• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MBT will win 70% votes in Tampines...

Perspective

Here is the Ling's story.

Ling How Doong story is one of luck, accidents and mediocrity. He got the seat in Bt Gombak because of Seet Ai Mei washing hands debacle and very much due to her false persona. Ling having won the seat ended being told what to to do instead of looking after his voters. Imagine an incumbent holding a seat and garnering only 28.4% of the votes, massive swing for any incumbent.

Yes, it was a 3 cornered fight but Mohd Farid from SPP only got about 1,600 votes while PAP fielded Ang Mo Seng whose charisma was basically nil. This was one case where a 3 cornered fight did not split the votes by any stretch of the imagination. It was indeed a shocking result. I would have venture that Ling was not only the contributing factor. The party has to take responsibility for putting family members on Gombak payroll.

It was clear the backlash was due to Ling's conduct. Taking solace by claiming a 3rd cornered fight is being mischievious and dishinest.

Plus the spat with Chiam which cost the whole SDP. Ling was the publicity head of the pack and even Chee and Cheo kept mostly quiet.

Better question to ask still - do you know of any PAP candidate that doesn't already have the 15K monthly allowance neatly tucked inside his pocket?

Why voters make the rich richer is beyond me.

If the motivation in question is the allowance, why some question opposition motive but not PAP motive is also beyond me.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
It is not that, that i am thinking of. It has more to do with my understanding of GMS style of strategy.

Finally as for GMS, he strategizes, does active campaigning and is fully focused towards his objectives. I believe he may enter Parliament as a NCMP if he so desires. I hope if he does, he will continue in this manner. The fact that many are putting him down is a testimony of his effectiveness. GMS is a good candidate because he is hungry.

Dear IR123,

Thank you for your compliments. I am flattered but I have to state here again, I am not interested to be NCMP and will not take it up if offered after I lose. I will leave it to others, for them to grow and groom.

I am only trying to play my part, a very small part in our Nation's political field. Yes, I am HUNGRY, not merely for success but to demonstrate to Singaporeans, those skeptics and cynical ones on both sides that politics could be made into healthy competition for all. I am HUNGRY to show success so that more people, better quality people would step forward for Public Service, not personal vengeance, hatred, or simply, anti-PAP. I know there are many better people than me sitting on the fence even though they are not happy with the things going on here.

I always tell my people, there are only three main criteria in my book for candidacy.

1) Passion and Sincerity to serve the nation and the people.

2) The right attitude towards Politics as Public Service, not some means to get self advertisement, monetary rewards or just venting anger and frustrations. Definitely not for personal grudges or revenge.

3) Have the critical thinking to make out rational alternative policy views, talk sense and communicate effectively as a politician.

At the end of the day, it is the heart that counts.

Goh Meng Seng

I am not interested to be NCMP and will not take it up if offered after I lose. I will leave it to others, for them to grow and groom.

GMS : NCMP? You must be joking. It's about S$1.5 p.m. +/- only. Don't waste my time, I've got better things to do and better ways to earn much more than that.

IR123

I have to state here again, I am not interested to be NCMP and will not take it up if offered after I lose.

That is okay, if you are not interested then you should not take it up.

My main point is that you may be an improvement to the current two oppositions.

silverfox@

Dear IR123,

I always tell my people, there are only three main criteria in my book for candidacy.

1) Passion and Sincerity to serve the nation and the people.

2) The right attitude towards Politics as Public Service, not some means to get self advertisement, monetary rewards or just venting anger and frustrations. Definitely not for personal grudges or revenge.

3) Have the critical thinking to make out rational alternative policy views, talk sense and communicate effectively as a politician.

At the end of the day, it is the heart that counts.

Goh Meng Seng

According to demographics shown for Tampines, there is an approx 125000 voters in this GRC. Example there is 30,000 households you need to do a walkabout. Mingle with the voters, residents, let them know who they are voting for besides PAP.

Let's say you do 2 walkabouts a week. 1 walkabout 300 households, u can cover this distance in 1 year of meeting 30000 households. Have you all started anything?

Why I am saying this, 1 big reason why opposition fail badly not because of the strength of the ruling party but because the residents do not know who the opposition are. And many times when the residents knew about the opposition in their constituency, its already too late.

