Chitchat this ahpek charkwayteow got michelin star wor

This uncle was very popular already in the 90s when I was introduced to it. No idea when he started but he was in a coffeeshop in the hdb flats near the outram mrt. Those days if I remember correctly, the mata CNB located in the abandoned school compound beside the Mrt. Priced $2.00 to $2.50. Can wait for 40min during lunch hour. If customers prefer meehoon to kwaytiao, he can fried meehoon mee. I think he shifted to current location after the blocks of flats demolished for construction of NEL.
World class!

I was believe taste is subjective. Let just say this uncle chay kwaytiao suit me and although his price a bit higher than normal but the serving and quantity of cockles make up for it.
If really interested to tried after CB period, go before 11am or after 2pm. I won’t tabao as the residual heat will fully cook the cockles and steam will turn the whole thing soggy.

I was believe taste is subjective. Let just say this uncle chay kwaytiao suit me and although his price a bit higher than normal but the serving and quantity of cockles make up for it.
If really interested to tried after CB period, go before 11am or after 2pm. I won’t tabao as the residual heat will fully cook the cockles and steam will turn the whole thing soggy.
can jalan and makan or not until one reaches home?

I prefer the one at Beach Rd hawker centre 2nd floor. Got veggie and small ikan bilis. But last year that fucker disappeared for a period of time. And the opening of the stall was quite irregular.

Whatever the stall is selling can’t be called char kway teow. Veggie and ikan bilis???

It char kway teow at bottom, the boiled extra veggie on top with fried silver fish on top.
Pasir Panjang food centre have one uncle sell similar type. More for ppl bluff own self that extra veggie offset unhealthy char kway teow. PP stall good business as uncle drive masarati.

Off track a bit, do you all know of any longest CKT here, about 55 yrs. Yes.
Make yr guess.. Not TP, not T. Blangah.

circuit road market CKT also get some kind of award but starting from 4-years back this stall start to high ego and also the taste start to go south.
Last time queue long long, before CB, the queue no longer there.
Singapore 4g & 5G leader look down on hawker stall but not able to get rid.
don't be fool by one or two minister encouraging the young to become hawker, they don't meant what they say.
1) hawker centre is not increasing especially in new estate, and the ratio on population to hawker centre is dragging apart as PAP built less hawker centre.
2) the government deem hawker stall is "subsidized" even though hawker bid monthly rental via NEA
3) when the minister encourage the young to take up hawker, they describe the scene of the food-court in shopping mall and not hawker centre.
4) how many PAP minister really know what are the good food in their own ward's hawker centre ?
5) NEA sub out hawker centre to 3rd party to manage and ripping hawker stall owner. why ? because LTA sub out bus and train to private and NEA when to adopt the same. PAP no longer want to put in effort to serve the public, they will go all means to sub out, earn the sub out fee and cut less man-power and minister draw high pay.

This uncle was very popular already in the 90s when I was introduced to it. No idea when he started but he was in a coffeeshop in the hdb flats near the outram mrt. Those days if I remember correctly, the mata CNB located in the abandoned school compound beside the Mrt. Priced $2.00 to $2.50. Can wait for 40min during lunch hour. If customers prefer meehoon to kwaytiao, he can fried meehoon mee. I think he shifted to current location after the blocks of flats demolished for construction of NEL.
i had eaten his stuff in his original place outram park HDB ..there was also another place of fame in the that same HDB ...the original fish head curry ,Gomez ..the only one who started such thing as fish head curry here ..but the location fame goes far beyond

you are not right about those HDB making way for NEL ..that princit was aquired by the land aqusition act for no rhyme or reason...anyway ,it was a prison before ..where people were hanged
https://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/infopedia/articles/SIP_1742_2010-12-17.html

and just opposite is where SGH is...how many here knows of Seopy Rd ?...that was named after Indian troops based there ...the very resson why a Sikh temple exist till today just some distance from it

Off track a bit, do you all know of any longest CKT here, about 55 yrs. Yes.
Make yr guess.. Not TP, not T. Blangah.

The one at Telok Blangah, formerly from Margaret Dr. is really good.

the secret of ckt is in the pork lard crisp aka lapok/bakyu/bakpar, agree not? if can whip up a fragrant smelling one, all the rest will just fall into place, voila...the black sauce is quite standard lah, and all the woking, stirring, flipping is just showmanship

last time katong near the classic red house bakery the corner also got one old man frying ckt, its a standalone stall maybe he sub rent from the shop owner...anyone remem this 90s retro stall?

the secret of ckt is in the pork lard crisp aka lapok/bakyu/bakpar, agree not? if can whip up a fragrant smelling one, all the rest will just fall into place, voila...the woking, stirring, flipping is just showmanship
you can have the best lapok but if you can’t fire up the btu under a seasoned wok and caramelize the kway teow, garlic, dark sauce, egg, tau gei and fish cake with violent stirring and whacking, the kway teow can still result in an oily soggy mess. with the same ingredients, can see different results between an imported angkongkia jiuhukia who stir-fries noodles first to burn it a little chow tar vs. an imported bokunghu tiong who simply mixes noodles, garlic, egg, dark sauce, tau gei and other ingredients in wok at the same time before oil gets smoking hot. huge difference.

the secret of ckt is in the pork lard crisp aka lapok/bakyu/bakpar, agree not? if can whip up a fragrant smelling one, all the rest will just fall into place, voila...the black sauce is quite standard lah, and all the woking, stirring, flipping is just showmanship

Penang Place has managed to produce a halal non-lard version of CKT. No sure how they did it.

it’s not in the lard and cracklings. it’s in the high heat of wok hei and technique of whipping up pre-chow tar kway teow with garlic and dark sauce almost to the point of smokey char. the egg adds the fragrance and other ingredients such as tau gei adds the crunchiness and fish cake adds the bounciness.

u seem quite knowlegeable for an american :D

agreed. i avoid those CKT stalls which don't use lard.