• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Need help! havin problem with my computer!

BusNo64

problem with my desktop computer. When i power up my computer, there is a continous beeping sound and then it wll shut down and then restart onli to go into the same continous beeping sound..the the whole process keeps going on until i switch off the power. I had no prob using it last nite. I am using my laptop now. Is it software or hardware problem? How do i diagnose? Kum siah! :o

Your power on/off button spring is loose inside. Look for GMS. He can fix.

Orion

ur motherboard has a problem. The beeping sound is an indication of the exact location of the problem. However unless u r a technical expert, u will find it hard 2 tell one beep from another.

wat is the name of his shop? is it in sim lim square? :confused:

I think you'll kill him or or he'll kill you. Better don't.

ur motherboard has a problem. The beeping sound is an indication of the exact location of the problem. However unless u r a technical expert, u will find it hard 2 tell one beep from another.

Yes, could be motherboard shortcircuit too.

Cruxx

Ask GMS to take care of your desktop. If not, you can try asking him to look after your desktop instead :smile:

Sideswipe

do trial and error, maybe just small problems.
starting from
1) Graphics Card
2) Ram
3) PSU
4) Change CMOS battery

last time my graphics card loose also give beep sound, PC refuse to start.

Coolsaint77

Did you accidentally pour coffee on your computer or pcc something spray on keyboard? HW problem. Sounds like keyboard problem to me.

uncle yap can help you with some pc advice.

but did you see windows starting or it keep looping at BIOS???

if you see windows trying to start, see windows logo, then you have a virus, someone give you a big virus. seek help.

if you see BIOS looping, hardware problem. try to troubleshoot what fails. If not seek help from sim lim square.

BusNo64

okay thanks guys, tomolo i shall open up the box to check, my fren say most likely psu since cannot power up, will test it with psu and ram from my sister desktop, :p no graphic card becos chip i am using is i3 with integrated graphic, lucky still got my lappy to use. Cannot use my sister computer becos i also surf sam sex forum and the longkang site, if she catches me, i am dead meat. :biggrin:

Look for GMS. He specialises in cache washout, leave no trace.

BusNo64

but did you see windows starting or it keep looping at BIOS???

if you see windows trying to start, see windows logo, then you have a virus, someone give you a big virus. seek help.

if you see BIOS looping, hardware problem. try to troubleshoot what fails. If not seek help from sim lim square.

no, it kept looping at bios, no window logo yet, so i also suspect hardware problem, if i cannot solve, will bring it to my neighbourbood computer shop. Sim lim too far from tampines, dont think i want to lugged my box all the way there :wink:

take apart your computer, all pci cards, all cables and then put everything back, sometime it works.
I dun understand why PC do this, but it just do.

BusNo64

Did you accidentally pour coffee on your computer or pcc something spray on keyboard? HW problem. Sounds like keyboard problem to me.

no coffee lah, i also plug out my keyboard, mouse, speaker, still the same leh, so tomolo will open my box to check liao, now busy watching justice pao and chatting here. :wink:

BusNo64

take apart your computer, all pci cards, all cables and then put everything back, sometime it works.
I dun understand why PC do this, but it just do.

good idea, will do dat, maybe got something loose somewhere, like hotbot's brain, :biggrin:

Thick Face Black Heart

I've encountered this malfunction before. Your operating system has been corrupted.

The only remedy is to reinstall the OS by booting up using a CD or DVD-ROM backup and then running a re-installation programme from there. That may result is loss of data files. If your HDD has been affected, you will need to reformat your HDD to identify and flag all the bad sectors. That will of course result in total data loss. All your Goh Meng Seng juicy news archive will be lost forever :p:p

BusNo64

I've encountered this malfunction before. Your operating system has been corrupted.

The only remedy is to reinstall the OS. That may result is loss of data files. If your HDD has been affected, you will need to reformat your HDD to identify and flag all the bad sectors. That will of course result in total data loss. All your Goh Meng Seng juicy news archive will be lost forever :p:p

WTF, jus remember i install the window7 dat i bought from hatyai in order to have 2 OS (XP and window7) in my desktop. If dat is the problem, then i will have to reformat, siao liao arh..have to reinstall all my software, :(
Now u all knoe why i dare not let GMS check, he will sure report me to BSA if he knoe i am bus64 :wink:

The only remedy is to reinstall the OS by booting up using a CD or DVD-ROM backup and then running a re-installation programme from there. That may result is loss of data files. If your HDD has been affected, you will need to reformat your HDD to identify and flag all the bad sectors. That will of course result in total data loss. All your Goh Meng Seng juicy news archive will be lost forever :p:p

There's an easier and faster way but Cpt. Goh told me not to tell, since Bus64 always attack him, he neither look after nor take care.

Thick Face Black Heart

WTF, jus remember i install the window7 dat i bought from hatyai in order to have 2 OS (XP and window7) in my desktop. If dat is the problem, then i will have to reformat, siao liao arh..have to reinstall all my software, :(
Now u all knoe why i dare not let GMS check, he will sure report me to BSA if he knoe i am bus64 :wink:

Take one step at a time. Other people have suggested it could be hardware problem. I don't think so, but rule that out first. Once you're sure its not hardware, then do the software reinstall.

Why did you want two OS on your desktop anyway?