• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mobile Food Sellers of Yesteryear

1963, Beach Road, making a political statement.
getImage.jsp

1969, Demolition of the old Alhambra at Beach Rd. The Alhambra was the pride of early cinemagoers of the silent films.
getImage.jsp

If Goh Meng Seng was to stand there at the corner of that same building ( assuming it is still there, is it?), wearing a T shirt that says HDB SUCKS!....you bet 5 'ang chia', three polize cars will arrive in no less than 15 minutes...

what make political statement.... today!!:D

If Goh Meng Seng was to stand there at the corner of that same building ( assuming it is still there, is it?), wearing a T shirt that says HDB SUCKS!....you bet 5 'ang chia', three polize cars will arrive in no less than 15 minutes...

what make political statement.... today!!:D

Police red bus won't dare go near him. They'd call in the commando and bomb disposal units. It's plain silly to send riot police against an army captain who's trained in explosives and protesting. They're no that silly, are they? And they trained him themselves, they should know better.

Kellar Piano at the corner ! behind is the open canal ....

Amber Arcade was like a walled city to me as a kid passing by in my Dad's car, I remember the Ford car showrooms at that plot above Dhoby Gaut MRT station .....

I love old photos .... they kind of jolt you because you are so used to the changed landscape now then suddenly something deep inside your memory bank leapt to the forefront ... oh yeah ! So much has been forgotten ...

Next best thing to time travel in a fictitious Time Machine :cool:

Oh, yes, the riverside hawker stalls behind Bank of China .... those food stalls & food quality all have character unlike the expensive, bland, mass produced offerings at the foodcourts these days .....

Police red bus won't dare go near him. They'd call in the commando and bomb disposal units. It's plain silly to send riot police against an army captain who's trained in explosives and protesting. They're no that silly, are they? And they trained him themselves, they should know better.

But all he got is a 'water psitola' brother!..how dangerous can that be?, the most the squirting would be less than 50m...

What a waste of manpower...:D

Picture must have been taken from the then Supreme House??

Plaza Singapura on the left. The soon to be demolished buidings in the foreground where today DhobyGhaut MRT station stands.

getImage.jsp
[/QUOTE]

Tram buses and overhead tram lines!!! Any bros could post them will be fantastic! Those will be awesome for our children and younger sbf bros to see!

Good pictures of the Dhoby Ghaut corner but the pictures are from different years.

The 1st picure showa the Sandoz billboard. What you don't see is that it lights up showing the time,. :) Traffic is shown as going 2 way, latter it became 1 way traffic as we know it today.

The British Council library moved to the Cathay Building, then to the Rubber House at Raffles.

But all he got is a 'water psitola' brother!..how dangerous can that be?, the most the squirting would be less than 50m...

What a waste of manpower...:D

You wouldn't believe his personal armoury builtup over the years. But of course, I can't tell you what's in stock. Beach Road suppliers would've been shocked.

V as in V For Vendetta gave a very reasonable reason why he has so much armament. Accumulated over 20 years.

The Terrorist's act by the Indonesian's military?...the bombing of MacDonald's house...psst not macDonald Rest...

Heard that some HSBC staff would see strange things, a ghost of the girl who was killed :confused:

Now that its a Citibank the ghost must have been retrenched :)

Tram buses and overhead tram lines!!! Any bros could post them will be fantastic! Those will be awesome for our children and younger sbf bros to see!

Have heard of these tram lines but never seen. I don't think anyone in this forum is that old :D

Ah King, you must be more than 60 years old!

1950's, Street junction of Upper Cross Street and Eu Tong Sen Steet with the electric tram in the middle of the road.
getImage.jsp

As per your request, kingrant.....

getImage.jsp

STREET JUNCTION OF UPPER CROSS STREET AND EU TONG SEN STREET WITH THE ELECTRIC TRAM IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD(1950S)

Must buy 4D, chose the same pix as bro postnew.... so another one now...

getImage.jsp

SOUTH BRIDGE ROAD, SHOWING THE POLICE COURT (ON THE RIGHT) AND CENTRAL POLICE STATION (ON THE LEFT). ALSO SEEN, IS AN ELECTRIC TRAM.

Dedicated to GMS, Dr Lee Siew Choh at election rally GE'76 Toa Payoh Lor 1...

getImage.jsp

Have heard of these tram lines but never seen. I don't think anyone in this forum is that old :D

I had seen the tram lines...not the trams..the junction where Islamic Resturant Is was called in Catonese " Din Chair Wan"...Electric Tram turnaround...

:D

Heard that some HSBC staff would see strange things, a ghost of the girl who was killed :confused:

Now that its a Citibank the ghost must have been retrenched :)

There was no Citibank way back then...it was known as Hong Kong Shanghai Banking Corporation or "wei fong" in Chinese...so the ghost must be lost!:D

It was Eastern Bank, ABN Bank, Chartered Bank, Chung Khiaw Bank, Overseas Union Bank...Post Office Savings Bank....

okie, kingrant, back to food place....... my favourite Rasa Singapura (in the 80s) ........

getImage.jsp