away. If you want peace and quiet plus low overheads, then NZ is the place to be.

Canada isn't a "dot". It's huge. Some parts of the country have cold winters while the West Coast has very mild winters in comparison.

wendypoh

Dear Hock,

Is Canada better than NZ? I am looking for a place where I can retire while my kids goto University. When they graduate, they can find a job in the US.
The cold is Canada is the part that might cause me a U-turn.

Do the Kiwis wear t-shirts like this Canadian?

4737400387_abd19c2f63_b.jpg

Hock

Latest 29 National Occupation Classification (NOC) codes:

•0631 Restaurant and Food Service Managers
•0811 Primary Production Managers (Except Agriculture)
•1122 Professional Occupations in Business Services to Management
•1233 Insurance Adjusters and Claims Examiners
•2121 Biologists and Related Scientists
•2151 Architects
•3111 Specialist Physicians
•3112 General Practitioners and Family Physicians
•3113 Dentists
•3131 Pharmacists
•3142 Physiotherapists
•3152 Registered Nurses
•3215 Medical Radiation Technologists
•3222 Dental Hygienists & Dental Therapists
•3233 Licensed Practical Nurses
•4151 Psychologists
•4152 Social Workers
•6241 Chefs
•6242 Cooks
•7215 Contractors and Supervisors, Carpentry Trades
•7216 Contractors and Supervisors, Mechanic Trades
•7241 Electricians (Except Industrial & Power System)
•7242 Industrial Electricians
•7251 Plumbers
•7265 Welders & Related Machine Operators
•7312 Heavy-Duty Equipment Mechanics
•7371 Crane Operators
•7372 Drillers & Blasters — Surface Mining, Quarrying & Construction
•8222 Supervisors, Oil and Gas Drilling and Service

If you or your friend(s) or your relative(s) fall under these job classifications,
hurry down to the Canadian High Commission, and grab an apllication form.:biggrin:

Good............................................................................bye S'pore
Hello Canada!:biggrin:

silica

I'm new to this forum and am hoping that seniors out there will help with my questions

1) I submitted my Canadian PR application in Aug 2007 under the skilled worker scheme. Now after waiting for almost 36 months, they still have not requested for me to submit documents. Furthermore my occupation is not among the 29 under the new list anymore. My fear is that there will be a longer wait time. Anyone out there in a similar situation?

2) I intend to quit my job soon and work on a freelance (self employed?) basis. Will this affect the outcome when they process my application?

Thanks in advance!