• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

To all Sinkies who make the same mistake every 5 years and hope for a different outcome.

You are aware we can all just ballot for a car like balloting for a HDB, right? It is equitable as not out of reach with bidding a coe so high by AD.
You don't even need to ballot. In any European or American city or Chinese or Japanese city you just walk into a showroom and plonk down $25k for a Toyota Corolla.

Of course, balloting is still preferable to the COE system.

You don't even need to ballot. In any European or American city or Chinese or Japanese city you just walk into a showroom and plonk down $25k for a Toyota Corolla.

Of course, balloting is still preferable to the COE system.
What do we have here?

Oh the village idiot mouthing off when he obviously didn’t know what he’s talking about. Why don’t you tell me more about Zurich and their high car ownership rate! Lol

What do we have here?

Oh the village idiot mouthing off when he obviously didn’t know what he’s talking about. Why don’t you tell me more about Zurich and their high car ownership rate! Lol
LIsten, moron, it's better to keep your mouth shut and look stupid than open your mouth and confirm it. Tell me more about how voting for another party won't change things but voting for your beloved PAP will. Maybe one day you'll buy your car. NOT. LOL.

Oh u are not only an incorrigible liar, you are also illiterate. Pull out the evidence where I explicitly say voting for PAP will change things. Lol... if you can't, it means u are a fucking hardcore liar who happens to be an idiot as well.

I know u don't own a car, cos u talk like a fucking peasant. Buy a car, then take mrt if the mrt system is 'worldclass'? Lol... that's what a loser without a car will say or think!

Oh u are not only an incorrigible liar, you are also illiterate. Pull out the evidence where I explicitly say voting for PAP will change things. Lol... if you can't, it means u are a fucking hardcore liar who happens to be an idiot as well.

I know u don't own a car, cos u talk like a fucking peasant. Buy a car, then take mrt if the mrt system is 'worldclass'? Lol... that's what a loser without a car will say or think!
This is my final attempt at illuminating an imbecile, a well nigh impossible task by any measure.

First, check the dictionary and learn to differentiate between ownership and usage.

Next, owning a car doesn't mean you have to drive it every day. Just like owning a Rolex doesn't mean that you have to wear it daily and you can't wear a Casio to the gym. A car gives you options between your own private transport and various forms of public transport, to choose whichever is more convenient or hassle-free depending on time of day, destination, purpose of trip, route accessibility. (And a world-class MRT definitely offers another viable option.) Not having a car limits your options. Just so, owning a sailboat gives me the option to sail to Phuket, if I have the time, or fly, if I don't.

I know that it's difficult for you to fathom why options matter to our quality of life, given that you own neither car nor boat, and your two brain cells are occupying all the space between your ears.

This is my final attempt at illuminating an imbecile, a well nigh impossible task by any measure.

First, check the dictionary and learn to differentiate between ownership and usage.

Next, owning a car doesn't mean you have to drive it every day. Just like owning a Rolex doesn't mean that you have to wear it daily and you can't wear a Casio to the gym. A car gives you options between your own private transport and various forms of public transport, to choose whichever is more convenient or hassle-free depending on time of day, destination, purpose of trip, route accessibility. (And a world-class MRT definitely offers another viable option.) Not having a car limits your options. Just so, owning a sailboat gives me the option to sail to Phuket, if I have the time, or fly, if I don't.

I know that it's difficult for you to fathom why options matter to our quality of life, given that you own neither car nor boat, and your two brain cells are occupying all the space between your ears.
You live in Singapore. What kind of fucking idiot will own a car, but decide to take mrt because it’s ‘worldclass’? Singapore is not a vast country where you have to take the train to a deserted countryside. Haha

Off the top of my head, a couple of real life examples. Going to a building in the CBD where parking is scarce, I'd take the train if there was a station just a 10 min walk away from my home. Another example: a neighbour of mine (who has a car) takes an MRT daily to work in the CBD (he's a remisier) because it's faster than driving through rush-hour traffic jams: he actually timed it and found that taking the train was 20 min faster.

Would you rather live in country where you can own cars but where the public transport is fucked up, or one where you can choose between driving and boarding a world-class subway? No-brainer, right?

But in Singapore, you can't own a car unless you're rich, and the MRT sucks big-time - inadequate coverage, frequent breakdowns, only 6 operating lines.

Well, changing the ruling political party may address the issues you mentioned, if the new party is focussed on improving the lives of the masses, reducing the wealth gap and cost of living, instead of obssessing about GDP growth and funnelling wealth to the top 1%:
- dismantling the COE system in favor of a more equitable car ownership system
- instituting minimal wage and legislating that jobs go to locals first unless a foreigner has skillsets licals lack
- greater freedom of speech and association, separation of powers and safeguards to prevent the abuse of POFMA and defamation suits for political purposes
- putting a top limit on immigration growth and implenenting genuinely effective measures to boost native fertility rate

All the above is not a pipedream; they are already in place - in one form or another - in many advanced European nations with far better quality of living than us.
U need to consider there may be diminishing returns on narrowing wealth gap mah

World class Smart citizen loh

Off the top of my head, a couple of real life examples. Going to a building in the CBD where parking is scarce, I'd take the train if there was a station just a 10 min walk away from my home. Another example: a neighbour of mine (who has a car) takes an MRT daily to work in the CBD (he's a remisier) because it's faster than driving through rush-hour traffic jams: he actually timed it and found that taking the train was 20 min faster.

Would you rather live in country where you can own cars but where the public transport is fucked up, or one where you can choose between driving and boarding a world-class subway? No-brainer, right?

But in Singapore, you can't own a car unless you're rich, and the MRT sucks big-time - inadequate coverage, frequent breakdowns, only 6 operating lines.
If MRT so good, Ah Wong, Ah Siao and Ah Loong should be taking it everyday Mah, right?

Lead by example, u know?

You are aware we can all just ballot for a car like balloting for a HDB, right? It is equitable as not out of reach with bidding a coe so high by AD.
The right to buy a home and car when these items are in high demand and the supply is limited by our small land size, would in all fairness, boil down to affordability. After all, we have to cut our coat in accordance to the amount of cloth that we are able to afford.

Govt is supposed to allocate fairly our limited resources to all sinkies, not allow speculation. The land can be sold off to highest bidder and to NC, so the car allocation certificate is sold to highest bidder. It is definitely not fair to all sinkies.

The govt opines that a car is not a basic right or a necessity in a small city with a public transport network. The resource being allocated isn't the car, but road space. Since road space is limited, the govt uses the COE as a market pricing mechanism that rations it.

In a scenario where the rich S'porean and a poorer one have the same chance to ballot for a COE, if the high SES individual wins, he gets to buy a cheap car. If a low SES person wins, he will probably flip the certificate for profit, or buy a car he cannot afford to maintain.

The govt opines that a car is not a basic right or a necessity in a small city with a public transport network. The resource being allocated isn't the car, but road space. Since road space is limited, the govt uses the COE as a market pricing mechanism that rations it.
Why is a car not a necessity? Sinkies really kenna brain-washed deeply. A ferrari is not a necessity, it is a luxury. Luxury should be taxed higher to bring equity to income, not tax the same for bread & butter car hitting all families that have need for convenience.

It is difficult to put a price on convenience and comfort, so I am prepared to pay for both while owning a car. However, if the govt subsidises or lowers the barrier for entry-level cars so that every middle-class family may afford one, the number of vehicles on the road would result in SG becoming one big carpark. A traffic jam caused by 100,000 Hyundai cars slows down traffic as much as a jam caused by 100,000 Rolls Royces.