• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Geunine opinions please!

Solly ?? Lee, lu eh si lang tow ah !!:D

Go apply pasar malam license now ..... shoo ....:o

Sorrie hor..

after go apply pasar malam license, they check,

Wah!..kenna conviction before.

Still owe money and drivng license going to gey kantong with 23 points liao!

Even property agent license also fake one, suka suka self proclaim sell so many properties already!

And lastly not enough money to place deposit.

Sorries, pasar malam license not granted!:D

I used to be very good at Solaris Unix, did perl and admin. for data centre and ip messaging systems. I thought of getting into programming cos' one is my interest, two may be easier for me to migrate in future. I did BEng(Hons) EEE but did computers on my own. good hor!:o:D

Sun was brought up by Oracle, OpenSolaris is in a Shambles, same with Java, Perl is still needed but is more or less pass its prime, along with shell, unix scripts, awk, sed. Python seems to be the rage nowadays. No point saying what you did before, but how you can solve problems in an organisation. I'm not sure if its still true in Singapore, but a Unix admin, role is still very hard and not well sorted in Singapore. Microsoft Windows admin is pretty looked after when I was working back home. I suppose the FT policy changed that. You can migrate now, if you want to, don't have to wait a couple of years. I took the plunge and never went back. They don't test on your programming skills when you migrate, if you had bothered to find out.

I also have BEng(Hons) EEE plus BSci Comp sci plus Mcomm (Tech management). Other then Singapore, no one here bothers to look at what degree you have. They ask what you can do and help their department organisation. If you are really interested in programming why don't you pick up a MAC, which is based on BSD, and start writing some apps for the apple store? Objective C looks pretty interesting enough.

I am currently 36 years of age. I am a relief cab driver and part time property agent specialising in rental. I am also trying financial planning but Co. have some problems with my Credit bureau report,so KIV.

If you are me, what will you do:

1. focus on property

2. by all means get into financial planning

3. I still like technical work, the one that interest me the most is software programming and development. Shld I restart and get back to workforce and get this experience. Roughly ten years ago, I solely create a web based search engine for my university.

Please, tolong, genuine comments only! I know may be a malice to some of you but all your comments will affect my decision making.
thanks!:):o

I can't comment too much on option 1 since I am not too much into property by for option 3, U need to ask yourself how much you earn now and how much U are willing to give up

To start all over you are going to get very little pay as an inexperience programmer(something U did a decade ago isn't really going to count). Depending of what kind of programming job you get you maybe looking at a starting salary of just +/-$2K. Obviously you will get more as you make your way upwards(5K and above with a bit of luck and a few years experience). The question again is are you willing to take the risk.

okay, you mentioned 2k,so jia lat?:eek:

I will go back to engineering, stamp with confirmation!

And migrate! yu...hoo...:D

I can't comment too much on option 1 since I am not too much into property by for option 3, U need to ask yourself how much you earn now and how much U are willing to give up

To start all over you are going to get very little pay as an inexperience programmer(something U did a decade ago isn't really going to count). Depending of what kind of programming job you get you maybe looking at a starting salary of just +/-$2K. Obviously you will get more as you make your way upwards(5K and above with a bit of luck and a few years experience). The question again is are you willing to take the risk.

Please, tolong, genuine comments only! I know may be a malice to some of you but all your comments will affect my decision making.

maybe u can help Alamaking to look after his gay bar biz here while he go HK to scout for gay boys..;)

I am currently 36 years of age. I am a relief cab driver and part time property agent specialising in rental. I am also trying financial planning but Co. have some problems with my Credit bureau report,so KIV.

1. focus on property

3. I still like technical work, the one that interest me the most is software programming and development. Shld I restart and get back to workforce and get this experience. Roughly ten years ago, I solely create a web based search engine for my university.

You have plenty of bullshit. U hv said to have girlfriend problem so how to give good advice.

u have problem with credit bureau....better dun go into property or financial planning lah...

property agent they already tightening the industry...its more stringent now to eliminate those part-timers.

u drive taxi part time good what...freedom

go learn a skill - like plumbing or locksmith...easy money...,bcos not alot people want to get their hands dirty doing all these...nowadays all call for handymen...although abit 24/7 but hey...easy money...

open one lock easily can quote 100 - esp 3 am in the morning or public holiday....

1. focus on property

Pt 1: go for it. Now required exam and pass.You got e paper? I heard also need to accumulate certain number of hours spend on course to get yourself up-to-dates, you got or not ?
Pt 2: forget it but if it is for personal knowledge , why not. Our society not so forgiving with people having bad record ! As a property agent you should know when you advice client on loan application.
pt 3: university project is of little value ,moreover 10 years ago is as good as no experience now. IT is fast moving, out in 5 years -> end of game if no hand-on and keep up to date on it.
:D

Krafty, at 36 you're considered very young; in fact too young to even play the role James Bond. Pierre Brosnan at 50 is still very charming. Must know how to take care of yourself.

Don't be crazy and go into property now. I smell a bubble burst quite soon. It will be ugly.

Follow your heart and do what you like. Don't get a job in an industry because your friends are doing it. Or because the govt say it is the 'next big thing'. Or because you think it's going to be very profitable.

For example, if you're not the academic type, there's no point going back to school and get an MBA/CFA because everyone else is doing it.

Krafty, at 36 you're considered very young; in fact too young to even play the role James Bond. Pierre Brosnan at 50 is still very charming. Must know how to take care of yourself.

Don't insult Pierce. Krafty is at most the fatty limping Russian gangster in Goldeneyes. Pierce (as Bond) said, "Yeah, I remember, I put that limp there."

Roughly ten years ago, I solely create a web based search engine for my university.

Offence intended. But in your own words, your most notable achievement seem to be creating a search engine for your uni?

Better stick to driving more shifts la!

How about becoming a fengshui master? Go Taiwan, take up a 3 months course, come back can become "Master" Shifu" le. :eek:

Some make really good $$$!

1. focus on property

Priority should be given to what you like to do best. Nevertheless, no harm taking a job that you don't like, at the same time pursue something that you like as contingency plan - do it quietly unless you are certain your boss supported your dream. It is good to have stable income and side income. Nothing is stable nowadays so side income should provide something. Bear with it until PAP is voted out and Singaporeans take back our job and land.

How about becoming a fengshui master? Go Taiwan, take up a 3 months course, come back can become "Master" Shifu" le. :eek:

Some make really good $$$!

Interestingly that you mentioned, Cpt. Goh has gone for fengshui courses in Thailand, Hong Kong and Taiwan.