• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

disgraceful food blogger demand free food from restaurant

middaydog

can you post more about hawker food or zhichar stalls, pretty please! you've been posting all about cafes and restaurants. just a request :smile:

Sure thing, I eat a lot of hawker food, and the only reason i am not blogging about them is because i don't have enough time to finish all my cafes and restaurants posts, i will try ok? (:

zhichar stalls or hawker give me free also not worth much lor, I'd rather cafes or restaurants leh

KuanTi01

Try that in SF or London Chinafood joints, walk in, stretcher out.

Wong Kei takes the cake but then all the other Chinese restaurants in the West End also have triad connections!

Nearer home our trusty northern neighbour also has such restaurants. Try to be funny with them, you'll be dead meat! On the other hand, if you show some manners and respect, you'll get proper service. Freeloaders, including foodbloggers better watch out!:biggrin::biggrin:

denzuko1

Wong Kei takes the cake but then all the other Chinese restaurants in the West End also have triad connections!

Nearer home our trusty northern neighbour also has such restaurants. Try to be funny with them, you'll be dead meat! On the other hand, if you show some manners and respect, you'll get proper service. Freeloaders, including foodbloggers better watch out!:biggrin::biggrin:

I think Wong Kei is the triad and all other restaurants have to pay them tribute, other wise how can they be so rude to customers, sell the food at such low price and with such big crowds. Other restaurants are really swarping flies.

kensington

Actually I found that the OCBC cake affair was funny, afterall that lady blogger was trying to save all of us from being hoodwinked by that false advert and in the process also taught a good lesson to all unscrupulous advertisers. Let them try again. :biggrin:

But this food beggar really disgraced himself by extorting free food.:oIo:
Now your particulars are all out, everybody know what sort of cheapo you are, which holes are you going to jump in ?Your 15 minutes of fame is going to haunt you for a long time and you deserved every bit of it because you were not only cheap but disgraceful as well. Chia pa ong chai is never easy. You have no substance too.

I am going to blog about cheebyes. Free cheebyes, anyone ? :biggrin::o

eQuipment

nowadays economy so jialat, until have to go & extort for free meals using food blogger as convenient excuse for bills to be waived.

then lidat, if we all say that we're political blogger, then we can enjoy the privileges of; tax waiver, free medical bills, free travel, priority usage of roads, military/police escorted excursions????

wahlaneh

wahlaneh...
want free food?
better dump that bugger in "changi holiday resort" lah everyday plenty of free food.:mad:

eQuipment

so, if we claim we r political blogger, maybe we will enjoy privileges such as; tax waiver, free medical coverage, free transport, free travel, military/police escorted excursions etc

if we claim we r sex blogger, maybe girls will start dropping their panties & giving us free sex?

SneeringTree

I am aware of the articles that have been circulating in my absence, regarding an accusation that I visited a restaurant and asked for a waiver on their meals. I would like to make certain clarifications here.

1. The Basis of Food tasting events
Food tastings in the Singapore food scene are regularly organized and non-obligatory events. Any food blogger who has been invited to one to sample delicacies of the particular restaurant will agree that it is akin to inviting someone into their house. According to the dictionary, an invitation is, “The act of inviting; solicitation; the requesting of a person’s company”.

2. Invitation to the restaurant
Story: The articles seemed to suggest that I paid the restaurant a visit on my own accord, that I walked into the restaurant and announced myself as a food blogger.
Fact: This is not true. I was invited to a food tasting session by Melanie, PR Manager for the Restaurant. The first invite came June 2nd. I was unable to make it then and it was not until Friday, August 20th that I scheduled the Sunday brunch. In the invite, i was told to bring a guest.

Story: I had informed the restaurant that as food blogger, I assumed that the bill for all 4 of us would be waived
Fact: Following up on the food tasting email, I had duly informed that there would be 3 accompanying guests on that very day. There were no claims or requests made for “free food” since it was a direct invitation to sample the items on the new menu. It was an oversight to assume to that no acknowledgement from Melanie about my 3 accompanying guests would mean that their meals would be on the house too.

