• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MDIS ends partnership with Australia's Edith Cowan University

I suppose you meant mid-size state university in <i>America</i>?

Looks like you have a pretty high opinion of NUS. I'm not sure which ones you consider mid-size. But state universities in America are spectacular. If you judge by intellectual output, Berkeley for example is in the league of HYMPS. Schools like Michigan-Ann Arbor, Minnesota-Twin Cities, Wisconsin-Madison, UCLA, UCSD, UIUC, UT Austin, etc, all have their fair share of Nobel prize winners:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Nobel_laureates_by_university_affiliation

These universities are large state universities, with student population > 30,000

Mid-Size universities are those with moderate operating budgets below $500 million. One example is Cal Poly and they are usually good at educating undergraduate students just like NUS.

There is no way a Sinkie from NUS can win a nobel prize.

1) NUS has a very weak chemistry, physics and biological sciences base. Go look at the profiles of the professors online and you will know what I mean. With this weak base, they lose out on developing the best materials and processes.

2) NUS is more of an engineering school. Remember, scientists win nobel prizes and rarely engineers unless they initiate a brand new technology. One example of an noble prize engineer is that Hong Kong prof who did his work on fiber optical cables.

3) Now you know why PAP has to micromanage and start their own biopolis. NUS is quite hopeless when it comes to the latest things. It is more like an teaching university that is wasting your tax money.

theres a termporary visa for those graduates who could not meet gsm requirement. it allows u to stay in oz for 18 months. but i do not whether there is a cap on it or not.

the most important is your skills or qualifications must meet sol.

http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/general-skilled-migration/485/

Thanks, the info should be useful for those thinking of leaving Spore for Aust. Heard the economy there is healthy. Probably better than Spore's economy.

Although I have relatives & friends there, I don't keep up with immigration requirements.

Many of my colleagues studied in Australia. I remembered one who was female & she worked as receptionist/secretary. She was an ardent supporter of the PAP.

However when the Australian gov't announced the new requirements for maintaining PR status, staying in Aust 50% out of a year. She quit her job in Spore, to go back to Aust. :eek:

So don't think Sporean women are happy in Spore just because they have a womens charter:)

I hope this will be a watershed election with the young ones and 1st time voters who may have missed out in the past coz of walkovers.

I get a feeling that there's an atmosphere of anger & desperation out there. Many Sporeans want solutions to their plight & will no longer accept the usual excuses from a new generation of clueless MPs.

Even if the PAP manages to retain power, it's going to be downhill from now on. :rolleyes:

You are just jealous over their salaries since they are politicians and has not go by your traditional standards of being "humble and prudent". Honestly, politicians aren't playing the same role as other countries given the size of the economy. Having said that, any opposition member is welcomed to join if they can prove to be top manager and finance experts. Have you heard of any opposition members rejecting the MP pay?

Do you know that our investments have made billions of dollars in China now? Also, our investments in Indonesia and India have yield many folds of return. Tell me how you can achieve that if you vote in idiots who cannot even speak proper English and did not go to an Ivy League.

Politicians who want to become millionaire/billionairea are welcome to try their luck as entrepreneurs in the private sector.

Gov't civil servants are suppose to look after the interests of the public and not become millionaires at the expense of the taxpayers. We are now seeing many societal problems; homelessness, gangs, people who can't afford healthcare,.working poor, ...

If what you claim is true then why is it we see the increase of these problems:confused:

Thanks, the info should be useful for those thinking of leaving Spore for Aust. Heard the economy there is healthy. Probably better than Spore's economy.

Although I have relatives & friends there, I don't keep up with immigration requirements.

Many of my colleagues studied in Australia. I remembered one who was female & she worked as receptionist/secretary. She was an ardent supporter of the PAP.

However when the Australian gov't announced the new requirements for maintaining PR status, staying in Aust 50% out of a year. She quit her job in Spore, to go back to Aust. :eek:

So don't think Sporean women are happy in Spore just because they have a womens charter:)

No sane person would want to cut off something like this. No matter how "good" Singapore is to them. I suspect your colleague would be back once she has gotten her citizenship and this won't be a requirement anymore. Eventually, she might just go back again to retire again. Aussie migration rules have tighten a lot since I've gotten my PR. No longer do they require hairdresser, cooks etc. I think its the same case in the UK as well. Its getting harder to migrate nowadays from what I've heard.

Yep, she does re-visit Spore & company to keep in touch with the company. Will probably see her again eventually as an FT.

I remember her case because on one hand she supports the PAP & on the other, she chooses to become an Australian. :eek:

Some do however go for good, I've got old schoolmates who've become Australians & I never see them except for Xmas holidays.

Pity the young generation, have to compete with foreigner in their own backyard & with other foreigners if they want to emigrate.

Emigrating to ang mo countries is so passe. The future is in Asia. :)

Ever wondered why so many are doing it :confused: With an angmo passport you will have the protection of an angmo gov't if you get into trouble.

Just look at the Hongkies many already have homes in Australia, Canada, US,... while they work in Hong Kong.

dun mnd me saying this but i think your friend is a hypocripte. she can support pap because she already have a pr which enable her to get out of sg anytime she wants. its not like the rest of sinkies who wil be stuck here whether they happy or not.

according to SOL, it looks like engineering skills are in still great demand.

a colleagues of mine told me graduates from universities can't get pr straight away. they can only apply for temprary visa instead but he also dunnoe the chances of successful application. the law was change the year before he graduates and thats why he miss out the chance to apply for pr.

i think the temprary visa is to prevent future migrants from abusing the pr system. they issue pr so that u can work and contribute to their ecomony but not the other way round.

dun mnd me saying this but i think your friend is a hypocripte. she can support pap because she already have a pr which enable her to get out of sg anytime she wants. its not like the rest of sinkies who wil be stuck here whether they happy or not.

