• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Anyone still remember KFC in the 1980s?

Actually KFC's changes to fast food affected its business through the region including Malaysia. the only difference is that there is no competitor's penetration other than Mac donald, further more, for some reason, the Malay culture likes chicken.

While A & W is still available in Malaysia, th number of outlets are very limited as compared to the 90s.

Maybe that's why the standards have fallen. These companies have strayed from their specialties. They are now just fast food outlets with little differentiation.

I still remember A&W of old. My favourite was their tuna burger which was served in a sesame bun. Who can forget their foot long hot dogs:smile: Their Mama & Papa burgers are in my opinion really better than MacD. They lost out to the superior marketing of MacD:( Toys sell better than food quality :eek:

Not only the first A&W. Probably the first US fast food.

A&W was the first american food outlet in Spore. Their first branch was nearby to what was to become the CPF buidling.

However I remember eating at A&W in Malaysia long before the Spore outlet was opened. Back then Spore was part of Malaya:smile:

godiva

I remember eating it at Boon Keng, $3.95 for a 2-piece meal. Very expensive for me then as I was just a poor primary school boy.

Fishypie

I remember eating it at Boon Keng, $3.95 for a 2-piece meal. Very expensive for me then as I was just a poor primary school boy.

Did you chew the bones into powder and ingest them ?..that was exactLy what we did then..:eek::smile:

godiva

Did you chew the bones into powder and ingest them ?..that was exactLy what we did then..:eek::smile:

I don't think so. I remember they used to serve in big plastic plate and metal fork and spoon. I went to with a couple of my classmates to celebrate the ending of PSLE and sort of farewell dinner. How time flies.

chilakak

My favourite KFC was along Orchard Road, located in a shophouse to the left of Specialist Centre. Must be in the mid or late 70s.

There was also one at Kg Java. Col Saunders was once stolen and dumped elsewhere.

The Kg Java outlet was the one that had a customer claim that he bit into a rat that was battered and fried, right?

rofthelper

This thread brings back memories.

My first and fav KFC joint is @ Thompson Plaza 25 yrs ago, after the feast we will proceed to shop in Yaohan.

PissNPiss

KFC 2-piece meal is $6.90 at Somerset while it's $10.05 ringgit (S$4.10, include service charge) at JB City Square.

Next time i eat 3-piece meal at JB.

roadrunner

The Kg Java outlet was the one that had a customer claim that he bit into a rat that was battered and fried, right?

I'm afraid that same rumour was more or less repeated in all KFC joints, it's now a urban myth that can be found in most countries, the story goes something like this.. a rat was running along & fell into the batter & got fried the next morning etc. ask anyone who have worked in KFC or a fastfood joint & that is actually quite impossible as you have to dip & coat the chicken pieces by hand before you put them into the fryer, unless the guy doing it was blind or did it on purpose:eek:

roadrunner

Someone mentioned military supplies were shipped from Spore. Usually under the cover of darkness:smile:
Bet the PAP made $$$$:rolleyes:

Your answer lies in the countless log books held by MINDEF on the foreign military air & sea traffic coming & leaving SG. Sometimes you're lucky enough to see the outbound dx & manifest on them but most of the sensitive ones have little or no paperwork except the type of carrier & they're in/out times. The rest cannot say.. wait kena go limkopi.

Some people out there must know plenty of juicy stores :smile:
As long as LKY is around, these people are too frightened to share these stories.

It would really be a pity to lose all these stories. I hope the PAP doesn't get away with the myth of the fishing village story.

roadrunner

Some people out there must know plenty of juicy stores :smile:... It would really be a pity to lose all these stories.

There's plenty of stories but it's a case of who wants to talk about them in detail let alone publish them, regardless of who or what minister is in office. But having said that, we can't wait for Bro GoldenDragon's book:smile: that book if it ever comes out, SamLeong will need to pay for load balancers & extra bandwidth on his server, if not sure crash one! :biggrin:

It was restaurant-styled with forks and knives and they have an Automatic hand wash machine?

I do i do, they have beer, their chicken are huge and tasty, they have strawberry cheesecake.
So good.

Not like the shit we have now.

This thread brings back memories.

My first and fav KFC joint is @ Thompson Plaza 25 yrs ago, after the feast we will proceed to shop in Yaohan.

Wah lau eh.. When you mentioned the KFC outlet at Thomson Plaza, suddenly reminds me of this occasion when I got to know a part time Yaohan gal.. She was working at Thomson Plaza Yaohan.. Took her to the nearby KFC restaurant during her meal break. Was really smitten with her then.. Happened 17 years ago.. Unfortunately it was an unrequitted love as she was already in a relationship with another guy.. 17 farkin years.. How time flies.. Ha..Ha..Ha..Ha..:biggrin:

My first real KFC is so long ago, i was very young, i cannot remember exactly, i think it is the orchard road specialist shopping centre, which is 24 hours, so long, i cannot remember well. I maybe wrong.

blackmondy

A&W was the first american food outlet in Spore. Their first branch was nearby to what was to become the CPF buidling.

However I remember eating at A&W in Malaysia long before the Spore outlet was opened. Back then Spore was part of Malaya:smile:

Their drumsticks were bigger, tastier and cheaper than KFC !

blackmondy

That was one of the best outlets.... with the big pond outside largi lomantik.

From KFC delivering chickens to now KK delivering babies...what the fark ?

wikiphile

When the americans left the Philippines, the 'last leaf' was eager to offer them changi. Spore must have benefited alot from the american presence in this region. Can imagine that the yankees bought plenty of things other than bread from Spore.

Someone mentioned military supplies were shipped from Spore. Usually under the cover of darkness:smile:
Bet the PAP made $$$$:rolleyes:

Fuel, essentials and so on. There is a regular milk run

hokkien

Wah lau eh.. When you mentioned the KFC outlet at Thomson Plaza, suddenly reminds me of this occasion when I got to know a part time Yaohan gal.. She was working at Thomson Plaza Yaohan.. Took her to the nearby KFC restaurant during her meal break. Was really smitten with her then.. Happened 17 years ago.. Unfortunately it was an unrequitted love as she was already in a relationship with another guy.. 17 farkin years.. How time flies.. Ha..Ha..Ha..Ha..:biggrin:

Bro this prove that we are all getting older liao:biggrin:

Actually KFC's changes to fast food affected its business through the region including Malaysia. the only difference is that there is no competitor's penetration other than Mac donald, further more, for some reason, the Malay culture likes chicken.

While A & W is still available in Malaysia, th number of outlets are very limited as compared to the 90s.

When MacD's came to town in 1979.......they actually signed a secret pact with KFC that they will not sell their fried chicken in the singapore restaurants and KFC was not to sell burgers........MacD's later broke this pact and KFC also started having burgers on the menu.

At one time the crispy recipe was out selling the original that they thought of doing away with the original recipe......but of course that met with alot of protests and never went ahead.

Another local KFC institution was the one at Shaw House next to Lido..........every saturday night all the hell riders and rich kids with sports cars would hang out there.