Chitchat Why amdk cyclists here very fast?

haha. at one point went to school in Oz. Thought I was damn sat in sinkieland. Even the underexercised fatty kid in this class kicked my butt. It took me some years to figure out why.

But another story first. One day decided to play soccer with this black guy in university. Nothing special. Not an athlete, but a total geek. Spent all his spare time doing Chinese calligraphy. After playing with him decided to give up soccer for good. This least athletic black guy outran everybody! Wherever the ball goes even if you got a few metres on him, you can forget it. he will get there before you. And once he got the ball and started running, you can forget about catching him. No need to play at all. He was the only guy who got to the ball. I pretty much gave up after that.

Last story. Once decided to have an impromptu race with an angmoh female. Tried my best and still lost. After this final humiliation, I just gave up.

Thing I figured out is that in physical terms, we really do have deficient genes. No lung capacity, no exercise tolerance, etc, etc. ang mohs were built for endurance. Hence swimming dominance. blacks for speed, hence running dominance. Chinese were built to study. Hence exam dominance.

Can go and find those mixed breed with angmoh blood will prove the point. Their exercise tolerance kick any purebred Chinese any day.

Can share more stories of what else sinkies suck at?pretty damn sure it's not just sports.......sinkie coolie and farmers are only good at being hard working and repetitive things things that they do a thousand times or spend a thousand hours doing over and over.

Average speed is typically about 5kmh lower that rolling speed. Also Singapore terrain is as flat as it can be. The Tour de France routes are full of hills. So those guys who average 41.65kmh in Tour de France can easily roll above 50 kmh on Singapore roads.
There are time trials, they race flat routes too. On hills, speed can go more than 100kmh going down.

Your average speed of 35 to 40 kmh is pure bullshit! A red light or 2 would see to that! Unless, you ride for 20 minutes along changi coast road with no traffic.

There are time trials, they race flat routes too. On hills, speed can go more than 100kmh going down.

Your average speed of 35 to 40 kmh is pure bullshit! A red light or 2 would see to that! Unless, you ride for 20 minutes along changi coast road with no traffic.

I believe you never heard of Long house 5am ride, and the group call crazie. You must be very new to the scene. try meet at long house 5am on weekend, take my words based on what you say you cannot even follow them up to mandai.

If you can follow them all the way to the end of west coast highway (pack 2, not even the pack 1 crazie group), then you look at your average speed. confirm above 35

Anyone who are regular road cyclists here will agree with me. Since covid cb this year I dusted off my old colnago from the store room and became a Mamil. Wherever I am, whether at mandai, Changi coast road or jalan bahar, the amdk cyclists group will always overtake everyone else with ease.
Even their fatties and women ride fast and can chit chat happily while doing so. I see our local cyclists also have the same gear, same style, but cannot catch up. Sometimes I think MOM ask the angmos for their cycling speed and competitive record before issuing them work passes to come here.
Nothing surprising about hard driving ang moh over taking idyllic asiatics. :cool:

No lah, the slow ones are left behind in their own countries so no surprise there. :laugh:

can see peloton on aye friday mornings before dawn racing towards to jurong port road and jalan boon lay (i believe they are headed towards jurong island highway as their end point) and some continue on aye towards tuas. these group easily clocks 36.9 kmh as my limousine passes them. i'm going 69 kmh so i can gauge their speed, plus i have instruments that can measure other's velocity, and they're very consistent and repetitive every friday. mostly angmohs from their built with a few dwarfish sinkies in tow (could be m&ds and chinks but hard to tell in the dark). for sure no nehs on these pelotons. in all my cycling adventures in sg, nehs and banglas only ride for leisure (and or cleaning work) with lousy bikes on east coast fark. same shit in sillycon valley. for some strange reason, well paid neh tech workers are not into recreational road cycling donning sexpensive attire and riding on $6.9k bikes. they probably use the sextra bonuses and stock option money to spend on their children's education - sexpensive private schools are full of them. and do yoga and tantric sex at home.

I believe you never heard of Long house 5am ride, and the group call crazie. You must be very new to the scene. try meet at long house 5am on weekend, take my words based on what you say you cannot even follow them up to mandai.

If you can follow them all the way to the end of west coast highway (pack 2, not even the pack 1 crazie group), then you look at your average speed. confirm above 35

I don't ride often, but i have rode for a long time. Back then, you could count the number of cyclists on 2 hands on a typical weekend. Those days of Lemond and Fignon.
I used to taunt cyclists wearing full gear when they rode by my AMK estate : Hey, you think you are Greg Lemond?"

You cannot use your west coast highway speed and use that as your average to con people, like LordElron did.

Average is average, you don't cheat. You have to include all the start-stops due to traffic lights.

The last triathlon Olympic champion finished his relatively flat 40km bicycle leg in 55 minutes, average of 43km/h.

And you tell me a sinkie uncle averages 40 kmh on a leisure ride?

Hey, i wasn't born yesterday!

I don't ride often, but i have rode for a long time. Back then, you could count the number of cyclists on 2 hands on a typical weekend. Those days of Lemond and Fignon.
I used to taunt cyclists wearing full gear when they rode by my AMK estate : Hey, you think you are Greg Lemond?"

You cannot use your west coast highway speed and use that as your average to con people, like LordElron did.

Average is average, you don't cheat. You have to include all the start-stops due to traffic lights.

