• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mobile Food Sellers of Yesteryear

anyone remember the real ponggol seafood by the sea? and the seafood restaurant at pulau ubin facing malaysia? i think even tourism board and sia went there to take pic for calendar. i remember having a calendar during that time with the seafood restaurant pic at ubin from sia.

QUOTE]

Actually, there are several seafood restaurants at punggol. All located around the pier/jetty. Which one are u referring to? They all taste about the same anyway. Every one orders the same dishes when they are there. Tua Tow, chilli crab with the french loti, fried baby squid with the sweet sauce, etc. There was a big competition in those days between the east coast seafood restaurants and the punggol seafood restaurants. Some swear the east coast is the best. SOme say punggol. But even though I live on the east coast, I will drive all the way to Punggol. :D

getImage.jsp

The Heeren Building at the junction of Carnhill Road and orchard road
(LATE 1980S)​

Actually, there are several seafood restaurants at punggol. All located around the pier/jetty. Which one are u referring to? They all taste about the same anyway. Every one orders the same dishes when they are there. Tua Tow, chilli crab with the french loti, fried baby squid with the sweet sauce, etc. There was a big competition in those days between the east coast seafood restaurants and the punggol seafood restaurants. Some swear the east coast is the best. SOme say punggol. But even though I live on the east coast, I will drive all the way to Punggol. :D

how about the one at ubin facing malaysia? i think the restaurant was evacuate by SLA and the plot of land still empty now.

The picture of this building is really old. Back then there was a large parking lot at the back Eventually this building was demolished to make way for the new Shaw centre.

It was demolished around the same time that they were building the Tropicana at the back, now the site of Pacific Plaza.

Initially Lido & Shaw Centre were separate but they demolished the old theatre & replaced it with an annex to Shaw Centre

I remember a road between Lido Theatre & Shaw House that went to the back of Lido Theatre(actually to the front) were you got the cheaper front tickets. In those days there were 3 types of tickets. Most expensive were the circle(upstairs), standard(ground floor at the back) & cheap front seats.

There was a cafe next to the front entrance called Mayfair. Believe me it sold very, very good hot dogs. I've never tasted anything better. You would always see crowds buying these hotdogs & they were not cheap. I heard that the owner managed to buy several private properties from selling the hot dogs :eek:

After reading about how the owner of Troika retired to Australia got me thinking of how good Spore was in the old days. Small businesses could thrive & make enough to buy properties. Even the hawkers did well.

Sad that nowadays you see alot of hawkers & cafes struggling to pay their rent. Many have to compromise on portions & quality of their food. The end of the so called food paradise :(

I remember there is a malay barber in one of the alley leading to the current Emerald Hill(Peranakan place),ever went there for hair cut in the early eighties...

Probably the Copper Kettle, as I remember they had nice pizza,

Thanks man! COPPER KETTLE it was....their pizza ( can we say, home made) is lot better than any of Pizza's Hut or any Pizza's joints out there....;)

One of the Punggol End seafood operator is Kheng Luck ....

Later they even moved to the redeveloped East Coast Parkway seafood cluster near the lagoon...

Kheng Luck, Palm Beach, Long Beach, Hua Yuan something, The Red House (& all those old Upper East Coast seafood restaurants ....

All roughly the same menu ... but each have their own supporters.
getImage.jsp

Beethoven's Music is on the left of the picture...I think it was mee siam mai hum favourite music store...:D

Actually, it boiled down to three only, 2 on yr left and the other on the right as you are driving into the point. Choon Seng moved to the Ponggol marina (dunno if it's still there). Ponggol seafood moved to Hougang Mall then moved out to where I dunno.

Now, the point is a small deserted bus terminus for service #82. There's a police post there. The jetty is still there. The kampong on the beach has been cleared and it's all sand now.

Actually, there are several seafood restaurants at punggol. All located around the pier/jetty.

One of the Punggol End seafood operator is Kheng Luck ....

Later they even moved to the redeveloped East Coast Parkway seafood cluster near the lagoon...

Kheng Luck, Palm Beach, Long Beach, Hua Yuan something, The Red House (& all those old Upper East Coast seafood restaurants ....

All roughly the same menu ... but each have their own supporters.
getImage.jsp

I ate at all those before. Long Beach was good. I remember they were in an old mansion next to the Lion restaurant. Chairs set up on the outside in the sand. Yum yum. Actually, come to think of it, Kheng Luck and Palm beach were also good. I am such a glutton:D

Thanks man! COPPER KETTLE it was....their pizza ( can we say, home made) is lot better than any of Pizza's Hut or any Pizza's joints out there....;)

If anyone out there knows how to make them that good I'll buy them from you :D

bro halsey, kusu festival we have here is authentically uniquely sinagapore! it even have pilgrims from as far as hong kong and taiwan during that time! pilgrims from malaysia and indonesia needless to say also alot! normal weekdays will have around 10 to 20k. weekends ever hit 100k! you can imagine what kind of impact it has for tourism! i was with the marine police during that time, it was chaotic but fun. that temple is 100 over yrs old, the owner was an old lady who passed away last year. now the son is taking care of the place. sentosa ever tried to take over the temple and even went to court. but the court rule in favour of the owner and the owner got to keep the temple.

KUSU...was a must avoid the bus stop/taxi stand/over head bridge during the festival month...:D

We had many of this uniquely SINgapore...which GREED overtook sensibility.........:p

In the 80s, after M'sia Cup games, go over to Leisuredrome, there is a Palm Beach Restaurant there that expanded from 1 to 2 floors ....
the usual order:
chilli / black-peppered crabs , mee goreng, fried kangkong, fried fritters, baby Squid .....

Leisuredrome in the old days very shiok place ....
got ice-skating rink
got cinema
got Leisure health Centre hee hee hee got many angpai u know :D
got bowling
got seafood restaurant...

One of the Punggol End seafood operator is Kheng Luck ....Later they even moved to the redeveloped East Coast Parkway seafood cluster near the lagoon...Kheng Luck, Palm Beach, Long Beach, Hua Yuan something, The Red House (& all those old Upper East Coast seafood restaurants ....All roughly the same menu ... but each have their own supporters.
QUOTE]

We are all gluttons, I could safely say, I have eaten in all of them, where they were orginally located..it was the thereafter that I had stopped...;)

I remember there is a malay barber in one of the alley leading to the current Emerald Hill(Peranakan place),ever went there for hair cut in the early eighties...

I remember Sri Dewa - is that it?

In the 80s, after M'sia Cup games, go over to Leisuredrome, there is a Palm Beach Restaurant there that expanded from 1 to 2 floors ....
the usual order:
chilli / black-peppered crabs , mee goreng, fried kangkong, fried fritters, baby Squid .....

Leisuredrome in the old days very shiok place ....
got ice-skating rink
got cinema
got Leisure health Centre hee hee hee got many angpai u know :D
got bowling
got seafood restaurant...

Oh yeah, I forgot the mee goreng. How come chinese sea food restaurants can do mee goreng so well? Don't forget the Tua Tow mussels. :D

One of the Punggol End seafood operator is Kheng Luck ....Later they even moved to the redeveloped East Coast Parkway seafood cluster near the lagoon...Kheng Luck, Palm Beach, Long Beach, Hua Yuan something, The Red House (& all those old Upper East Coast seafood restaurants ....All roughly the same menu ... but each have their own supporters.
QUOTE]

We are all gluttons, I could safely say, I have eaten in all of them, where they were orginally located..it was the thereafter that I had stopped...;)

Now, I think the closest to this is Leiyumun in HK.