• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A time bomb named COE

Vichy WP, our very own Uniquely self-styled “First World Opposition” has not said a single word for the people on the ever-escalating COE in parliament as COE reaching $100k very soon, just as they continue to sleep and idle while HDB flats breach the $1m mark.

Where the hell are our self-styled Vichy WP “Co-Drivers” hiding? They have no balls to slap the PAP? Is Vichy WP still waiting to follow their China Foreign Talents to slap the PAP on the COE?

Instead of performing their parliamentary duty and speak up for the people, these wayang clowns waste all their time preparing for their upcoming Lan Chiau Cosplay to be staged at the posh lavish majestic Raffles Hotel, patronised mostly by the social elites.

To paraphrase Dr. Tan Cheng Bock:
http://www.facebook.com/TanChengBock

An unwise move

Assuring the public that Vichy WP will put special effort to improve parliamentary performance has been negated by Vichy WP venture into a big Showbiz project at the extravagant Raffles Hotel.
What is happening?

After a reshuffle of CEC in the party, it is obvious that the culture has not changed. Tendering for show business in this uncertain time when COE is reaching $100k? This is a distraction from the core parliamentary business no matter how Vichy WP tries to justify its decision. All promises and attempts to revamp the parliamentarty performances with the aid of govt. pumping in over $16k per month per WP cosplayer in MP allowance to help shoulder higher Wayang costs, is already seen by the public as helping PAP-approved “Opposition Party” to make siphon more votes from genuine Opposition.

Has Vichy WP already done enough to satisfy the public? Bad timing and poor judgement have added insult to injury. Singaporeans know that the decline in parliamentary debates and lack of any supervision on COE by Vichy WP because of diversification from the core political business, especially into showbiz. Yet the lesson has not been learnt!

Sad.

For those who are intending to start a big family please immigrate out of peesai. Living in peesai without a car, you wont have much of a family life.

taking public transport with 2 kids in tow will be your greatest nightmare.

It used to be: A car is a WANT, not a NEED.

Now, people are saying that a car is a NEED.

Stop complaining about the COE prices if you cannot afford a car. Nobody's forcing you to buy one if you cannot afford it. I'm sick and tired of all these COE threads running around in this forum. :oIo:

Why complaint! No one force anyone to buy car. 20 year ago no one complaint car/COE expensive.
Cannot afford than dont but jam the road.

I wish life can return to what it was 20 years ago too. For sure, most would happily take public transport and not complain about the COE price. I was not warned that the population would nearly double within just 20 years.

Dear Frens,

I have said it b4,,,COE prices will never go down as its has become a revenue cash cow for the gahmen,,if coe go down,,gahmen get less money,,,and COE money is immediate earnings,,,COE become 200K means it get 200K in its pocket,,

the trick is if the revenue should be channeled into an efficient public tpt system,...more buses, more train, more lines etc which can be done,,but PAP will loose money if it becomes more efficient too,,public tpt is not about public but profit,,

So COE wont go down, Public tpt wont improve,,,cos gahmen revenue will be affected,,,

Sounds like the ultimate evil drug empire, created a special deadly form of addiction and then only you have the drug... they have to keep coming back for more

ah... vanity and greed are such wonderful human weaknesses......

If public tpt is more efficient and the need for the car is mitigated, COE prices will certainly drop,,,but do u think PAP will ever want that to happen? PAP's greed is unlimited and the people will always suffer,,,,

Sounds like the ultimate evil drug empire, created a special deadly form of addiction and then only you have the drug... they have to keep coming back for more

ah... vanity and greed are such wonderful human weaknesses......

It used to be: A car is a WANT, not a NEED.

Now, people are saying that a car is a NEED.

