• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Best dim Sum retaurant in the world .....

Equalisation

.... Imperial Chinese Restaurant at Cara Real Hotel in Macau .... yum yum ...mo duk deng !!:):)

Northern Shore Restaurant at Sausalito. Best.

north sea village dim sum restaurant at sausalito has been closed for years. when did you last visit the sf bay area? a decade ago? there was never a northern shore chinese restaurant at sausalito.

the best in the bay area is koi palace in serramonte, daly city, south of san francisco. a new branch is opened in dublin, east bay.

north sea village dim sum restaurant at sausalito has been closed for years. when did you last visit the sf bay area? a decade ago? there was never a northern shore chinese restaurant at sausalito.

the best in the bay area is koi palace in serramonte, daly city, south of san francisco. a new branch is opened in dublin, east bay.

Oh...how regrettably. I last visited it in 2001, though I last visited the Bay Area in 2008 without going to Sausalito. Yes, yes, North Sea Village, I couldn't even recall the name properly.

i would agree with you that before 9/11, 2001, it was an exceptional dim sum restaurant nestled at the wharf in sausalito. it had a spectacular view of the bay and the tiburon peninsula right across from sausalito. the food was great and selections plenty. i had to drive up from the south bay just to sample their deep fried fu pei kin. there was none so good in sj or sf. service was ok as it was always crowded. parking was a nightmare so much so that other businesses next to it started putting up tow-away signs. after 9/11, business as a whole started to wane in sausalito. tourists disappeared, and locals cut back. north sea village was still filling up, but i think something went amiss - it was either the city health department "found" unsavory stuff at the restaurant or neighboring merchants complained. it's still a mystery to me why it closed. i drove up to sausalito with friends one day and told them about the best dim sum experience in the bay, whetting their appetite as i turned into turney street to park... and lo and behold, parking spaces aplenty... and the building was no more. poof! kaput! gone! wtf? so i settled for some italian further down the piers. that was years ago. you may be confused with the north sea village restaurant in north shore of albany, nz, which is an ocean away.

The dip for dim sum used to be a little saucer half filled with a hot mustard and half with a sweet red sauce. That was how I came to like mustard - it "cuts" the fat. And with a little sweetness from the red sauce (I heard that coloring has been banned?!?). How I loved to double-dip the siew-mai into the sauce.

How come this isn't practiced anymore?

Can't say which is the best restaurant, but I only like dim-sum at places with the push-carts and not those you pen down your wants on a slip of paper and they bring them all at once on a tray. One of the nice things about dim-sum is to peek onto the trolley and see what's there, and then decide whether ya table wants it. YUM!

Push-cart service style is still commonly available in KL, Penang and HK, but same as elsewhere, gradually being replaced by fill-form order style. The last time I saw push-cart service style in Singapore was in Fortunate Restaurant, Toa Payoh Lorong 4 / Central many years ago. Not sure if they still practise that. If in southern Thailand, the region between Hatyai and Phuket, "mini" dimsum is commonly available and very good. All the siewmai, hargou etc. are made much smaller (and of course corresponding cheaper). That's a good practice as it enables one to eat more varieties without overfilling. There's no push-cart or form-fill. Select the dishes direct.

"Li Lee Hwa" n "Kum Loon"(not kum LAN) in HK, nee tun dao! U still can see push-cart service at "Yum Cha" at smith street...last time, there was 1 dimsum shop at jalan besar. Food was economical n tasty, always go there after mahjong session on the wkends!

i enjoy thai-style dim sum, very cookie-cutter and standardized across each chain, and the service is extremely efficient. this makes ordering of your favorites easier. moreover, you are served by young cute waitresses.

however, nothing beats push-carts... the traditional way, which is the rage in the bay area. in dim sum restaurants here, the problem is they have too many fuck-face toishan and anhui aunties that you normally don't see daily but they come out of the woodwork. it's annoying to face the onslaught of fugly aunties pushing carts at you when you arrive at the table. the worst is when you have a gweilo or two in your group. they just dump stuff on the table without you asking. and they ignore other tables until gweilo have enough. i suspect they are on some kind of incentive bonus scheme - the more shit they push out, the more $ they make. it may explain the specially (uniquely) carved stamp each carries and uses on the order sheet after discharging of an order.

"Li Lee Hwa" n "Kum Loon"(not kum LAN) in HK, nee tun dao! U still can see push-cart service at "Yum Cha" at smith street...last time, there was 1 dimsum shop at jalan besar. Food was economical n tasty, always go there after mahjong session on the wkends!

At Nathan Road, Kowloon, there's of course no shortage of good dimsum restuarants. At Jalan Besar, you must mean Swee Kee. Standards dropped a lot from 80s/90s but relatively, still better than most others in Singapore.

The Tim Sum at Jln Besar sux lah, lol. Try Hong Xin Restaurant at Chin Swee Road

Our pipe-smoking conference favourite now is Zi Yean at Redhill.

At Nathan Road, Kowloon, there's of course no shortage of good dimsum restuarants. At Jalan Besar, you must mean Swee Kee. Standards dropped a lot from 80s/90s but relatively, still better than most others in Singapore.
Haha...yah, that's rite-Swee Kee! There are so many dimsum restaurants in HK..too many to name! Haha...shiok!

The best dim sum is in Hong Kong lah. Ingredient is the most important thing for dim sum. To get the authetic taste, they have to be procured from South China area.