• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

'Legendary Cop' Dies : Retired ASP Stephen Koh

• Thread starter Thread starter Mdm Tang
  • Start date Start date
That is not the case. The last medical check is not a full blown examination. It a quick and cursory check. Terminal cases if detected long before the hanging occurs will go thru the normal process of seeking presidential clemency. The Doctor is present there for a more important purpose - to certify death so the body can be released to the family.You listen to too many kopi tiam stories.

Was told there is an operating theatre just next to the hanging room to carry out operations to remove organs in cases whereby condemned prisoners OKed the removal.

Was told the 'hang until death' came about coz someone walked away a free man before.

It's an urban legend linked to David Marshall. He tried to delay the time of hanging and claimed that after the appointed the time, they couldn't hang the condemned man. He lost the appeal as the condemned man hadn't been hanged even once. He was finally hanged in a reappointed time.

That is not the case. The last medical check is not a full blown examination. It a quick and cursory check. Terminal cases if detected long before the hanging occurs will go thru the normal process of seeking presidential clemency. The Doctor is present there for a more important purpose - to certify death so the body can be released to the family.You listen to too many kopi tiam stories.

you are right on that ...

Was told there is an operating theatre just next to the hanging room to carry out operations to remove organs in cases whereby condemned prisoners OKed the removal.

not that i know ...

one more thing... hanging usually take place on friday ...i dont know the reason for that .

I believe many Singaporeans do not disagree with capital punishment however I wonder how many truly agree and support it. I must admit I'm one like that, my not disagreeing does not mean I support. But if forced to make a hard choice I think I will lean towards abolishing it for 3 personal reasons:

1. If I am against a person shortening the life of another person what give me the right to shorten this person's life?

2. Justice can make mistakes and justice can be abused especially if we got kangaroos up there.

3. Life sentence is a greater punishment than sudden death.

Again I say these are just my personal views on this and in no way imposing or trying to influence anyone of you reading. Lastly coming back to the form of execution I always think lethal injections is cleaner not so messy.

. Lastly coming back to the form of execution I always think lethal injections is cleaner not so messy.

Speaking about this, I wonder which is the most humanitarian method to execute the death row inmate. I'm not talking about the ancient china, roman methods but about the methods use in today's prison. Lethal injection I suppose is the fastest and painless way?

When I was introduced to our bayi hangman (about 7 years ago), he told me then that he had tried to mentor a number of younger understudies who all very garang-type when training but at the appointed time they could not do the deed. He had tried to retire a few times but was summoned back.

He did mention that over the years he had come to terms with the fact that he was the last person the inmates spoke to before they hung i.e. his voice and words would be the last human interaction they had and he usually just told them to have faith in their chosen god before placing the noose around their neck.

He got truly buggered when those reporters went to his house to "chit-chat" about his job - he was at home in his t-shirt and shorts when they came knocking - he is definitely not the brightest spark - he was too naive to realise the repercussions and that he would be outed. At that point when we spoke he was of the view that he was probably the last hangman as there was talk of moving towards
the lethal injection.

Nowadays, he does not go out much let alone in Serangoon Road - some Sarahjumbol YP might think he could score big.

Darshan Singh may have also mentioned that he was involved in the Adrian Lim hanging.

Lethal injection better:

a) real story of 1 ah beng

walking toward to be hanged

panick and resisted. Big struggle

. in the end still got to hang.

b) anothet one very very steady.

weeks before became a Christian .

heard that morning he walk toward

to hang singing and praising .

Speaking about this, I wonder which is the most humanitarian method to execute the death row inmate. I'm not talking about the ancient china, roman methods but about the methods use in today's prison. Lethal injection I suppose is the fastest and painless way?

Lethal injection or electric chair is practised in US now, depending on the different states. Lethal injection has an ethical problem, the executioner must be medically trained. That goes against medical oath of saving lives. No US states practise hanging anymore where it was the only way of execution in cowboy days.

When I was introduced to our bayi hangman (about 7 years ago), he told me then that he had tried to mentor a number of younger understudies who all very garang-type when training but at the appointed time they could not do the deed. He had tried to retire a few times but was summoned back.

He did mention that over the years he had come to terms with the fact that he was the last person the inmates spoke to before they hung i.e. his voice and words would be the last human interaction they had and he usually just told them to have faith in their chosen god before placing the noose around their neck.

He got truly buggered when those reporters went to his house to "chit-chat" about his job - he was at home in his t-shirt and shorts when they came knocking - he is definitely not the brightest spark - he was too naive to realise the repercussions and that he would be outed. At that point when we spoke he was of the view that he was probably the last hangman as there was talk of moving towards
the lethal injection.

Nowadays, he does not go out much let alone in Serangoon Road - some Sarahjumbol YP might think he could score big.

Darshan Singh may have also mentioned that he was involved in the Adrian Lim hanging.

wasn't this fella photo naked with a huge belly?

Lethal injection or electric chair is practised in US now, depending on the different states. Lethal injection has an ethical problem, the executioner must be medically trained. That goes against medical oath of saving lives. No US states practise hanging anymore where it was the only way of execution in cowboy days.
Electric chair damn messy. I think firing squad is best

Can't remember though Stephen did explain to me. Something to do Muslims?

im not sure why hanging only take place on friday ...yes might be something got to do with religion ..sorry i dont have the answer .

I am still trying my best to recall what Stephen told me several years ago. I posed this question to him and got an answer but can't recall now. Lau liao. Am certain he told me about the operating room next door.