If the motivation in question is the allowance, why some question opposition motive but not PAP motive is also beyond me.
Some people think that opposition candidates are heroes who should have helping Singaporeans as their only objective.
Some others think that opposition candidates are opportunists only eyeing the mp allowance.
The fact is that no man is a saint, including opposition candidates. They have every right to want to have the mp allowance and perhaps even a cabinet appointment in the future. But if they put their hearts and minds to helping make the lives of locally born and bred Singaporeans better and actually achieve it, they thoroughly deserve their rewards.

If they don't, then they should be criticised and voted out, as some of the super talented indispensable mps from the pap should. I just hope Singaporeans can see the light.

silverfox@

Some people think that opposition candidates are heroes who should have helping Singaporeans as their only objective.
Some others think that opposition candidates are opportunists only eyeing the mp allowance.
The fact is that no man is a saint, including opposition candidates. They have every right to want to have the mp allowance and perhaps even a cabinet appointment in the future. But if they put their hearts and minds to helping make the lives of locally born and bred Singaporeans better and actually achieve it, they thoroughly deserve their rewards.

If they don't, then they should be criticised and voted out, as some of the super talented indispensable mps from the pap should. I just hope Singaporeans can see the light.

I think if people are eyeing the mp allowance, its pathetic. I would always think that whether its the people from ruling party or opposition camps, they would be able to earn much more in private sector without bearing the brunt from voters. (Want this want that)

MPs also have family, also have to feed them.

Being an MP is like a parking attendent. You do your job, but people always fuck you behind your back. :biggrin:

Some people think that wanting to be an opposition MP, or even just candidate, is just a matter of sending in a CV.

Thick Face Black Heart

Better question to ask still - do you know of any PAP candidate that doesn't already have the 15K monthly allowance neatly tucked inside his pocket?

Why voters make the rich richer is beyond me.

People close to opposition/AP circles in terms of interaction feel a greater familiarity with potential oppo candidates, and familiarity breeds contempt. Jealously sets in when they see potential oppo candidates having a chance to earn $15K per month, whilst themselves may be earning only a few K per month.

PAP candidates on the other hand are aloof and removed. They don't feel personally connected to them, and so the same jealousy has no chance to set in.

phouse3

GMS has abandoned his leave-no-man-behind policy and has been on the look-out for better opportunities. Perhaps those are the reasons he has been attacked - by insiders.

The highly publicised selling of flat/making a donation, leaving for HK, seeking cooperation with the 2 RP scholars are nothing but veiled negotiations to move to the A-team in Jalan Besar to fight to win. (As to why a Sec-Gen is not in the A-team in the first place, that is another story.)

But chances are he will be leading a B- or C-team in Tampines and he has to bear most of the costs. There is little incentive because it is an uphill battle to be among the best losers. That explains his constant rumbling about scores.

Hence, in order not to seal his fate, he is hoping for candidates of equal standing to work with him in Tampines (or elsewhere) to fight to win. He rather they take up the NCMP posts as enticement to join him because the rule says only 2 from each team can take up NCMP posts. It too has something to do with sharing costs.

So it is either fight to win or no interest in NCMP based on pure pragmatism.

Thick Face Black Heart

You're quite self-absorbed.

GMS has abandoned his leave-no-man-behind policy and has been on the look-out for better opportunities. Perhaps those are the reasons he has been attacked - by insiders.

The highly publicised selling of flat/making a donation, leaving for HK, seeking cooperation with the 2 RP scholars are nothing but veiled negotiations to move to the A-team in Jalan Besar to fight to win. (As to why a Sec-Gen is not in the A-team in the first place, that is another story.)

But chances are he will be leading a B- or C-team in Tampines and he has to bear most of the costs. There is little incentive because it is an uphill battle to be among the best losers. That explains his constant rumbling about scores.

Hence, in order not to seal his fate, he is hoping for candidates of equal standing to work with him in Tampines (or elsewhere) to fight to win. He rather they take up the NCMP posts as enticement to join him because the rule says only 2 from each team can take up NCMP posts. It too has something to do with sharing costs.

Perspective

People close to opposition/AP circles in terms of interaction feel a greater familiarity with potential oppo candidates, and familiarity breeds contempt. Jealously sets in when they see potential oppo candidates having a chance to earn $15K per month, whilst themselves may be earning only a few K per month.

PAP candidates on the other hand are aloof and removed. They don't feel personally connected to them, and so the same jealousy has no chance to set in.

