• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mobile Food Sellers of Yesteryear

THE OLD AND THE NEW LIE SIDE BY SIDE IN CHINATOWN. BUT SOON THE OLD TWO-STOREY SHOPHOUSES WILL GIVE WAY TO MODERN HIGHRISE BUILDINGS. THIS AREA, BOUNDED BY SMITH STREET, SAGO STREET, SAGO LANE AND NEW BRIDGE ROAD IS BEING CHANGED BY URBAN REDEVELOPMENT. DEATH HOUSES LINING SAGO LANE, OLD HAWKER STALLS IN SAGO STREET, MARKETS IN SMITH STREET AND OTHER ALLEYWAYS WILL SOON BE HISTORY AS THE AREA, ALONG WITH THE REST OF CHINATOWN

circa oct 1975......

getImage.jsp

okie, kingrant, back to food place....... my favourite Rasa Singapura (in the 80s) ........

Lau Goh Carrot Cake, The best orginal Indian Rojak from near SJI ( Bras Basah), The original Chee Cheong Fun with prawns or mushrooms ( can we say the orginator), Kueh pati/popiah...the sugar cane juice...

Who can forget Rasa Singaura...was sad it had to give way to progress...it kept eating in Orchard Rd/Tanglin area AFFORDABLE, back then we still have Taman Serasi at Botanic Gardens...the satays, mee siam, the dry noodle stall, the famous "ang moh lew lian' drink ( the original not imitator) aka Soursop drink...

All at AFFORDABLE price for us who have to frequent Orchard Rd for entertainment...

:D

THE OLD AND THE NEW LIE SIDE BY SIDE IN CHINATOWN. BUT SOON THE OLD TWO-STOREY SHOPHOUSES WILL GIVE WAY TO MODERN HIGHRISE BUILDINGS. THIS AREA, BOUNDED BY SMITH STREET, SAGO STREET, SAGO LANE AND NEW BRIDGE ROAD IS BEING CHANGED BY URBAN REDEVELOPMENT. DEATH HOUSES LINING SAGO LANE, OLD HAWKER STALLS IN SAGO STREET, MARKETS IN SMITH STREET AND OTHER ALLEYWAYS WILL SOON BE HISTORY AS THE AREA, ALONG WITH THE REST OF CHINATOWN

circa oct 1975......

QUOTE]

That hole became Chian town Hawkers plus wet market complex...to house all those who ply by the streets...

Sago Lane ( Sai Yen Kai) where all the funeral parlours were, was demolished and left empty for years, until I understand why they built the Budha Tooth Temple over that space...ying/yang balance...any other business, I guess it would be bad karmafor those who believe in it...;)

Good pictures of the Dhoby Ghaut corner but the pictures are from different years.

The 1st picure showa the Sandoz billboard. What you don't see is that it lights up showing the time,. :) Traffic is shown as going 2 way, latter it became 1 way traffic as we know it today.

The British Council library moved to the Cathay Building, then to the Rubber House at Raffles.

I had forgotten British Council at that part of Orchard, I frequented it when it was at Cathay & then later Rubber House, which became Shell right?

Do people today stilluses British Council???

I had forgotten British Council at that part of Orchard, I frequented it when it was at Cathay & then later Rubber House, which became Shell right?

Do people today stilluses British Council???

Same here, only started going to the BC when it was conveniently located at Cathay building.

I only remember going to Rubber House(Shell) once. Unfortunately its history now, a victim of progress. Its where Hitachi building is now standing.

I think the youth of today are just too busy to go to libraries like the USIS(US) or Brit Council unless they are looking for info on univeties. I do . Remember seeing the USIS at top floor of MPH at Stamford Rd.

Frequented Tay Ban Guan when it was first opened, until it closed down, though I do not live in that part of Spore!. I know that belt well..all the makan stalls.....

There was a supermarket at the new wing...Cold Storage I think..and a fish aquarium shop, where I once bought an African fish..that grew & grew & ate all my 'barbs' collection in my tank..that was not so far back...the place now stand a CONDO..

I remember Red House very well, tha cakes etc...and the OLD WEIGHING MACHINE...

Thanks Postnew for those photos..

yes bro, the cold storage still operate till recent years until the developer erect a condo "the sea view" there. actually on the same site, there was a hotel call the sea view hotel right?

yes, the row of riverside hawker stalls were behind maybank, bank of china, stanchart & UOB building ....

People remember this mega amusement park at Kallang called WONDERLAND ? All the ferris wheel, swirling Ovaltine Cup seats, wham-bam dodge cars ....
I last went there in 1986 as part of NUS Night Tour visit .....

getImage.jsp

This may be a long shot and abit OT; do anyone of you still happen to be in possession of the sliver grey trangular plastic spaceship piggy bank issued by Standchart in the 70s'?

I last went there in 1986 as part of NUS Night Tour visit .....

Surprised Wonderland survived until 1986. I remember going there when it 1st open and a few years later in the 70's

When it first opened it was a madhouse, very packed & crowded. On later visits it was very quiet. Back then it wasn't that easy to get to the National stadium unless you had your own transport.

I think Universal will face the same problems. People want to see change they won't want to see the same things.

1970, Cold Storage Orchard Road
getImage.jsp

1971 Orchard Road Carpark Hawker
getImage.jsp

Leong Kee Bak Kut Teh is still around, isn't it?
Is the same as the one in Geylang now?
Wow, since 1971.

Hollywood Theatre , Tanjong Katong is now Seng Shiong.

getImage.jsp

okie, kingrant, back to food place....... my favourite Rasa Singapura (in the 80s) ........

Lau Goh Carrot Cake, The best orginal Indian Rojak from near SJI ( Bras Basah), The original Chee Cheong Fun with prawns or mushrooms ( can we say the orginator), Kueh pati/popiah...the sugar cane juice...

Who can forget Rasa Singaura...was sad it had to give way to progress...it kept eating in Orchard Rd/Tanglin area AFFORDABLE, back then we still have Taman Serasi at Botanic Gardens...the satays, mee siam, the dry noodle stall, the famous "ang moh lew lian' drink ( the original not imitator) aka Soursop drink...

All at AFFORDABLE price for us who have to frequent Orchard Rd for entertainment...

:D

OMG, Rasa Singapura. LOL. The O Chian (Oyster omelette) there was the best. ALways a long line up for it.

circa oct 1975......

getImage.jsp

They should not have tore down those old shop houses. They could have remodeled them, and they would have retained the original flavour fo the place. High rise, u can find anywhere in S'pore. Who ever was in charge of NAtional development in those days should be dead. Oops, he is dead. Teh Chean Wan.

This may be a long shot and abit OT; do anyone of you still happen to be in possession of the sliver grey trangular plastic spaceship piggy bank issued by Standchart in the 70s'?

Used to have them, including the Donald Duck, Mickey Mouse, Dumbo & one Mickey Mouse from Standard Chartered Bank HK..plus my first copper made safe from Chung Khiaw Bank ( Tiong Bahru Branch)...sigh! you remind me, lost in a box during house moving...:mad:

yes, the row of riverside hawker stalls were behind maybank, bank of china, stanchart & UOB building ....

It was Chartred Bank....and a row of shop houses in between that include Marican & sons...before it became SCB...the hawkers were there already...

Just to name a few, the char kway teow, the wanton noodle with the plump daughter ( they moved to Cairnhill hawker centre), the sugar cane juice, the cut fruit store, hor fun store...the Indian Muslim Food Corner that becomes a colourful bood bazaar during Ramandan....

sure beats eating at air-conditioned food court, that is expensive & have souless foods...:p