• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HDB clarifies rule on siblings- PR/citizen alike

†††††

HDB clarifies rule on siblings
Both unmarried citizens and PRs can buy resale flats if eligibility criteria are met
By Jessica Cheam, Housing Correspondent

HOMEBUYERS who are siblings and unmarried - whether citizens or permanent residents (PRs) - can apply to buy HDB resale flats if their parents live overseas and do not already own a public flat.

They do not have to be above the age of 35, and their applications will be considered on a case-by-case basis.

The Housing Board (HDB) made these points in response to queries from The Straits Times after concerns about the siblings rule surfaced recently in online forums. Some forum users had noted that unmarried PR siblings above the age of 21 were allowed to buy HDB resale flats whereas Singapore citizen siblings were not.

In a letter written last month and addressed to National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan and HDB chief executive Cheong Koon Hean, Mr Tony Tan Keng Hong asked why there was a difference in the rules.

Under HDB rules, unmarried Singapore citizens can buy HDB resale flats only if they are above the age of 35 under the Singapore Citizen scheme.

They can also buy a resale flat with their siblings if their parents are dead under the Orphans Scheme. Under this scheme, the siblings do not have to be above 35.

The online debate mentioned instances where unmarried PR siblings were allowed to buy HDB resale flats, and there was some unhappiness as people seemed to think Singaporean siblings could not.

But the HDB told The Straits Times last Friday that there is no difference in the way the rules treat citizen and PR siblings. It will consider applications from any unmarried siblings above 21 whose parents are alive as long as the parents live overseas and do not own an HDB flat concurrently.

This is considered on a case-by-case basis, the HDB said. It did not say how many flats are owned by siblings in such situations, but industry observers said such cases are not common. Dennis Wee Group director Chris Koh said less than 5 per cent of HDB resale flats sold fall into this category.

The perception that more PR siblings are buying HDB resale flats is because they are more likely to fulfil the requirement of having parents who live overseas and do not own an HDB flat, he said.

The growing number of PRs and foreigners in Singapore has made immigration a hot topic, particularly with regard to rules and privileges for citizens and PRs.

The HDB addressed these concerns in March last year when it made a bigger distinction between benefits for citizens and PRs. It set new quotas on PR ownership of flats in specific blocks and neighbourhoods. A citizen-PR couple will also get $10,000 less subsidy than a couple where both are citizens.

When contacted, letter writer Mr Tan, 33, who runs his own health-care business, said he is still concerned as PR siblings are more likely to meet the eligibility criteria and he fears they will compete with Singaporeans for flats.

But Dennis Wee Group's Mr Koh felt the policy was fair as 'policymakers must also cater to those PR siblings who have chosen to sink their roots here and buy homes'.

[email protected]

Messier and messier. All these nitpicking can be avoided if HDB did not fall asleep during the past 5 years and build more flats.

According to HDB regulations,I have always thought that u need at least a Singapore Citizen Or a Singapore Citizen + PR to be eligible to buy a resale HDB flat.
How come 2 PR also can buy a resale HDB flat ?
Can 1 PR buy a resale HDB flat ?
Pardon my ignorance.

So if we park our parents in JB old age home and sell off their HDB, we can apply for HDB flat?

According to HDB regulations,I have always thought that u need at least a Singapore Citizen Or a Singapore Citizen + PR to be eligible to buy a resale HDB flat.
Pardon my ignorance.

1 PR cannot.
2 Pr can. must be siblings.

If PRs cannot purchase HDB flats... I believe the whole public housing market will collaspes!

Better than hyper inflate until nobody can buy!

A home is a home, not a fucking "investment". CCB

It is an insult to our intelligence. Lies after lies, after lies, after lies. All lies ...

Pardon my ignorance.

It is not too late to feel betrayed as Singaporean. Election is just around the corner. If you feel you are second class in your own home, do something great to kick PAP asshole.

It is an insult to our intelligence. Lies after lies, after lies, after lies. All lies ...

sinkies doe not have intelligence to begin with when they continuously vote for pap to screw them.

1. sheep's public housing scheme should be for its citizens, providing some pigeon-hole in air for 99 years.
2. spr should purchase a flat from the open market.
3. in a nutshell the problem arises when hbd allows flat owners to sell and make profit.

But Dennis Wee Group's Mr Koh felt the policy was fair as 'policymakers must also cater to those PR siblings who have chosen to sink their roots here and buy homes'.

