• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is the current job what you want?

SirRichard

I read this article today and i'm one of such people mentioned - not really happy with present situation but yet not knowing what Career would make me enjoy and be happy .

http://www.straitstimes.com/Money/Story/STIStory_748993.html

Anyone here with the same situation, care to share your experience?

I,m doing ok in my job, few promotions and salary raise over the years and making above average salary. I should have been contented but dunno why I feel sian. The possible reasons I think :

1)Ive always admire and a wish I could be a successful biz man living good life - but I have no clue what damn biz to do and lack the Balls to give up comfortable salary and take the plunge

2) what I,m earning now is far from my dream salary- I wish to be making at least 1million sg a year but I,m not making 30% of this goal.- unless Im a CEO or biz man otherwise I doubt can materialize.

Steve jobs said- never settled if you're not happy, keep finding and I truly agree coz we must love what we do, damn thing that has been troubling me is that I Have no clue what I really like to be doing, what biz I know, I l like to do and the courage to leave the comfort zone.

Anyone been through this? Share how you deal with it, do you ignore your inner voice or you made a change?

Thanks in advance.

how much r u prepared to give to get what you want?

earn a million dollar pay but you get sacked for littlest of things. or overnight, you become public enemy (think SMRT) or face possible lawsuits.

Don't forget the number of hours one is prepared to put into his work.

Some professions e.g. accountants/auditors have to work ungodly hours. They have to keep on working even after the security guard has changed shift.

For the business people, they have to mind their business 24/7 and communicate frequently with employees, supply-side people, clients. They can't switch off after 5pm or on weekends. You may have witnessed this among some camp buddies during reservist training: their phones would keep on ringing and ringing. No chance to relax.

You can't really get rich from working: it's better to be debt-free, save and invest wisely.

Lastly, if you do not enjoy what you are doing, you will be miserable. It doesn't matter how big your paycheck is.

You can't really get rich from working: it's better to be debt-free, save and invest wisely.

a lot of Sinkies saddled with debts, all thanks to "affordable" yet expensive HDB pigeon holes :eek::eek::eek:

it is not how much u earn, it is how much u can save.

you may earn thousands but u cant save, u still left with nothing end of the day.

but first, imho, as others mentioned, be debt free.:)

You don't have to be a CEO to make good money. If you are a sales director who gets performance bonuses, or if your position gives you stock options or profit sharing in your company, then $1 million a year is realistic.

Bro, directors bonus ad salary can touch 1 mil? Care to share Which industry. Most I heard of around 500k. Not too sure.

A rich man once said, "no matter how wealthy you are, there is only so much you can eat". Think about it.

how about telling folks that they come to this world naked and carefree, leaving everything behind when they depart :D:D:D

it is not how much u earn, it is how much u can save.

you may earn thousands but u cant save, u still left with nothing end of the day.

but first, imho, as others mentioned, be debt free.:)

Thanks to all for sharing. Does that mean you guys are happy with your current job and contented now?

wow 1M a year . I dont even know if i will make that in a lifetime. I never earned really very much but i did get to spend lots of time with the family and enjoyed good health most of the time. I have been relatively stress free so i guess i am happy with my lot.