The last triathlon Olympic champion finished his relatively flat 40km bicycle leg in 55 minutes, average of 43km/h.

you are correct. if you average out the speeds from point a to point b, it cannot clock 36.9 kmh. more like 26.9 kmh with all the stops and slow downs along the way.

all i can say is this, join long house 5am ride. keep trying till you can follow them from upper thomson till end of west coast highway. personally I am not that strong enough to do it, I got drop at the last stretch of west coast highway. my average then before i vomit out my 100 plus is 37.1

you are correct. if you average out the speeds from point a to point b, it cannot clock 36.9 kmh. more like 26.9 kmh with all the stops and slow downs along the way.

5am to 7am cyclists have green and red blindness, we do not stop at traffic light :D

5am to 7am cyclists have green and red blindness, we do not stop at traffic light :biggrin:
not talking about traffic lights lah. in the sg landscape there are many stupid drivers, homeless and workers doing stupid stuff early in the morning too. cannot just anyhow suka suka slam into stupidity along the way. also, pelotons and how large they are will slow down a single cyclist in the same path. in fact, pelotons in tour de france are known to slow down the average speed of individual cyclist.

5am to 7am cyclists have green and red blindness, we do not stop at traffic light :biggrin:

A one-day flat course classic, the Milan-San Remo.........

Milan-San Remo 2019:
Distance 291km.
Winner: 6h 40 min (Average 43kmh)

Winner is Julian Alaphilippe

Sorry, i simply cannot accept a Sinkie uncle averages 40kmh easily on our Singapore roads, only slightly slower than one of the top sprinter cyclists in the world who has had stage wins in Tour de France.

Milan–San Remo (in Italian Milano-Sanremo), also called "The Spring classic" or "La Classicissima", is an annual cycling race between Milan and Sanremo, in Northwest Italy.

Milan–San Remo is considered a sprinters classic because of its mainly flat course,[2] whereas the other Italian Monument race, the Giro di Lombardia, held in autumn, is considered a climbers classic.
[4]

not talking about traffic lights lah. in the sg landscape there are many stupid drivers, homeless and workers doing stupid stuff early in the morning too. cannot just anyhow suka suka slam into stupidity along the way. also, pelotons and how large they are will slow down a single cyclist in the same path. in fact, pelotons in tour de france are known to slow down the average speed of individual cyclist.
yah i know what you meant. but 5 to 7am is actually really ok.

A one-day flat course classic, the Milan-San Remo.........

Milan-San Remo 2019:
Distance 291km.
Winner: 6h 40 min (Average 43kmh)

Winner is Julian Alaphilippe

Sorry, i simply cannot accept a Sinkie uncle averages 40kmh easily on our Singapore roads, only slightly slower than one of the top sprinter cyclists in the world who has had stage wins in Tour de France.

Milan–San Remo (in Italian Milano-Sanremo), also called "The Spring classic" or "La Classicissima", is an annual cycling race between Milan and Sanremo, in Northwest Italy.

Milan–San Remo is considered a sprinters classic because of its mainly flat course,[2] whereas the other Italian Monument race, the Giro di Lombardia, held in autumn, is considered a climbers classic.
[4]

you go look at the gradient of their route, then you look at one round island around Singapore the gradient. this is the key difference. another difference is normally local we cycle 120km and below. knn theirs is over 200km. physically that IS A BIG DIFFERENCE

yah i know what you meant. but 5 to 7am is actually really ok.
on certain stretches of west coast freeways it's ok until 6.9am. many heavy trucks and 40-foot rigs start running amok early as they try to siam the morning rush hour traffic. but if a cyclist gets run over, can't blame them as cyclists are not supposed to be on those sexpressways.

another one. ok i confirm you don't cycle. in Singapore that is considered Highway not expressway as speed limit is 70. highway bicycle can cycle

see for yourself la, how they cycle. so many people doing it. For riders new to the scene will think what i say is big hole till they experience it themselves. go and randomly click across the video see what kind of speed they are going

all i can say is this, join long house 5am ride. keep trying till you can follow them from upper thomson till end of west coast highway. personally I am not that strong enough to do it, I got drop at the last stretch of west coast highway. my average then before i vomit out my 100 plus is 37.1
in sillycon valley, it's legal to ride on expressways (speed limit 50 mph) but not freeways (speed limit 65 mph). in sg it's illegal on aye, kpe, ecp (unless permit given for special events), etc. confirmed that with safe cycling task force of sg. this only proves you know jackshit about cycling in sg. don't anyhow suan ok? i think i cycle more than you in sg. i do 169 km everyday when i'm there.
https://www.tnp.sg/news/others/watch-cyclists-caught-riding-expressway
can be charged under section 279 of the penal code.

in sillycon valley, it's legal to ride on expressways (speed limit 50 mph) but not freeways (speed limit 65 mph). in sg it's illegal. confirmed that with safe cycling task force of sg. this only proves you know jackshit about cycling in sg. don't anyhow suan ok? i think i cycle more than you in sg. i do 169 km everyday when i'm there.
https://www.tnp.sg/news/others/watch-cyclists-caught-riding-expressway
can be charged under section 279 of the penal code.

hello we are talking about Singapore. I confirm plus chop with you west coast highway is not an expressway don't twist word. it is classified as highway as speed limit is 70. highway in singapore bicycle can cycle. I dun give a fuck what law in silicon valley not applicable here.

in many country highway and expressway are interchangable term, not in Singapore. as mentioned that article is saying its wrong to cycle in expressway, eg PIE BKE. is this so hard to understand?

see for yourself la, how they cycle. so many people doing it. For riders new to the scene will think what i say is big hole till they experience it themselves. go and randomly click across the video see what kind of speed they are going

that's a roadway not a sexpressway. not even considered a highway. in sg, it's either roadways or sexpressways. highways are those long rural roads found in jiuhu or thighland.