• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MDIS ends partnership with Australia's Edith Cowan University

And anyway, it's a mistake to think that the Ivies are more expensive. Ivies and other top places in the US give generous financial aid to students. If your family makes less than 60,000 USD a year, you basically attend Harvard for free — Harvard will not only waive your tuition but will also pay your room and board for four years. As long as your family doesn't make more than 180,000 USD a year, you would receive some amount of financial aid from Harvard. This applies to every student, not just US citizens:

Ivy leagues can do that because of the returns on their endowment and commercialization of their technologies. Also, their business schools and medical schools generate a lot of money as well

National University of Singapore is more like a Mid-size State university in Singapore. It has well-trained professors but its research is not ground-breaking at all. That's why there are no top prize winners and few literature make it to the magazines of highest impact

Didn't realize that Oxford and Cambridge are now in the Ivies; must have sold themselves to America after Osborne cut their budget by 40%.

And anyway, it's a mistake to think that the Ivies are more expensive.
The financial aid comes with no strings attached (in particular, no "bond" or such nonsense).
''''
'''

But amazingly most S'poreans are still happily taking up scholarships from S'pore that come with 6-year bonds.

I'm just lumping Oxford & Cambridge under ivy league for convenience lah.

Don't think think anyone should makes plans based on getting financial assistance. In my opinion people should only make plans on what they can afford.

Spore gov't believes in slavery & not in helping their citizens, is it any wonder that so many have voted with their feet & left Spore. I know many who have left & they haven't looked back. While we in Spore are still struggling with price hikes, pay cuts, competition from foreigners,ageism,...

What saddens me is that there are still Sporeans who are asleep. Getting an overseas degree may be the only way out of Spore, never mind if its not from some prestigious ivy league uni.

Hard now. It has to be employer or state sponsored now AND there are tonnes of PRC chinese competing for those spots.

Yes it's harder now of course but there's still hope.

In 4 years time, when many will graduate, the economy is bound to improve & I suspect that Australians hold Sporeans in high regard. Don't forget there many ex-Sporeans are now Australians :)

What saddens me is that there are still Sporeans who are asleep.

They have been sleeping for years and when they are awake, they always make the wrong decisions - once every 4-5 years. Then back to sleep and the cycle repeats itself.

This will change, other then the last leaf exiting alot of older Sporeans are now facing financial problems. That lone MP burner may just be the tip of the iceberg.

Young Sporeans are having problems finding well paid jobs. This group are too young to remember the "good things" done by LKY aka PAP :) They will be impatient for change.

This will change, other then the last leaf exiting alot of older Sporeans are now facing financial problems. That lone MP burner may just be the tip of the iceberg.

Young Sporeans are having problems finding well paid jobs. This group are too young to remember the "good things" done by LKY aka PAP :) They will be impatient for change.

Actually Young Sinkies should blame the Old Sinkies for not advancing our industries and economy.

Ask yourself why all the technology MNCs are moving away from Singapore??? Because the Older Sinkies did not transform the industries from labor-intensive to a knowledge-based one.

The old sinkies think they can have a long career by just adopting western technology and taking the easy way out. These lazy people just want to use and adopt, not develop and create. How can the SG tech industries have a good future with these trashes. Alot of them just have a diploma.

All of these is none of PAP's fault. The old sinkies are just lazy, easily satisfied and lack a good science/tech education

Now you know why they are importing so many FTs. They may not be the best but we all know they are better than those old displaced poly grads.

All of these is none of PAP's fault. The old sinkies are just lazy, easily satisfied and lack a good science/tech education

Now you know why they are importing so many FTs. They may not be the best but we all know they are better than those old displaced poly grads.

Where have you been :eek:

PAP has total control of Spore for over 40 years. Do you think they could have increased their own salaries to these levels if they didn't have absolute control?

Temasek lost billions & billions of taxpayers money. To date the PAP has not given an accounting of these losses. How do you explain that :confused:

The only mistake that old Sporeans made was in giving the PAP the mandate. They are now paying for it.

I hope this will be a watershed election with the young ones and 1st time voters who may have missed out in the past coz of walkovers.

According to generalised projection, if NSP fields 30, WP fields 20, SDA fields 20, RP fields 10 and SDP fields 10, it's not only going be full contested, but inadvertently there'd be some 3- or more-cornered contests.

