• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Geunine opinions please!

I am currently 36 years of age. I am a relief cab driver and part time property agent specialising in rental. I am also trying financial planning but Co. have some problems with my Credit bureau report,so KIV.

If you are me, what will you do:

1. focus on property

2. by all means get into financial planning

3. I still like technical work, the one that interest me the most is software programming and development. Shld I restart and get back to workforce and get this experience. Roughly ten years ago, I solely create a web based search engine for my university.

Please, tolong, genuine comments only! I know may be a malice to some of you but all your comments will affect my decision making.
thanks!:):o

Which University ? Templeton University ?

How could a professional as experienced as you are not doing what you do best ?

I am currently 36 years of age. I am a relief cab driver and part time property agent specialising in rental. I am also trying financial planning but Co. have some problems with my Credit bureau report,so KIV.

Please, tolong, genuine comments only! I know may be a malice to some of you but all your comments will affect my decision making.

trying and trying again. in the other thread u are trying to quit smoking.

your whole life can be sum up in " always trying, always failing, seldom succeeding. :cool:

my opinion : can show more balls and more determination in whatever u do:mad:

Ok,options 1-2 there are just too many people in the pie. Any Tom Dick or Hairy can do both. #3 sounds promising. Before you consider which is better, ask yourself first, which do you have more interest and then, which one you are likely to shine.

I am sure you already know the answer, just that you need another candle to affirm and illuminate your bearings. I am sure you will do well in whatever you choose to do if you put your heart and soul to it.

Jiayou!!!

If you are me, what will you do:

1. focus on property

2. by all means get into financial planning

3. I still like technical work, the one that interest me the most is software programming and development. Shld I restart and get back to workforce and get this experience. Roughly ten years ago, I solely create a web based search engine for my university.

If I were you.

I will shut the fuck up and refrain from telling the world about my woes.

I will definitely bow out from posting in any local or foreign forums.

In short...

GO KILL YOURSELF!:D

PM me with details of your technical background.

Given your profile, likes and dislikes, you can be a very successful panties vendor at a pasar malam ..... some more you worship what you sell ....:D

As long as he doesn't go for the

"Lu Zhan Lu Bai" method

Instead, always "Lu Bai Lu Zhan", never give up no matter how many times he fail.

For every great man or Einstein we have, there are millions of naysayers whose names
are engraved on graves that no one knows about. They lie forgotten for they have gave up trying.

The game is not over until the coffin lid is nailed shut. Even then, if you are a certain Hakka individual here in Singapore, you might still rise up aka House of the Dead style.

NO lah, what Templeton? If you recall reading from the news, one of the angmo in A star research HOD on cancer is from my university in UK.

Anyway, why i end up like that? the same story dated back to 5 years ago, kanna saboed by HO KUM HEAN from ST, kanna tekan by ISD, divorce proceedings, end up seeing psychiatrist...so on... blah...blah...That was the worst part of my life, i tried telling my friends and pple i trust about it, they all dun believe. Sibeh cham, the feeling of no one believing you is the worst.:(

Which University ? Templeton University ?

How could a professional as experienced as you are not doing what you do best ?

dun force me to fuck you up! you will be sorry.

Given your profile, likes and dislikes, you can be a very successful panties vendor at a pasar malam ..... some more you worship what you sell ....:D

NO lah, what Templeton? If you recall reading from the news, one of the angmo in A star research HOD on cancer is from my university in UK.

Anyway, why i end up like that? the same story dated back to 5 years ago, kanna saboed by HO KUM HEAN from ST, kanna tekan by ISD, divorce proceedings, end up seeing psychiatrist...so on... blah...blah...That was the worst part of my life, i tried telling my friends and pple i trust about it, they all dun believe. Sibeh cham, the feeling of no one believing you is the worst.:(

What University is that ?

