• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Best dim Sum retaurant in the world .....

At Nathan Road, Kowloon, there's of course no shortage of good dimsum restuarants. At Jalan Besar, you must mean Swee Kee. Standards dropped a lot from 80s/90s but relatively, still better than most others in Singapore.

1. ram, you should try "asian grand restaurant" at oden towers.
2. good, affordable and delicious.
3. i would also recommend "ming jiang" of goodwood park.

At Nathan Road, Kowloon, there's of course no shortage of good dimsum restuarants. At Jalan Besar, you must mean Swee Kee. Standards dropped a lot from 80s/90s but relatively, still better than most others in Singapore.

jln besar dimsum rest is call shui choon lah...not swee kee lah....swee kee is sell chicken rice lah....alamaking shld know dis better becos he stay and work in desker rd....HAHAHAHAHAH :D

another place to try is toa payoh lor 1 blk 127...teochew handmade pau...they got veri good lor mai kai and sio bee (teochew for siu mai)...but their star attraction is handmade pau....after u eat their pau, u will not eat in other places liao... ;)

MainOutlet.jpg

jln besar dimsum rest is call shui choon lah...not swee kee lah....swee kee is sell chicken rice lah....alamaking shld know dis better becos he stay and work in desker rd....HAHAHAHAHAH :D

Yeah, thanks for the correction. Swee Chun it is.

Swee Kee is the Beach Road steamboat.

Thanks, and spare you and your theerak for now. :cool:

The best dim sum is in Hong Kong lah. Ingredient is the most important thing for dim sum. To get the authetic taste, they have to be procured from South China area.

Agree. Luk Yu is generally regarded as the best in Hong Kong:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Luk_Yu_(tea_house)

But it's really catered to genuine gourmets. A typical S'porean diner probably won't appreciate Luk Yu.

Breath-taking view! Reminds me of Carmel too, I still remember the only oak tree on the cliff...those hses there are in 7 or 8 $figures$!

Oh, the miles-drive oak tree cliff. Yeah, both Carmel and Sausalito have the storybook fairytale setting.

The large numbers of HKers in western cities provide a market large enough for nice dim-sum restaurants. In Canada, some places you can get "Dor-Chun Yu" (pardon my cantonese) - translated it is Plenty-Egg Fish I think. I got to like this but I don't remember having it in Sg. It's deep-fried, finger sized, and full of roe (and cholesterol, hehe). I suspect this fish is called Capelin in English.

Push-cart service style is still commonly available in KL, Penang and HK, but same as elsewhere, gradually being replaced by fill-form order style. The last time I saw push-cart service style in Singapore was in Fortunate Restaurant, Toa Payoh Lorong 4 / Central many years ago. Not sure if they still practise that. If in southern Thailand, the region between Hatyai and Phuket, "mini" dimsum is commonly available and very good. All the siewmai, hargou etc. are made much smaller (and of course corresponding cheaper). That's a good practice as it enables one to eat more varieties without overfilling. There's no push-cart or form-fill. Select the dishes direct.

in my opinion 红星酒家 Blk 54 Chin swee rd #07-23 best in sg, even better than swee kee and 幸福饮茶. :D push cart by old aunties. :D old school, old place, old staff and old customers. very nostalgic! better go before all the old people and old things gone!!! :(

Ditto to this, only true Tim sum lovers visits Hong Xin Restaurant, u guys sucks!!! especially that narcissist Ramsy, everywhere also nice, bor standard, lol :p:p

Why ??:confused:

The waitresses wear orange uniform ??:eek:

Red Star is overhyped. Good but not that good and certainly not the best. Pushcart trolley is nostalgic but for better food freshness and hygiene, I prefer it served to order, i.e. the dimsum is only steamed or fried when you order it, served freshly hot, not pushed around for other people to pick and choose about until it's your turn.

1. ram, you are right about red star.
2. aiyoh! its pastry and quality not up to the mark.
3. no way to match dim sum from hk.

There's one silly Alamaking in stupid orange cauliflower shirt who only knows Red Star by day and Hollandse Club by night (and Changi Village after midnight). And you know why he's called Alamaking? He looks like Henry Thia! :eek:

lol! anyway red star nowadays dim sum finish very fast! dont even need to push around! once come out, everyone rush to the cart to get it. thats what happened when i was there few mth ago. :D