You are right, most that do this are hypocrites and ungrateful. Woody's daughter comes to mind. From my personal experience, most people that stayed behind are rich, have a family biz to take over etc. Basically, people that have assets back home.

according to SOL, it looks like engineering skills are in still great demand.

a colleagues of mine told me graduates from universities can't get pr straight away. they can only apply for temprary visa instead but he also dunnoe the chances of successful application. the law was change the year before he graduates and thats why he miss out the chance to apply for pr.

i think the temprary visa is to prevent future migrants from abusing the pr system. they issue pr so that u can work and contribute to their ecomony but not the other way round.

I'm not very clear about this, I applied offshore after graduation. But, I think the Temporary visa is to allow grads to start working immediately in Aust after graduation while the visa approval gets through the system. It took them close to a year to make this decision, if you are lucky. Before that, another 6 months to collect all the required documents by yourself before submission. I was lucky I never have to go through it again, nowadays I heard you have to get a certain grade in IELTS as well. Another thing about temporary visa is that you can't leave the country while you wait for the decision. I know of one case where this happened and the application was rejected with a 3 year ban on applying again.

If the kids see a CP with ponytail, think they'd chop up even more people merrily like nobody's business. :eek:

It could well be the opposite. These kids would emulate a CP with ponytail. They will end up in the SPF and instead of chopping people, they will be model citizens.

Whenever ponytail is mentioned, I am reminded of 2 guys. Both nicknamed "Suku" - one from SGH, the other PKL. PKL's Suku is a good fighter - equivalent to Or Puay Khiang.

No doubt about it, she is a hypocrite. I really can't understand her attitude & maybe that's why to me it's such a memorable case All my other friends who've left are doing it for the usual reasons & after leaving they're gone for good.

There's so much that the 1st world has to offer. It's no wonder that the PAP has given up trying to attract ex-Sporeans & instead targetting other 3rd world citizens :rolleyes:

Whenever ponytail is mentioned, I am reminded of 2 guys. Both nicknamed "Suku" - one from SGH, the other PKL. PKL's Suku is a good fighter - equivalent to Or Puay Khiang.

You referred to Orh Puay Khiang a couple of times. You probably know him. He lived in my brother's home in Singapore for a few years until my brother got married and settled down in Malaysia. It's been a long time since I drank with him. My sister-in-law half-dislikes half-scared of him when ocassionally he visits my brother's home in Malaysia now.

He is running a KTV somewhere in the vicinity of HongKong St, I think. Didn't attend the opening coz I prefer to stay low profile and also, since no longer involved in KTV, I try not to mingle with these chaps.

When meet-up, it's always gossip here and there, jealousy and backstabbing all the time. Sadly Or Puay Khiang had many opportunities to make good money in the past but he never fully appreciated the opportunities given. He abused and misused them.

Also, he is not a good drinking buddy. When intoxicated, he gets out of control. Trouble always come swiftly when he misbehaves. Drink to enjoy not drink to find trouble.

He wants respect badly. Maybe because his importance going southwards.
He may be 'respected' but inside his group, he is not well-liked at all.

Also, he is not a good drinking buddy. When intoxicated, he gets out of control. Trouble always come swiftly when he misbehaves. Drink to enjoy not drink to find trouble.

He wants respect badly. Maybe because his importance going southwards.
He may be 'respected' but inside his group, he is not well-liked at all.

Yeah, as he ages, he grows more insecure and irritable. Trouble comes as swiftly as he looks for it and pick it. The gang is practically no more than in name and in sentiments for old times' sake. He has to learn to live with it.

i have a guy from the army same platoon as me. he got back from uk after finishing his degree. he got a bro studying in uk university and a sis studying nus biz. his family runs their own biz in sg and is damn rich. what he told us his dad ask him to apply for oz pr but he refuse as he is helping his father to run the family biz.

from the oz immigration website, it looks like they want the graduates to stay and work in oz to gain their training and expereince but i think the purpose is to hold them back and to prevent them from leaving as most ppl would not leave after getting a job.

i also not sure how TR works. lets say i study electrical engineering but does it mean my chance of getting TR will be high after i completed my education?

when i look at the skill requirement list, when do i apply for TR? after or before getting a job when still in oz? i hv to take into consideration the validity of student visa.

You are right, most that do this are hypocrites and ungrateful. Woody's daughter comes to mind. From my personal experience, most people that stayed behind are rich, have a family biz to take over etc. Basically, people that have assets back home.

I'm not very clear about this, I applied offshore after graduation. But, I think the Temporary visa is to allow grads to start working immediately in Aust after graduation while the visa approval gets through the system. It took them close to a year to make this decision, if you are lucky. Before that, another 6 months to collect all the required documents by yourself before submission. I was lucky I never have to go through it again, nowadays I heard you have to get a certain grade in IELTS as well. Another thing about temporary visa is that you can't leave the country while you wait for the decision. I know of one case where this happened and the application was rejected with a 3 year ban on applying again.