• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[Singapore] - Food Delivery Riders get 1st-hand look at the ridiculous rich-poor SES divide in Singapore

UltimaOnline

The Two Sides of Singapore, As Seen By A Food Delivery Rider
https://www.ricemedia.co/culture-people-two-sides-singapore-food-delivery-rider/

IMG_0008-1024x768.jpg

versus

IMG_0053-768x1024.jpg

https://www.ricemedia.co/culture-people-two-sides-singapore-food-delivery-rider/

Visitor comments on Sg Reddit :

bilbolaggings
cosmopolitan malay

Been doing food delivery for a good two years now and what he says is accurate. The class divide really shocked me a bit. I grew up middle class for the most part but lived in a rental flat for a while. So I'm no stranger to seeing poverty but haven't seen the lives of the wealthy first hand, other than a short stint of serving Ang Mos sparkling water and $7 tiny coffees in Tanglin.

Once I was doing deliveries in Sembawang, sent an order to one of those new rental flats that have been built there in a "ghetto" on the edge of the estate. It was scorching hot at 12pm so I decided to take a rest under the void deck. Sat on a bench, 5 minutes later a barefoot kid around 8 years old came up to me and asked "Abang ada duit tak?" (do you have any money?). Told him no and he said "Dua dolar pon takda?"($2 also don't have?). He then walked away leaving me questioning which country I'm in. I've seen this happen in neighbouring countries but never here. I didn't give him any money because I know that there's a chance his parents got him to do it, and will take the money.

A year ago I started doing delivery in more "atas" neighbourhoods, Serangoon, Kovan and Bartley. They're not Bukit Timah or River Valley but there's still a good number of landed houses and nice condos. Demand was so much better there and people ordered ridiculously small or pricy orders. I once delivered to a house with 2 Rolls Royces, a Bentley and 2 helpers. First thought was "Damn, people actually live like this?".

nayr69sg

Staff member
Yes the difference is night and day.

I also deliver food to the atas and the poor. I would say both rich and poor also got nasty rude assholes and super nice people. So wealth and money doesn't determine who is nasty and who is nice.

I would say that the middle class people tend to be more ngiao.

Yes the difference is night and day.

I also deliver food to the atas and the poor. I would say both rich and poor also got nasty rude assholes and super nice people. So wealth and money doesn't determine who is nasty and who is nice.

I would say that the middle class people tend to be more ngiao.

Poor people have the means to afford food delivery?

This is evidence that PAP is doing a great job. Do you think these poor people can afford meals, let alone food delivery services?

170310-somalia-drought-displaced-7p_2_f5eee111c869ef2521b66dd31ebb7185.fit-760w.JPG

he shouldn't be shocked. i live in a bedok shithole with no bed but just a mattress on cold hard floor and can understand how sinkie unkers and aunties wake up in the morning with aches in the back and ass. moreover, must depend on gst voucher to get by.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I have a confession. All these while, I have been saying able-bodied pple should walk out and buy their own food, don't be lazy. Truth is I can't afford to engage food delivery service. I am that poor.

I am lucky most sinkies are lazy and not poor enough that cannot afford food delivery!

I am just scared that one day they allow food delivery companies to hire cheap bangla then my job gone liao!!!! Habis!

nothing shocking and mysterious. life is stratified. deal with it.

69% of sinkies in humble hdb flats.
1589906540731.png

36.9% of sinkies trying to behave "atas" in upgraded hdb flats.
1589906618900.png

16.9% of (older) sinkies just sitting, sleeping, and shitting at home in hdb flats all day.
1589906711534.png

penthouse for the 0.69% in sg.
1589906936042.png

I am lucky most sinkies are lazy and not poor enough that cannot afford food delivery!

I am just scared that one day they allow food delivery companies to hire cheap bangla then my job gone liao!!!! Habis!
Shit, then we better sign up now. Make hay while the sun shines! :biggrin:

nayr69sg

Staff member

View attachment 79102

View attachment 79103

16.9% of (older) sinkies just sitting, sleeping, and shitting at home in hdb flats all day.
View attachment 79104

View attachment 79105

It is a lot more fun going to these atas places to deliver food. If not for my job I will never get to go inside these places.

View attachment 79102

View attachment 79103

View attachment 79104

View attachment 79105
"16.9% of (older) sinkies just sitting, sleeping, and shitting at home in hdb flats all day."

That's me.

It is a lot more fun going to these atas places to deliver food. If not for my job I will never get to go inside these places.
notice that images for more "atas" homes are very high definition while those for lowly flats are blur? it's the same with life and people. clarity of plan and purpose vs. muddy mindedness and monchacha.