• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Bro Lawrence Guarantees That Sinkie Losers Will Huat Big Time From GST Increase! New Committee Formed To Fight Against Profiteering!

SINGAPORE - Lower-income groups will benefit the most from the comprehensive set of measures laid out in the Budget to help everyone cope with the cost of living, said Finance Minister Lawrence Wong on Friday (Feb 25).

Middle-income families will also receive substantial benefits for the amount of taxes they pay, he added.

He was responding to online comments on the recent Budget in an Instagram video which he posted on Friday night.

Addressing one user's comment that the increases would make "only the poor suffer", Mr Wong said measures such as the Household Support Package will give households utilities rebates, and they will also receive CDC Vouchers and get help for their children’s education.

These vouchers aim to support Singaporean households with their daily expenses and can be used at participating heartland shops and hawker centres.
"At the same time, they will get a significant package of measures from the enhanced Assurance Package which will provide help over the next five years," Mr Wong added.

Beyond these temporary measures, permanent help will also be given through the enhanced GST Vouchers and other initiatives for lower-wage workers, such as progressive wages and Workfare.

"So, all together, we in fact have significant permanent help for our lower-income groups in Singapore," said Mr Wong.

Another user commented on taxes for the rich and said they should be taxed more.

Responding, Mr Wong said: "A lot of thought has gone into designing our fiscal system to ensure that we have a system of taxes and transfers that is fair and progressive. And that means everyone contributes their share of taxes in return for stronger social support.

"But those with greater means contribute a larger share."

He said such a system will help to strengthen the social compact and solidarity here, while enabling Singapore "to take bold steps towards building a fairer, greener, and more inclusive society".

In his Budget speech on Feb 18, Mr Wong had announced a goods and services tax (GST) increase from 7 per cent to 9 per cent in two stages - one percentage point each time on Jan 1, 2023, and Jan 1, 2024.

Addressing a comment on the GST increase and how this would impact middle-income families, he said the Government has also taken care to ensure that middle-income groups receive support from the Budget, with the Household Support Package, the enhanced Assurance Package for GST and enhanced GST Vouchers.

Middle-income families can also benefit from a broad range of subsidies for areas such as housing, education and healthcare, he added.

"So when you sum it all together for the amount of taxes that middle-income families pay, which is relatively low compared to many other places around the world, middle-income families in Singapore do receive substantial benefits and support from the Government," Mr Wong said.

"And we will do everything we can to keep it that way."

Citing the GST increase, a user voiced concerns over whether businesses would use it as a cover to raise prices.

Mr Wong said the Government is standing up a Committee Against Profiteering, which will be chaired by Minister of State Low Yen Ling.

It will watch over this issue closely and take action against unfair price hikes, he said.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...will-also-get-susbstantial-help-lawrence-wong

Lower income groups to benefit the most from GST raise. Lol…. Oh ok!

How about cancer will make you cherish your loved ones? Haha

SINGAPORE - Lower-income groups will benefit the most from the comprehensive set of measures laid out in the Budget to help everyone cope with the cost of living, said Finance Minister Lawrence Wong on Friday (Feb 25).

Middle-income families will also receive substantial benefits for the amount of taxes they pay, he added.

He was responding to online comments on the recent Budget in an Instagram video which he posted on Friday night.

Addressing one user's comment that the increases would make "only the poor suffer", Mr Wong said measures such as the Household Support Package will give households utilities rebates, and they will also receive CDC Vouchers and get help for their children’s education.

These vouchers aim to support Singaporean households with their daily expenses and can be used at participating heartland shops and hawker centres.
"At the same time, they will get a significant package of measures from the enhanced Assurance Package which will provide help over the next five years," Mr Wong added.

Beyond these temporary measures, permanent help will also be given through the enhanced GST Vouchers and other initiatives for lower-wage workers, such as progressive wages and Workfare.

"So, all together, we in fact have significant permanent help for our lower-income groups in Singapore," said Mr Wong.

Another user commented on taxes for the rich and said they should be taxed more.

Responding, Mr Wong said: "A lot of thought has gone into designing our fiscal system to ensure that we have a system of taxes and transfers that is fair and progressive. And that means everyone contributes their share of taxes in return for stronger social support.

"But those with greater means contribute a larger share."

He said such a system will help to strengthen the social compact and solidarity here, while enabling Singapore "to take bold steps towards building a fairer, greener, and more inclusive society".

In his Budget speech on Feb 18, Mr Wong had announced a goods and services tax (GST) increase from 7 per cent to 9 per cent in two stages - one percentage point each time on Jan 1, 2023, and Jan 1, 2024.

Addressing a comment on the GST increase and how this would impact middle-income families, he said the Government has also taken care to ensure that middle-income groups receive support from the Budget, with the Household Support Package, the enhanced Assurance Package for GST and enhanced GST Vouchers.

Middle-income families can also benefit from a broad range of subsidies for areas such as housing, education and healthcare, he added.

"So when you sum it all together for the amount of taxes that middle-income families pay, which is relatively low compared to many other places around the world, middle-income families in Singapore do receive substantial benefits and support from the Government," Mr Wong said.

"And we will do everything we can to keep it that way."

Citing the GST increase, a user voiced concerns over whether businesses would use it as a cover to raise prices.

Mr Wong said the Government is standing up a Committee Against Profiteering, which will be chaired by Minister of State Low Yen Ling.

It will watch over this issue closely and take action against unfair price hikes, he said.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...will-also-get-susbstantial-help-lawrence-wong
Can help to tell your bro wong My uncle comments? Increase gst 50% to 100% but do away gst for medical except class A and B2 patients.

aerobwala

Let me give some direction. Kopi Peng (Large) now is selling at S$2.50 per cup, an increased of S$0.30 or 13% from S$2.20 a week ago.

Holim-Drinks-Series.jpg

Can help to tell your bro wong My uncle comments? Increase gst 50% to 100% but do away gst for medical except class A and B2 patients.
Good catch. This dirty whore like to say digital sex and drilling
:whistling:
:cool:
You evil coward criminal bully Cantonese prostitute descendant same as semaj2357 aka Jeremy Quek aka glockman aka cottonmouth aka ginmother are so proud in hide in rat hole forum to tell evil filthy lies of me and insult me a virgin a dirty whore. So shameless twisting what I said of digital means using finger in rape crime to i am a slut whore and add a whistle sign to insult me slut whore and yet got the cheek to keep calling yourself wise. Evil coward bullying is what you have done and still doing to me with your cantonese pride for years and obviously bullying is nothing sensible I.e nothing wise if not murder molest rape all called wise. Pui your filthy Cantonese dirty whore phua cb!

A wise action or decision is sensible. It's never wise to withhold evidence. She had made a very wise decision. It is wise to seek help and counsel as soon as possible.

Wise definition and meaning | Collins English Dictionary