That's an interesting psychological perspective. However, while the second part holds true, it causes people to shoot at the ivory tower for not being close to the ground :smile:

phouse3

You're quite self-absorbed.

You know the meaning of self-absorbed? If not, please don't use it.

Are you able to read I am commenting on GMS and nothing on me?

Comments like yours doesn't make an iota of difference to a discussion. It is as good as a fart. You should comment on the subject matter and not speak like an effeminate Sinkie.

Thick Face Black Heart

:p

Thanks for brightening my morning.

I said you are self-absorbed because you are so absorbed in your own little pet theories that you miss the forest for the trees.

For effeminate sinkee, please look to Ramseth instead. He's gay.

:p:p

You know the meaning of self-absorbed? If not, please don't use it.

Are you able to read I am commenting on GMS and nothing on me?

Comments like yours doesn't make an iota of difference to a discussion. It is as good as a fart. You should comment on the subject matter and not speak like an effeminate Sinkie.

Thick Face Black Heart

Since we're on the subject, most of what GMS has done is basic politics.

You're right on possibly one count only - he has likely been attacked by insiders from time to time. This is possible only because unlike you and I who hide behind effeminate nicks, he uses he full real name in cyberspace.

ChaoPappyPoodle

The YPAP damn ridiculous people. Don't forget that they are still PAP.

I suggest that their MBT start looking for a job real soon. I can't wait to see what job he gets once he is booted out of parliament.

Which IDIOT would hire someone who spent $400,000 on renaming Marina Bay back into Marina Bay again? Or I see, the PAP kept on hiring him.

When hundreds upon hundreds of thousands of FTs are allowed into Singapore, MBT is caught off guard because he doesn't know about it.

When our beloved Pink Man (PM) announces hardened policies to prevent public housing abuses which have run rampant under MBT, MBT is no where to be seen. Looks like LHL is telling MBT, "hong karn lah, you die your business. I going to make the announcement. I also scared for my backside."

Can MBT be deserving of a security guard? But how, he seems to be caught off guard. I wouldn't be surprised if Pinky Man's announcement also caught him off guard.

Looks like the PAP knows it will lose at least one GRC this coming GE and MBT may be their sacrificial pig!

somebody please give him an infraction for posting in the wrong forum. only an attention whore would post a political thread in a coffee shop talk section when a politics section has been dedicated for that purpose. if he doesn't know where to shit and urinate, how can he be a member of parliament?

aurvandil

I suggest that their MBT start looking for a job real soon. I can't wait to see what job he gets once he is booted out of parliament.

Under our Constituition, Mr Mah can continue to stay on as Minister Mah even if he loses the election. There is no requirement that a Minister must be an elected MP. This happened in the case of Minister Aline Wong who stayed on as Minister after she lost the election. Hence if the PAP thinks that he is a rare talent, they should appoint Mr Mah to become Minister Mah so that he can continue to implement their housing policy.

As this can be quite embarassing, I think it will be magnanimous if Goh Meng Seng suggests this to the PAP if he contests and wins in Tampines.

Another consideration also is that if Mr Mah is the best loser, he will actually be offered an NMP position. A lot has been debated about opposition politicians taking up the NMP poisiton. I wonder if any PAP politicians who lose will take up this position so that that they can continue to be in Parliament.

Sideswipe

Under our Constituition, Mr Mah can continue to stay on as Minister Mah even if he loses the election. There is no requirement that a Minister must be an elected MP. This happened in the case of Minister Aline Wong who stayed on as Minister after she lost the election. Hence if the PAP thinks that he is a rare talent, they should appoint Mr Mah to become Minister Mah so that he can continue to implement their housing policy.

As this can be quite embarassing, I think it will be magnanimous if Goh Meng Seng suggests this to the PAP if he contests and wins in Tampines.

you sure or not?

Appointment of Prime Minister and Ministers
25. —(1) The President shall appoint as Prime Minister a Member of Parliament who in his judgment is likely to command the confidence of the majority of the Members of Parliament, and shall, acting in accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister, appoint other Ministers from among the Members of Parliament:

Provided that, if an appointment is made while Parliament is dissolved, a person who was a Member of the last Parliament may be appointed but shall not continue to hold office after the first sitting of the next Parliament unless he is a Member thereof.