• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mobile Food Sellers of Yesteryear

kingrant

Hey, there's one chap who's stationed at the pedestrian crossing in front of Parkway parade outside Standard Chartered bank corner. He sells the same thing. Red bean, vanila etc on sticks or with bread. No need to go KL, Lol! Usually there on Sats.

Coming back to the topic of food. On a recent trip to KL by car, I stopped at a rest stop along the highway. I can't remember which one. Anyway, there was this malay chap on a motorbike ice cream stall parked on the lot, away from the car parking spaces. When I walked over to check it out, he was selling the vanilla ice cream sandwich between 2 pieces of brown bread. My god, I had not eaten that in years. Of course, I bought it in a jiffy. I think it was less than Ringitt$2. Very cheap, and really brought back memories. LOL.

Lian9

can u guys remember the satay cu lup then.....near Geylang lor 1 , i think??

In the 80s, after M'sia Cup games, go over to Leisuredrome, there is a Palm Beach Restaurant there that expanded from 1 to 2 floors ....
the usual order:
chilli / black-peppered crabs , mee goreng, fried kangkong, fried fritters, baby Squid .....

Leisuredrome in the old days very shiok place ....
got ice-skating rink
got cinema
got Leisure health Centre hee hee hee got many angpai u know :biggrin:
got bowling
got seafood restaurant...

can u guys remember the satay cu lup then.....near Geylang lor 1 , i think??

Satay Celup aka Lok Lok have been perfected to an art across the causeway.......especially in JB, Malacca and KL where trucks are converted to mobile stalls giving a modern spin.

HedgeTrader

In the early 90s got fake mobile stalls at Boon Tat Street beside Lau Pa Sat. I think 6pm to 6am closed street for the stalls. Some standard local foods available. Tastes ranged from mostly average to a few good ones. But the prices were very expensive. I think rentals too high, stalls all ran and no more after a few years. In the early 2000s they tried another like that again at Orchard Road carpark. Also same formulae and of course same results.

In the early 2000s they tried another like that again at Orchard Road carpark. Also same formulae and of course same results.

From what I heard the Spore Tourist Promotion Board was behind the attempted revival of the "car park' which they called Gluttons Corner. Anything backed by a gov't agency is likely to fail, just look at China Town:rolleyes:

tua lam pah

I miss Stamford Rd MPH, used to be my LIBRARY after the one across the street, like you, were the generation of free browsers at MPH. When I started working I had more money, I bought a lot of books, novels, etc from MPH. Some of the collection from the timeback is now classics in modern fiction, books from Harrod Robbins, Jacqueline Suzanne, Joseph Wambaugh, Sidney Sheldon, who else....Han Suyin novels, most of them... I bought Dr.Mahatair Red Colored cover, "The Malay Dilema" from MPH, before ot was banned!...

MPH later years was too sterile....even though they had a cafe at mid level & the CD shop at top level....the cafe used to serve decent food & coffee..

I miss MPH...btw the lady cashier knows mw my sight back then...for I spent most of school days there...and later after work browsing...

:p

next to mph was the library..... many fond memories.....

Talking Donkey

Alfrescian (S)
next to mph was the library..... many fond memories.....

The problem with our country is because it is run like a F1 INC..too many F1 drivers driving us round the
bend..yes they need to slap hard for putting our life in danger.zzz:*:

Who got roller skates at Paramount Hotel at Katong? :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Alamak bro i grow up near that area,alot of young aguas roller skate there lah..
notice you like to eat ducks eggs,meat etc..because hor after you behave and walk like a duck hor..aahemm..
i mean a real duck not the other kind of duck...this one my grandmother got tell me before...:biggrin:

Who got roller skates at Paramount Hotel at Katong? :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Paramount was the original one I think, roller skating rinks became popular after the demise of ice skating...
Mid 80s there was a mini boom with roller discos popping up everywhere....from Sersngoon to Balestier to Orchard road which had at least 3 joints....those were favorite recruitment grounds for gangs and fights were frequent.

Alamak bro i grow up near that area,alot of young aguas roller skate there lah..
notice you like to eat ducks eggs,meat etc..because hor after you behave and walk like a duck hor..aahemm..
i mean a real duck not the other kind of duck...this one my grandmother got tell me before...:biggrin:

Nabez..... LOL, anyway, I always go there and skate during Sec school, got 1 time I accidentally knocked on a gal and touched her neh neh :eek::eek::biggrin::biggrin::p:p

HedgeTrader

Holding the waist of each other and form like a dragon body lah, hahahaha.... those were the days... :biggrin:

Wah lan eh, bluff gals to hold waists not enough, then bluff bluff fall down touch neh neh. No wonder last time so many kids bluff gals go skating. Anyway I wasn't interested in cheap thrills. Play poker, play mahjong, win $ already, sure got gals to fuck, don't need bluff bluff touch touch. :wink:

Touch is free 1 mah, that time young, not so much money, LOL :biggrin:

Hey, there's one chap who's stationed at the pedestrian crossing in front of Parkway parade outside Standard Chartered bank corner. He sells the same thing. Red bean, vanila etc on sticks or with bread. No need to go KL, Lol! Usually there on Sats.

Ok, thanks for the tip. Wah, only on Sat. meh? He is part time ice cream seller? I will check it out. I like the red bean one on sticks too.