4. Asking for waiver for myself and my dining partner
Story: It was reported that the restaurant had decided to “waive the fee” for me and my dining partner out of goodwill
Fact: This was an invitation to a food-tasting session. There is no hard and fast rule stating a plus one for a food tasting. However having attended previous food tastings before, I assumed that the meal would be, at the very least, on the house for myself and one dining partner. I was not expected to be billed for and then “waived” off from what was disguised as a “food tasting session”. When questioned, Melanie then cited this to be in-line with ‘industry standards’ of food tasting sessions: that the restaurant would only pay for my +1.

5. Asking for waiver for myself and my other guests
Story: I had informed the restaurant that I was a food blogger, therefore assuming that the bill for all 4 of us would be waived.
Fact: In truth, I had asked for no waiver. I paid for my other two companions. The bill for 2, inclusive of sparkling wine, came to $260. Out of goodwill, they did decide to waive the wine and I eventually paid $160 for 2.

6. My attitude towards the staff
Story: It was reported that I had said: “I always get free food wherever I go“.
Fact: This was never said. Nevertheless, I must admit the hostility while paying (I had tossed my credit card on the table) was uncalled for and I sincerely apologise.

An eye for an eye makes the world go blind. I would like to not point fingers at anyone – it was simply a case of miscommunication. When I dine out, I pay for my food like any regular consumer. When I am invited for food tasting sessions, it is a mutual understanding between the inviter and myself, that I would be attending as the identity of media for a possible food review.

I would like to urge all parties to view this situation objectively. I hope this post clarifies any misunderstanding that this might have caused.

http://www.ladyironchef.com/2010/08/24/truth/

Velma

I am aware of the articles that have been circulating in my absence, regarding an accusation that I visited a restaurant and asked for a waiver on their meals. I would like to make certain clarifications here.

1. The Basis of Food tasting events
Food tastings in the Singapore food scene are regularly organized and non-obligatory events. Any food blogger who has been invited to one to sample delicacies of the particular restaurant will agree that it is akin to inviting someone into their house. According to the dictionary, an invitation is, “The act of inviting; solicitation; the requesting of a person’s company”.

Story: The articles seemed to suggest that I paid the restaurant a visit on my own accord, that I walked into the restaurant and announced myself as a food blogger.
Fact: This is not true. I was invited to a food tasting session by Melanie, PR Manager for the Restaurant. The first invite came June 2nd. I was unable to make it then and it was not until Friday, August 20th that I scheduled the Sunday brunch. In the invite, i was told to bring a guest.

Story: I had informed the restaurant that as food blogger, I assumed that the bill for all 4 of us would be waived
Fact: Following up on the food tasting email, I had duly informed that there would be 3 accompanying guests on that very day. There were no claims or requests made for “free food” since it was a direct invitation to sample the items on the new menu. It was an oversight to assume to that no acknowledgement from Melanie about my 3 accompanying guests would mean that their meals would be on the house too.

4. Asking for waiver for myself and my dining partner
Story: It was reported that the restaurant had decided to “waive the fee” for me and my dining partner out of goodwill
Fact: This was an invitation to a food-tasting session. There is no hard and fast rule stating a plus one for a food tasting. However having attended previous food tastings before, I assumed that the meal would be, at the very least, on the house for myself and one dining partner. I was not expected to be billed for and then “waived” off from what was disguised as a “food tasting session”. When questioned, Melanie then cited this to be in-line with ‘industry standards’ of food tasting sessions: that the restaurant would only pay for my +1.

5. Asking for waiver for myself and my other guests
Story: I had informed the restaurant that I was a food blogger, therefore assuming that the bill for all 4 of us would be waived.
Fact: In truth, I had asked for no waiver. I paid for my other two companions. The bill for 2, inclusive of sparkling wine, came to $260. Out of goodwill, they did decide to waive the wine and I eventually paid $160 for 2.

6. My attitude towards the staff
Story: It was reported that I had said: “I always get free food wherever I go“.
Fact: This was never said. Nevertheless, I must admit the hostility while paying (I had tossed my credit card on the table) was uncalled for and I sincerely apologise.

An eye for an eye makes the world go blind. I would like to not point fingers at anyone – it was simply a case of miscommunication. When I dine out, I pay for my food like any regular consumer. When I am invited for food tasting sessions, it is a mutual understanding between the inviter and myself, that I would be attending as the identity of media for a possible food review.

