• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Armenian Street Char Kway Teow

I remember the Armenian Street coffeshop char kway teow. Those days after I went library and MPH sure passed by but never ate there. My favourite char kway teow just a little further away at Hill Street HC.
The CKT is ok, but I always eat the Ngo Hiong, their fried beancurd is the best!!!

Hell you just reminded me of this . . . . those were the days mate . . . . makes my eyes water thinking of those younger days going to National Library

That bus-stop always very busy
Reminds me of S11, their chicken rice soup is heavenly!!!

The CKT is ok, but I always eat the Ngo Hiong, their fried beancurd is the best!!!

Yes, yes, the ngohiong stall was better. When in a group, we sometimes ordered the ngohiong. The taopok was best. The beehoon also traditional ngohiong style, fried and steamed. Nowadays ngohiong stalls sell normal beehoon only, not so good. Common like breakfast charbeehoon but more expensive.

I miss the pigs liver wrapped in that pig fats skin type, damn hard to find liao, hahaha....

At the Hill Street Food Centre was a wanton mee stall that was next to the famous char kway teow stall.
I kinda like the wanton mee from this stall.

Anyone know where the wanton mee stall moved to:confused: I remember that the wife of the stall holder had a burn scar on her face.

I can't remember any wanton mee stall next to CKT stall. But in old Hill St. I know a wanton mee stall not bad. They sold beef brisket noodle also, cheap and good. It's the same wanton mee except instead of wanton and charsiew, it's served with braised beef brisket. Same ground level but next two to the front sugar cane drink stall. CKT stall was at the back next to lime drink stall.

let's get a little further back in time but still around that area, anybody remember the old Eu court before the road widening and the labyrinth of its back lane, the old man pushing bicycle carried coconut milk gravy luksa plying his trade there _ that's heavenly

he must have passed on by now

He must have lah.
Is this the same place where there were husband and wife selling laksa/noodles (amenesia lah), always quarelling in front of customers. And some days, they don't open at all - because they started quarelling even before they opened for business.

I can't remember any wanton mee stall next to CKT stall. But in old Hill St. I know a wanton mee stall not bad. They sold beef brisket noodle also, cheap and good. It's the same wanton mee except instead of wanton and charsiew, it's served with braised beef brisket. Same ground level but next two to the front sugar cane drink stall. CKT stall was at the back next to lime drink stall.

The wanton mee stall was next to the drink stall selling the sour plum /chin Chau drinks. This sour plum drink stall was formerly on Hock Lam Street.
I think the wanton me was named **** Jie or something like that. You could also order chicken instead of char siew.

If I remember correctly the back row it was something like:
DS I WS I CKW

DS- drink stall selling sour plum & chin chau
WS- Wanton stall
CKW- Char Kway teow stall

The wanton mee stall was next to the drink stall selling the sour plum /chin Chau drinks. This sour plum drink stall was formerly on Hock Lam Street.
I think the wanton me was named **** Jie or something like that. You could also order chicken instead of char siew.

If I remember correctly the back row it was something like:
DS I WS I CKW

DS- drink stall selling sour plum & chin chau
WS- Wanton stall
CKW- Char Kway teow stall

IC I must have missed that wanton mee stall you mentioned since those days, I always ate wanton mee at NL or the HS front one with the beef.

I've only eaten at the food stall in front of the NL once or twice because it was quite isolated, even though my school was behind at Canning Rise:)

If your looking for cane furniture, the cane furniture store that used to be next to the NL food court is now at Thomson Rd(opposit of OUB Centre).

I've only eaten at the food stall in front of the NL once or twice because it was quite isolated, even though my school was behind at Canning Rise:)

If your looking for cane furniture, the cane furniture store that used to be next to the NL food court is now at Thomson Rd(opposit of OUB Centre).

You Wesley ah? Hahaha...that mama ratan shop...what old memories all coming back. I thought he was shot dead by KNNBCCB LOL!

In the Old days most of THE branded schools was in that neighbourhood: RI, ACS,St Joseph, CHIJ, Catholic High, St Anthony, ....

I've never visited the store, Manila Furnishing but am surprised that store is still around when many old time stores are gone.

I remember that stall. Mother (probably widow) and daughter stall. Very good beef brisket noodle. The daughter wasn't very pretty but so sweet and kind. One morning whilst I was walking from MPH to Hill Street and it started to rain. The daughter happened to be on same path and opened her umbrella. Seeing me, she offered to share her umbrella. After that, needless to say, I'd always eat at her stall.

Nabez, now this thread becomes your love story thread izzit? lol

So how? You got sian her? She gave signal already. ;)