[email protected]

This policy is obviously flawed and biased. 99% of citizens will not meet the requirements of overseas parent and parents do not own HDB while 99% of PRs will easily meet this requirement.:eek:

If this kind of policy is called fair, I don't know what is not fair? PRs who chose to sink their roots here can buy homes while Singaporeans who already sunk their roots here can wait till 35 to own HDB? If Singaporeans can wait until 35, PRs can't wait? Are they kings and queens?

This policy is a real joke. Obviously preference and bias toward PR. All the talk citizens are given recognition is obviously unreal.

Mah BT has now changed the rules to benefit the PRs but penalise citizens.

Is this what LHL had in mind when he says citizens comes first?

I will spread this amongst my colleagues to make sure as many of them kick out PAP this GE esp the young.

Bye bye LHL........you don't deserve being PM.

I have a friend who bought a 3-rm resales for 180K 3 yrs ago. The price now is at least 230K. She made a minimum of 50K. She has no intention to stay in Singapore for long unless of course she married a Singaporean. But as far as I know, most of her bfs are Malaysian, even the current one. It's more likely she will sell her HDB and retire back home. Well, I think luck was on her side as she did get the flat at the right time. BTW, she was 30 and her sis 26 when they bought the home.

Me? Still waiting for 35 to get one :(

This policy is obviously flawed and biased. 99% of citizens will not meet the requirements of overseas parent and parents do not own HDB while 99% of PRs will easily meet this requirement.:eek:

If this kind of policy is called fair, I don't know what is not fair? PRs who chose to sink their roots here can buy homes while Singaporeans who already sunk their roots here can wait till 35 to own HDB? If Singaporeans can wait until 35, PRs can't wait? Are they kings and queens?

So what is new? You look around there are many PAP sanctioned policies that benefit FT including this policy. NS is the other one. How come an able bodied PES A PR need not do NS to get his citizenship? If you are a 21 year old FT from China or India, u come to singapore and get PR. Than 3 years later, u apply for citizenship and u get it, how come NS is not a precondition of getting a citizenship. Especially if they are able bodied and fit?Which means perfectly healthy young men from overseas canbe sinkie citizens without doing NS. Not like the locals.

This policy is a real joke. Obviously preference and bias toward PR. All the talk citizens are given recognition is obviously unreal.

If you think it's another bias issues then if have fallen for their trick again.

Think about it ,it is impossible for hdb to ever set such weird reqirement for sinaporean?
The only sensible explanation is that rule is indeed is custom for thr PR where only their parents are outside the country, from the start.

Singaporean know these now and are quite angry . So miw/hdb is making this weird rule to fit into the equationfor election.

The other forumer got it right. Its lies lies lies.

Majority singaporens who are not as sophisticated or they just read our national paper will be bluff again. :D

So what is new? You look around there are many PAP sanctioned policies that benefit FT including this policy. NS is the other one. How come an able bodied PES A PR need not do NS to get his citizenship? If you are a 21 year old FT from China or India, u come to singapore and get PR. Than 3 years later, u apply for citizenship and u get it, how come NS is not a precondition of getting a citizenship. Especially if they are able bodied and fit?Which means perfectly healthy young men from overseas canbe sinkie citizens without doing NS. Not like the locals.

That must be a retard to apply for citizenship at 24 years old. The NS cut-off age is 26 years and 6 months. Wait two and a half years more and he's officially out of NS enlistment age. No male PRs will convert to citizenship before that except in compulsorily forced to choose cases, e.g. PR son of PR father who went through Pr. Sch. and Sec. Sch. here. They'd be asked to serve or leave at age 18.

Wah lan, SG citizens' parents sure in SG and sure own HDB one lei.. PRs' parents of course not lah.. knn..

I have a friend who bought a 3-rm resales for 180K 3 yrs ago. The price now is at least 230K. She made a minimum of 50K. She has no intention to stay in Singapore for long unless of course she married a Singaporean. But as far as I know, most of her bfs are Malaysian, even the current one. It's more likely she will sell her HDB and retire back home. Well, I think luck was on her side as she did get the flat at the right time. BTW, she was 30 and her sis 26 when they bought the home.

Me? Still waiting for 35 to get one :(

Basically,HDB are public housing for singapore citizens.The MIW b*stards relaxed the housing policies to enable PRs to buy resales flats for GDP growth purposes.Come on,PRs are not singapore citizens and they PRs made a huge profit from the sale of the resale flats when they leave this Little red Dot.
Who are the farking B*stards who allow the PRs to profit from the public housing ?