Let's hope the SMCs and GRCs which appear vulnerable won't end up with 3-cornered contests then. I think it is unlikely my dream will come true. More likely a nightmare.

You sound like my British girl friend. May turn out more like a nightmare than a sweet dream. She's already wondering whyfor support opposition? She says PAP seems to be doing very well and fine. I promised her I'm not involved politically and ideologically, just as a friend helping other friends.

Chey! Of course I sound and think like your girlfriend lah. She Cambridge? Me Cambridge university double first. Sama sama LHL and KJ.

Don't be so humble. From Victoria to RI to MTI? What a waste the Police did not kidnap you to be their CP.

CP? Nah, my buddy batch at PA >20 years ago, now at most ACP only.

Anyway, I'm not cut out for this. I like freedom.

Can grow long hair tie ponytail, go anywhere and stuff like that.

I spent more than half of my prime abroad.

CP? Nah, my buddy batch at PA >20 years ago, now at most ACP only.

Anyway, I'm not cut out for this. I like freedom.

Can grow long hair tie ponytail, go anywhere and stuff like that.

I spent more than half of my prime abroad.

If lucky, AC or SAC. If not, Supt or DAC. If still DSP, then must be a Damn Stupid Policeman.

A CP with long hair tie ponytail would look great! Make sure you don't hunch when you walk, like the old CP.

If lucky, AC or SAC. If not, Supt or DAC. If still DSP, then must be a Damn Stupid Policeman.

A CP with long hair tie ponytail would look great! Make sure you don't hunch when you walk, like the old CP.

If the kids see a CP with ponytail, think they'd chop up even more people merrily like nobody's business. :eek:

Where have you been :eek:

PAP has total control of Spore for over 40 years. Do you think they could have increased their own salaries to these levels if they didn't have absolute control?

Temasek lost billions & billions of taxpayers money. To date the PAP has not given an accounting of these losses. How do you explain that :confused:

The only mistake that old Sporeans made was in giving the PAP the mandate. They are now paying for it.

You are just jealous over their salaries since they are politicians and has not go by your traditional standards of being "humble and prudent". Honestly, politicians aren't playing the same role as other countries given the size of the economy. Having said that, any opposition member is welcomed to join if they can prove to be top manager and finance experts. Have you heard of any opposition members rejecting the MP pay?

Do you know that our investments have made billions of dollars in China now? Also, our investments in Indonesia and India have yield many folds of return. Tell me how you can achieve that if you vote in idiots who cannot even speak proper English and did not go to an Ivy League.

Every big financial institution lost money in 2008. Even Harvard lost 22% of their endowment. Don't be so myopic and just focus on 2008.

Does it make sense to pay the politicians $400,000 to safeguard $200 billion? Without their HDB scheme, do you think you can retire and fuck around in Malaysia now with your whore girlfriend?

Anyway, what did you contribute to the computer industry in your career? Just fool around with Ang Mo technology? It's quite obvious why our engineering economy is dead, with lots of people of low caliber like you :rolleyes:

National University of Singapore is more like a Mid-size State university in Singapore. It has well-trained professors but its research is not ground-breaking at all. That's why there are no top prize winners and few literature make it to the magazines of highest impact

I suppose you meant mid-size state university in <i>America</i>?

Looks like you have a pretty high opinion of NUS. I'm not sure which ones you consider mid-size. But state universities in America are spectacular. If you judge by intellectual output, Berkeley for example is in the league of HYMPS. Schools like Michigan-Ann Arbor, Minnesota-Twin Cities, Wisconsin-Madison, UCLA, UCSD, UIUC, UT Austin, etc, all have their fair share of Nobel prize winners:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Nobel_laureates_by_university_affiliation

A foreign degree gives other oppurtunities. For an australian grads it gives them a chance to work & live there as a PR :confused:

I don't know the immigration rules & regulations in Australia, maybe someone who knows can clarify.

theres a termporary visa for those graduates who could not meet gsm requirement. it allows u to stay in oz for 18 months. but i do not whether there is a cap on it or not.

the most important is your skills or qualifications must meet sol.

http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/general-skilled-migration/485/