• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A time bomb named COE

When COE of small cars costs $81k and big cars $100k, it is it. The anger has not become an outburst yet as many car owners are still hanging on to the last few months of their old cars. When their COE expires, when the need is genuine and serious, the cries will not be merely a whimper. Many less well off families are heavily dependent on private transport to get around. Public transportation would not do to these people when it is not just a matter of inconvenience but real difficulties getting to them. The very old, the very sick, the handicaps, the children that need to be ferry around to inaccessible schools will be the first victims to this ingenious and talented scheme to control car population.

http://mysingaporenews.blogspot.sg/...ign=Feed:+MySingaporeNews+(My+Singapore+News)

When COE of small cars costs $81k and big cars $100k, it is it. The anger has not become an outburst yet as many car owners are still hanging on to the last few months of their old cars. When their COE expires, when the need is genuine and serious, the cries will not be merely a whimper. Many less well off families are heavily dependent on private transport to get around. Public transportation would not do to these people when it is not just a matter of inconvenience but real difficulties getting to them. The very old, the very sick, the handicaps, the children that need to be ferry around to inaccessible schools will be the first victims to this ingenious and talented scheme to control car population.

http://mysingaporenews.blogspot.sg/...ign=Feed:+MySingaporeNews+(My+Singapore+News)

The idiots will simply grumble, take up a huge car loan, pay up, and still vote PAP.
That is the usual cycle. Not much changes.

another transport minister would lose his job surely - the coe policy is crazy now despite the many good points from public on how to change it. unless they already have plans to review coe policy but dont want to unveil it until near the next ge.

That last point makes sense. So now they just rake the big bucks in.
Then just before the next GE they appear noble by making a major change.

I think transport minister doesn't lose its job because of such matter. Has to be something more serious.

The Coe prices now is technically not Lui tuck yew's doing.

LTA had over-issued Coe's after PAP hailed in the Golden period.. Remember the the $2 Category A (2008 Nov) and the $200 Cat B (2009 Jan) Coe prices? That didn't happen so long ago..

All the rich FTs that have come in recently will say that COEs, which result in generally jam-free roads, are the best thing since sliced bread. Only native born Sporns are feeling the pinch and pain.

Bloody PAP only knows money, COE there's no transparency whenever COE goes up
motor traders/LTA would talk crap & excuses!! A 1600cc only cost $15K OTR in little Red Dot
can cost the poor motorists a whopping $120K!! WTF!!

Peasantporean must be very damn shit to vote for such gahmen that screw them over
and over many times! The coming Bi-Erection must show Papaya that u Peasantporean are not
happy & vote them out!!

Vote for the Opposition at whatever cost!!

Papaya still have 3.5 years to screw Peasantporean b4 the 2016 ERECTION!!!

The greedy PAP are going to get $$$ from all those living in Spore. It's only a question of how much each of us is going to "contribute" to the PAP:rolleyes:

Car owners are paying the most: COE, road tax, taxes on fuel, ERP, parking, etc.
The poorer have to put up with packed buses/trains, unreliable & even dangerous services,....

I've tried to vote for change. Unfortunately I've been saboed by the 60%:( So no choice, I'll be voting with my feet;)

The idiots will simply grumble, take up a huge car loan, pay up, and still vote PAP.
That is the usual cycle. Not much changes.

Why complaint! No one force anyone to buy car. 20 year ago no one complaint car/COE expensive.
Cannot afford than dont but jam the road.

All the rich FTs that have come in recently will say that COEs, which result in generally jam-free roads, are the best thing since sliced bread. Only native born Sporns are feeling the pinch and pain.

Only Singaporeans should be entitled to COEs. Foreigners should either pay a surcharge or rent from locals to give back to our economy.

If Lta's genuine concern is traffic congestion, there are many other things they can implement instead of just Coe and Erp. Car pooling, improving bus routes etc..

The problem is Lta is happy to milk sinkies to sustain their own bloated existence (What a nice office they have in Tekka).

More importantly, sinkies are happy to be milked like cows. :rolleyes:

The real causes are the sudden huge influx of foreigners resulting in insufficient public transport as well as insufficient COE. The entire cabinet is responsible, not just LTY.

Of course the Braddell whores are twisting and hiding facts, diverting the discussion away from the real causes. I read the states times at my friend house over Christmas, disgusted is the only reaction.

Only Singaporeans should be entitled to COEs. Foreigners should either pay a surcharge or rent from locals to give back to our economy.

You another sour grape other owning car because u cant afford.
FT buy car also mean that they taking loan from bank/pay fuel tax/parking/maintenance/insurance/COE.........................

You another sour grape other owning car because u cant afford.
FT buy car also mean that they taking loan from bank/pay fuel tax/parking/maintenance/insurance/COE.........................

I already have a car so its not sour grapes. FT should pay more is my point.

I think transport minister doesn't lose its job because of such matter. Has to be something more serious.

When providence turn 'her' eyes away...the last major train breakdown is just a warning to these people in power....repent!;)

Seriously, can LTA or PAP do anything about this if this is really a demand and supply issue? I mean the strongest survive right? Is there a way to go around? Hmmmmm

From a native born Singaporean - COEs are the best thing since sliced bread - it keeps losers off the roads thus reducing congestion.

PAP's message is very clear...

No money don't drive

But if they really bothered to tinker with their policy they should just create a new special COE category for luxury/sports cars. Why should these rich people who wanna buy Lambos and ferraris be allowed to compete for the same COEs as those who wanna buy a camry in the 2 litre category? There should be a 3.5 litre and above for such cars. Those rich fellows who want to buy a porsche or a ferrari should be prepared to pay much much more? Families with kids or old people should be given preferential rebate for buying their one car but if anybody wants to buy a 2nd car, they will have to bid for a 2nd car COE which will double the price of the regular coe and triple for a 3rd car and so on and so forth.

That will equitably tax people to wanna own more than 1 car or wanna own luxury/sports cars. That is what irks me about their policy, it costs them nothing to implement a more equitable policy but because they wanna favour the unequal treament, they choose not to impose luxury taxes for such a class of people. You want flash, you pay more for flash.... vanity must come with a price

Just like how you can do an emissions related taxation above a certain amount of carbon ...eg for 2 seater cars, you impose a higher emissions tax.

All that said, so what if they collected more taxes? it will all just be squandered away on the Black Hole creative accounting GL companies like SIA and Olam.....

From a native born Singaporean - COEs are the best thing since sliced bread - it keeps losers off the roads thus reducing congestion.

I can share that point of view since I bought my current car (fully paid up on Day 1) when the COE was around $5k. I have another 4 years to run.