• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A time bomb named COE

Every car which you purchase in Singapore goes into feeding the useless shits in the PAP govt.

Chee cheng hu.

Nowadays you are simply feeding them a luxury buffet meal.

Tinkering with COE and ERP does nothing to mitigate traffic congestion.

The only way to ease traffic congestion (and congestion in public transport and in malls) is to reduce the population of the island.

Because the two cars cause the same amount of congestion. Government should just collapse all the categories into one (including motor cycles because motor cycles cause just as much congestion) since each car whether it's a Suzuki Swift or a Rolls Royce cause the same amount of congestion.

Why should these rich people who wanna buy Lambos and ferraris be allowed to compete for the same COEs as those who wanna buy a camry in the 2 litre category?

Because the two cars cause the same amount of congestion. Government should just collapse all the categories into one (including motor cycles because motor cycles cause just as much congestion) since each car whether it's a Suzuki Swift or a Rolls Royce cause the same amount of congestion.
You are falling into the Braddell prostitutes tricks of diverting anger towards the rich. The current high COE prices have little to do with coe categories. It is entirely the result of too fast influx of foreigners while holding car population steady. Just like housing price, you don't blame the high property price on hdb and private housing categories, do you?

When COE of small cars costs $81k and big cars $100k, it is it. The anger has not become an outburst yet as many car owners are still hanging on to the last few months of their old cars. When their COE expires, when the need is genuine and serious, the cries will not be merely a whimper. Many less well off families are heavily dependent on private transport to get around. Public transportation would not do to these people when it is not just a matter of inconvenience but real difficulties getting to them. The very old, the very sick, the handicaps, the children that need to be ferry around to inaccessible schools will be the first victims to this ingenious and talented scheme to control car population.

http://mysingaporenews.blogspot.sg/...ign=Feed:+MySingaporeNews+(My+Singapore+News)

this sort of thing must protest on the street one.. sinkies got balls to do that?

You another sour grape other owning car because u cant afford.
FT buy car also mean that they taking loan from bank/pay fuel tax/parking/maintenance/insurance/COE.........................

Some may accuse Sporeans who complain about things in Spore because they are being "sour grapes" but as citizens of Spore who have to live & work here don't you think they have a right to complain:confused:

Especially when the cost of a piece of paper(COE) in Spore can buy a decent car in Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand,...

Many less well off families are heavily dependent on private transport to get around.

The usual complain by idiotic opposition supporting retards. The above only applies to the loser Chee Soon Juan. The rest of the less well off who have brains take taxis which is cheaper in the long run against buying a car

Well, it's very sad ... because a lot of us missed the forest for the trees!

COE in tandem with ERP are working as intended.

However, the real problem with sky-rocketing COE is because of ready and painless
financing.

To moderate the problem, all you have to do is make the bidders pay the exact amount
they've bidden and remove the COE component from financing (this should defuse the
time bomb).

Also COE in tandem with a priority scheme to allocate entitlement to first time owners and
must be paid in full without financing should fix the problem, I think ... :D

However, the real problem with sky-rocketing COE is because of ready and painless
financing.

To moderate the problem, all you have to do is remove the COE component from
financing.

COE in tandem with a priority scheme to allocate entitlement to first time owners and

Sorry, but I am afraid you may have missed the point. The noble traffic regulation function of COEs have now been relegated to a more important function for the govt -- i.e., it is a very important revenue stream. So, why should the Govt cut off the flow of such valuable income now? Come closer to the next GE they may moderate it.

You are falling into the Braddell prostitutes tricks of diverting anger towards the rich. The current high COE prices have little to do with coe categories. It is entirely the result of too fast influx of foreigners while holding car population steady. Just like housing price, you don't blame the high property price on hdb and private housing categories, do you?

I agree to a certain extent Coe problem vs the housing problem is all tied to the same thing,...massive influx of foreigners vs scarcity of goods.

What I am proposing is actually more about accepting the inevitability of COE as a way of controlling the number of cars and how the govt can try to fine tune this system to make sure that rich and flashy people should pay for their flashy lifestyles.

Whether foreigners are prepared to pay for a car 4 times of what they will pay in their own country is another thing altogether but suffice to be said most of the angmohs i know in sg balk at the ridiculous price of cars (plus you dont even really "own" your car because you still have to "rent" it again after 10 years) so they rather take public transport. The only angmohs who actually buy cars are overpaid fatcat traders or those with families who are planning to make this place their home (and even then these family types will usually drive unflashy cars like MPVs or low end SUVs)

The high property prices in Singapore could be linked to the fact that our wonderful government allowed PRs (who are technically foreigners) to buy HDB, claims to have fantastic anti money laundering laws but seem to be able to only prosecute all the kacang puteh cases....and we have foreigners who can now buy freehold.... When you allow all the rich people in the world to access your housing market with no controls on who they sell to for example, you will have this out of control housing prices. I bet with you if they instituted this rule on foreigners sales ONLY to Singapore citizen buyers, the PRC/NRI churned Sentosa Cove market will suffer such a spectacular collapse!!!!......But that will be as good as the PAP stabbing their own chest with a foot long knife because their continuing BS merry go round with our GDP/CPF/Temasek/GIC/national debt/GLCs might go belly up

another thought just came to mind, what if all the rich foreigners start to soak up all the freehold properties of this country? Doesnt that mean that they get to own a piece of this country FOREVER and that this country could end up being partially OWNED by foreigners? If it was leasehold property, there is still that illusion that they will not own it forever.

financing.

To moderate the problem, all you have to do is make the bidders pay the exact amount
they've bidden and remove the COE component from financing (this should defuse the
time bomb).

Also COE in tandem with a priority scheme to allocate entitlement to first time owners and

That is so true!!!!

Make COE like the COV requirement in HDB flats. You pay cash or else COE financing is under another much higher financing regime.

That is so true!!!!

Make COE like the COV requirement in HDB flats. You pay cash or else COE financing is under another much higher financing regime.

Better still, make consumers pay down payment of at least 30%. Many will complain of course but COE sure go down.
If I govt I will do that.

Sorry, but I am afraid you may have missed the point. The noble traffic regulation function of COEs have now been relegated to a more important function for the govt -- i.e., it is a very important revenue stream. So, why should the Govt cut off the flow of such valuable income now? Come closer to the next GE they may moderate it.

That's is exactly what I'm trying to say. This government is well aware of the root cause.
However, they don't have the will to fix it as it is a lucrative revenue source for LTA's KPIs.

By making COE non-transferable and non finance-able it will dramatically reduce it's appeal.

Most important is that COE is paid upfront thus removing the "time bomb" factor.

That's is exactly what I'm trying to say. This government is well aware of the root cause.
However, they don't have the will to fix it as it is a lucrative revenue source for LTA's KPIs.

By making COE non-transferable and non finance-able it will dramatically reduce it's appeal.

Most important is that COE is paid upfront thus removing the "time bomb" factor.

Non transferable will cause even greater problem bro. Not good idea.
Just pay total price 30% up front la. COE sure will go down one.

Non transferable will cause even greater problem bro. Not good idea.
Just pay total price 30% up front la. COE sure will go down one.

Hi bro,

Just an idea ... lah!

A little bit of tweaking with the present system should do the trick :D

Cheers ...

another transport minister would lose his job surely - the coe policy is crazy now despite the many good points from public on how to change it. unless they already have plans to review coe policy but dont want to unveil it until near the next ge.

No ministers in Singapore has ever lost their job due to incompetence, they only lose their job caused by no compliance, not to procedures or misconduct but to no sucking up to the leegime!