You should do something you have a passion about. Not just pick up anything that you think you can earn a quick buck with. Having said that, you should also assess what exactly you are passionate about. You mentioned software engineering, and say you want to go back. If you are really passionate about it you won't have a problem going back and keep up with the latest news about it. Do you have these knowledge? Have been keeping up? Or are you just saying it because you used to be good at it? Being good at something doesn't necessarily means you are passionate about it. Without passion you won't be able to keep up hence once being good, doesn't mean you would be good at it in the future. You also need to find a job/work/environment that helps you with your passion. Software engineering is a very diverse field. It is not just about programming. Even with programming there are such a big field of languages you can acquire and know about. I started as a software developer and gradually found programming to be boring. I still code, but in my current role its more about using the right language to solve the current problem. I usually get consulted by higher-ups about OSes, APIs, Systems on what needs to be done and evaluated. For me, Software engineering where you solve the problems associated is the passion I have found. I don't even need to type in a single line of code most of time and just suggest, explain the difference across hardware, OS, APIs to the developers and what they need to do. Its very fulfilling when they could solve their problems and come to me the next time with a harder one.

I went overseas to fulfill this passion in a way. I realised after a couple of years working back home that software development is very different from overseas. I was posted in the states for a couple of months once. It is not that Singaporeans are not good at software development, but the work/culture environment does not suit me as an individual. I have not regretted leaving the shores. Maybe a change of environment would help you in deciding what you need to do next. Sometimes having an environment that suits you would give you a better direction for the future.

Equalisation,

Krafty pasar malam application got rejected because of bad credit bureau record and former piracy of porno VCD record.

Equalisation,

Krafty pasar malam application got rejected because of bad credit bureau record and former piracy of porno VCD record.

Gosh ..... if like this, he then has to apply for a job at Parfums Internationale .....:eek:

I used to be very good at Solaris Unix, did perl and admin. for data centre and ip messaging systems. I thought of getting into programming cos' one is my interest, two may be easier for me to migrate in future. I did BEng(Hons) EEE but did computers on my own. good hor!:o:D

You should do something you have a passion about. Not just pick up anything that you think you can earn a quick buck with. Having said that, you should also assess what exactly you are passionate about. You mentioned software engineering, and say you want to go back. If you are really passionate about it you won't have a problem going back and keep up with the latest news about it. Do you have these knowledge? Have been keeping up? Or are you just saying it because you used to be good at it? Being good at something doesn't necessarily means you are passionate about it. Without passion you won't be able to keep up hence once being good, doesn't mean you would be good at it in the future. You also need to find a job/work/environment that helps you with your passion. Software engineering is a very diverse field. It is not just about programming. Even with programming there are such a big field of languages you can acquire and know about. I started as a software developer and gradually found programming to be boring. I still code, but in my current role its more about using the right language to solve the current problem. I usually get consulted by higher-ups about OSes, APIs, Systems on what needs to be done and evaluated. For me, Software engineering where you solve the problems associated is the passion I have found. I don't even need to type in a single line of code most of time and just suggest, explain the difference across hardware, OS, APIs to the developers and what they need to do. Its very fulfilling when they could solve their problems and come to me the next time with a harder one.

I went overseas to fulfill this passion in a way. I realised after a couple of years working back home that software development is very different from overseas. I was posted in the states for a couple of months once. It is not that Singaporeans are not good at software development, but the work/culture environment does not suit me as an individual. I have not regretted leaving the shores. Maybe a change of environment would help you in deciding what you need to do next. Sometimes having an environment that suits you would give you a better direction for the future.

ya, you are right! I think i will go for what I like. thanks!

Ok,options 1-2 there are just too many people in the pie. Any Tom Dick or Hairy can do both. #3 sounds promising. Before you consider which is better, ask yourself first, which do you have more interest and then, which one you are likely to shine.

I am sure you already know the answer, just that you need another candle to affirm and illuminate your bearings. I am sure you will do well in whatever you choose to do if you put your heart and soul to it.

Jiayou!!!