Stop complaining about the COE prices if you cannot afford a car. Nobody's forcing you to buy one if you cannot afford it. I'm sick and tired of all these COE threads running around in this forum. :oIo:

Nobody forcing you to read COE threads either. happy New Year

High COE will lead to higher cost of living

The equation is straight and simple. When a car or van is costing double, the operating cost will go up accordingly. Any business that needs the use of cars and vans, including taxis, not sure about school buses, will simply have to raise their cost. The hawkers and foodcourt operators that need to move their goods and raw material, or the suppliers, will have to incur the additional cost, and these will conveniently be passed down to the consumers, the lowest feeder in the hierarchy of existence.

Don’t think high COE just affects those who want to own cars. It affects everyone, every business, directly or indirectly. Of course those who need a car will be hit most and some will be hit earlier when their COE expire. Some are hoping that it will not happen too fast, but the clock is ticking and the old car they are holding to will be history as days gone by. And the real crunch will hit them hard. Many would have to readjust, a new lifestyle, and the buses and MRTs will have higher loads, and more crams again.

Posted by Chua Chin Leng aka redbean at 8:51 AM

But for the Gahmen, the profits from the COE is immediate,,,so the gahmen will still happily get its hand outs and recognise the revenue straight away,,they wont look and think how it affects the common man,,,and with inflation,,they will just say real wages have gone up,,HDB has gone up,,u will have more net worth mah,,etc etc,,,bottom line is PAP dont care,,,for the common people,,,the only thing they can do is depend more on public tpt,,,dont get suckered into buying a car to show off,,but as an extreme necessity, like car is needed to do business etc,,,if can buy commercial vehicle where running cost is lower,,,if dont need it,,dont get it,,keep cost low,,

Not happy go and protest lah. Talk so much here also no use...no balls is it?

The Coe prices now is technically not Lui tuck yew's doing.

LTA had over-issued Coe's after PAP hailed in the Golden period.. Remember the the $2 Category A (2008 Nov) and the $200 Cat B (2009 Jan) Coe prices? That didn't happen so long ago..

i am glad u remember. it pinkie's idea to allow 10yrs loan during his stint as peem and fm to push start the economy ard 10yrs ago. so LTA come out with more coe in order to attract more ppl buy ah tiong cheapo cars. those days, car can worth less than $10k after red plate rebate and many mats now mired in debts because of this scheme. The price of coe will lower in 2013-2014 when the malays who brought their cars during this scheme will have to scrape the cars as they cannot afford the coe.

I do not think the population of m&ds in peesai who bought cars 10 years ago is enuff to support your theory. There are more chinese car loan defaulters out there simply because chinks make up 75%.

Plus even 10 years ago most m&ds could not afford cars.

I sympathize with those young couples, the financial burden is huge.. Imagine owning 4 room flat and a 1.6l sedan. Easily cost them 500k or more in liability. Worst still, those young execs, especially sales people chasing the material dreams to look successful. I can imagine them buying condo and driving beemers/ merc.. Easily 1 - 1.5 million in debt. Pray hard for them that there's no downturn ... Many will suffer..

For those who are intending to start a big family please immigrate out of peesai. Living in peesai without a car, you wont have much of a family life.

taking public transport with 2 kids in tow will be your greatest nightmare.
Haha, yes. Sinkieland is the place to end your family line. It is the paradise for single or couples without kids to enjoy cosmopolitan lifestyle. Sinkieland will need to continuously suck in new blood to sustain infrastructure renewal, and bulk of these new blood will also see their family line terminating on this little island paradise.

I sympathize with those young couples, the financial burden is huge.. Imagine owning 4 room flat and a 1.6l sedan. Easily cost them 500k or more in liability. Worst still, those young execs, especially sales people chasing the material dreams to look successful. I can imagine them buying condo and driving beemers/ merc.. Easily 1 - 1.5 million in debt. Pray hard for them that there's no downturn ... Many will suffer..
No need to. They made the decision on free will, and many may actually like the feeling of winning and being superior. It's like hamsters in a pet shop. The prettier and fitter hamsters in the premium cage look down on the other hamsters living in cheap and cramped enclosures. Being able to look down on others is a very strong incentive to stay caged and oppressed.

Why WP so quiet like a little rat? What happened to their campaign promises about being a voice for the people in the parliament?