I would like to urge all parties to view this situation objectively. I hope this post clarifies any misunderstanding that this might have caused.

http://www.ladyironchef.com/2010/08/24/truth/
Okay if he had really nothing to hide, why did he close down his own site then?

giggity_shit

His clarification only confirms his poor attitude.

The restaurants PR consultant should have made it clear to him that it would only waiver his cost plus one guest. But no excuse for acting as if he is a big TV star.

Balls2U

I think Wong Kei is the triad and all other restaurants have to pay them tribute, other wise how can they be so rude to customers, sell the food at such low price and with such big crowds. Other restaurants are really swarping flies.

Wong Kei's food may be slightly cheaper than the others, but it sucks! The staff are trained in Wing Chun and they practiced their kungfu upstairs at the rooftop. Once, an angmoh left quietly without paying, and I saw 3 to 4 fellows dashing out after him with poles and nanchakus. They came back a short while later cursing and swearing in Cantonese as they couldn't find that bloke! It was so comical!

((ladyboy chef : Story: I had informed the restaurant that as food blogger, I assumed that the bill for all 4 of us would be waived.))

this version would make more sense : Story: I had informed the restaurant that as food BEGGAR, I assumed that the bill for all 4 of us would be waived:biggrin:

ladyboy chef :

ppl invite u out of goodwill ask u to bring 1 more guest. u fucking gian prng gotta bring another 3 freeloaders :oIo::oIo:

moolightaffairs

CB KF Seetoh also talk cock, who dunno one have to pay $$$ to get his Makan Sutra cert. Even in his shows, he also never refuse when the owners give him free food or extra ingredients, pui!!! :oIo::oIo:

alamak! i missed your thread!!! seetoh contribute a lot to local food scene, especially those hawker food. he create awareness and try to preserve the good local hawker food culture here. makansutra rate the food with the help of makanmatas undercover like ampai! they dont identify themselves like the chao ah kuah ladyboychef. although later part he capitalise on it and even work with nea, stb and mha. but i think he is just like dick lee. who identify local culture, try to preserve it and create awareness even to overseas.

cooleo

Someone should post the hp number of this chao ah qua. When I bad mood i will call him and fuck him verbally. Heh not physically of course. I'm sure he will enjoy that instead.

moolightaffairs

I hate people who demand free thing. at this young age, he know what is good food?! I pui. Most Singaporean don't even know how to eat.

Even ieatishootipost head also swell. He went to Japan and complain Japanese never treat foreigner well (becos he kena from them)! WTF, I respect Japanese as to them. Their own race come 1st! guess this ieat guy will treat FT well better than Singaporean.

Both blogger are f*** up human being.

Here i found someone post his address in other forum. He lives in HDB only. PCBKia!

<b><span style="background: #000; color: #fff; line-height: 2em; padding: 0 10px;">Brad bradleyfk +65.96232581. Brad Lau Feng Kai Block 289D Bukit Batok Street 25 #13-170. Singapore,Singapore,SG 653289. Domain Name:ladyironchef.com<b>

licky, agree with you on that!!! last time only makansutra doing all the hard work collating data. then recent years suddenly so many self proclaim gourmet writing FR on food for their own bandwidth of fame!!! the so call food bloggers should wake up their ideas!!! they even like to rate those food!!! who are they to rate the food??? just need to say why its nice or bad good enough.

alamak! i missed your thread!!! seetoh contribute a lot to local food scene, especially those hawker food. he create awareness and try to preserve the good local hawker food culture here. makansutra rate the food with the help of makanmatas undercover like ampai! they dont identify themselves like the chao ah kuah ladyboychef. although later part he capitalise on it and even work with nea, stb and mha. but i think he is just like dick lee. who identify local culture, try to preserve it and create awareness even to overseas.
Oh please, i've know and worked with him when he's a photographer before he becomes a food critics. his million lawsuit with M1 was famous in our industry. Nobody engage him after that, he's definitely not a saint. :smile:

And you think he's not making money doing Makansutra?, dun be naive leh :biggrin::biggrin: