arigato .

That's a conjob by LKY. There's no such thing. Another conjob by CNA is Asian perspective. There's no such thing too.

Right!

Unlike most people, I seldom divide societies into Eastern/Western but rather into Agrarian/Industrial, or Medieval/Modern. People are people. We all are somebody, with loved ones, aspirations, hopes.

ah ram this thread is not to teach how to use words ;)

Words can be taught, but not thoughts. Remember the Courtesy Campaign all the way to Cooleo cartoon? It still ended up fuck you is the favourite in Singlish. :D

That's exactly what I was asking when this theme was being trumpeted by the Straits Mimes. The Old Man tried to make it out that Filial Piety was uniquely "Asian" and didn't exist in other societies, but that is so far from the truth, which is, in every society, you get a mixed bunch of nuts, some are like this, others are not, whether Asian, European, African, American. Trouble is when the old man says so, nobody, including the cock-sucking editor of the official newspaper dares say anything against it.

I would apply this same argument to your thread's title though, some Singaporeans will say thank you as appreciation, while some others may be oblivious. Meself, I might say "What took ya so long!!!"

bro , of course many singaporean will say thankyou to show appreciation to stranger ...but what about saying thankyou to family members ?

I have a habit of telling a taxi driver :"Uncle, XXXX please", when he give back my changes, I will said :"thank you, uncle"

Alamaking you soon uncle liao so don't uncle people too much hor!

thats very good bro..keep it up . but did your gf thank you for all the little things you have done for her ? and what about you ? do you thank her for all the little things she did for you ?

drifter Alamaking said somewhere he no more gf liao so don't dig at him la bro.

Words can be taught, but not thoughts. Remember the Courtesy Campaign all the way to Cooleo cartoon? It still ended up fuck you is the favourite in Singlish. :D

brother , i thought thoughts also can be taught in school ? if not why many religious ppl kana brainwash ( i dont want this thread to turn to a religious thread its just an example ) .

Alamaking you soon uncle liao so don't uncle people too much hor!

drifter Alamaking said somewhere he no more gf liao so don't dig at him la bro.

sorry alamaking ;)

bro , of course many singaporean will say thankyou to show appreciation to stranger ...but what about saying thankyou to family members ?

You try to say thank you in a typical Singlish family or fraternity, you'll get back the same fuck you!

Beng : Hey bro, thank you for bailing me out of lockup.

Seng : Thank for fuck, fuck you. I'm your bro sure help you.

You try to say thank you in a typical Singlish family or fraternity, you'll get back the same fuck you!

Beng : Hey bro, thank you for bailing me out of lockup.

Seng : Thank for fuck, fuck you. I'm your bro sure help you.

your example is funny but true . good one .

brother , i thought thoughts also can be taught in school ? if not why many religious ppl kana brainwash ( i dont want this thread to turn to a religious thread its just an example ) .

Thoughts can be taught during childhood when a child is still like an empty vessel receptive and retentive to new ideas. That's why childhood years are called formative years. A 4-year Japanese kid can speak Japanese better than a non-Japanese 24-year-old who struggled through 4 years of Japanese education. See?

Religion is a social club for fellowship bonding basically but actually more than that, it relieves personal spirituality whichever religion one professes or even none (i.e. freethinking). Spirituality is what that spinned off so many religions. Nobody alive knows which is true but spirituality is the difference between humans and animals.

Back to courtesy, it's still back to formative years. If one's family, friends and environment practised it a certain way, then the child would grow up that way.

Thoughts can be taught during childhood when a child is still like an empty vessel receptive and retentive to new ideas. That's why childhood years are called formative years. A 4-year Japanese kid can speak Japanese better than a non-Japanese 24-year-old who struggled through 4 years of Japanese education. See?

Religion is a social club for fellowship bonding basically but actually more than that, it relieves personal spirituality whichever religion one professes or even none (i.e. freethinking). Spirituality is what that spinned off so many religions. Nobody alive knows which is true but spirituality is the difference between humans and animals.

Back to courtesy, it's still back to formative years. If one's family, friends and environment practised it a certain way, then the child would grow up that way.

i can debate you on the religious issue here but i dont want to , as i say i dont want to turn this thread into a religious one . yes , lets go back to courtesy . but i thought all primary schools in singapore also teach about courtesy ? maybe courtesy should also begin at home as well ?

maybe courtesy should also begin at home as well ?

It's not maybe, but must. Chinese say 家教。During my childhood days, any kid being chided by any adult as 没家教 was ultimate insult to the parents. The kid would get a good beating and teaching and learn a good formative lesson. Wait until spoilt all the way pass teenage, terminal disease no cure.

i guess many sinaporean 没家教 ? i dont believe in beating to teach kids . alot of things could be solve without using violent .

Beating with cane or rod was ancient way. I don't believe in that too. I've never beaten a kid before, all my little cousins, nephews and nieces. But teaching is a must. The way is to reason and convince. My uncles and brothers sometimes wonder out loud why my little cousins, nephews and nieces listened to me when their beating failed. My dad was of the ancient way too. I suffered quite a lot under his cane and rod even for minor mischievous misdemeanors. Fortunately, he was clearheaded enough not to use his bare fist on me and my brothers. There was its advantage too. It trained a kid to bear pain in a fight outside.

yes of course teaching is a must and we can use love to teach kid . theres is more disadvantage then advantage to use violent to teach kid . if wanted to train kid to bear pain in a fight then should enrole the kids in mma school ;) remember there is no cane involved in street fights .

I grew up in a different environment. My dad and uncles were all gang members. Courtesy with uncles and elders were compulsorily drilled. Missed saying a hello, thank you, sorry or something like that were serious face-losing offences not to be trifled with. The little girls were excused from the drill, especially not the corporal punishment. But looking at the boys around being got drilled, they got the message too. When the girls grew up to be ladies and aunties, they know their places, rights and responsibilities in the protocol and hierarchy too. Sadly, that's a lost culture and lost tradition.

agree with you that woman should know where they stand and their responsiblities ...thats why our father and mother era seldom have any divorce cases .

Should not be allowed to drive and vote . . . . wahahahahaha so sad I cannot sleep

Reminds me of good old schooldays when my little bro and sis just needed to mention that their bro is Ram and that was it, nobody dared to touch them. I was brave and ready to fight tooth and nail, yes, but I really wasn't that great. The great stuff was behind the names of my dad and uncles. In kiddy schooldays, my name stood for my dad and uncles as I was the eldest grandson of my grandpa. The parents of the other kids knew them well what would and could they do, so warned their kids to either stayoff me or befriend me. Sigh. That's history. The dead has rested and the retired has disbanded. No more such childhoold glory days.

who is your father or uncle ? that gunman , ah huat ? ;)