• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Sinkie Prettyboy Reservist Aloysius Pang Seriously Injured In NZ While Fucking Around With Howitzer! Guess Whether He Uplorry! Boss Sam Please Help!

Hypocrite-The

Search
The Online Citizen

In tragedy and adversity, our leaders display moral cowardice by going missing
Augustine Low 2019-01-26 Opinion

When Singapore hosted the Trump-Kim summit last year, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong spoke extensively to the media, telling Singaporeans “I hope you will understand this is for a good cause, it is a national effort, and I hope we will be all be able to work together to show the world what Singapore can do.”

After the summit, Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen waxed lyrical, giving an A grade to the Singapore Armed Forces for security preparations for the summit: “I suppose in exam terms, this is a preliminary test which I think we scored an A.”

Mind you, this was an event where Foreign Minister Vivian Balakrishnan admitted that Singapore’s role was merely to “serve tea and coffee.”

Our leaders went out of their way to score points over a summit that Singapore hosted, but in the aftermath of the latest death of a national serviceman, Aloysius Pang, they conspicuously went missing.

They left it to the military brass to hold a media conference, giving very scant details of what happened.

What in heaven’s name has happened to the Prime Minister who is a former general himself? And why did the Defence Minister not see it fit to take charge and take responsibility?

In fact, not a single leader or politician dared to face the nation to give an account of the latest tragedy.

PM Lee and Dr Ng spent so much time and effort to claim credit for a summit. But when a young Singaporean died tragically while serving the country, they abdicated their duty and responsibility to face the nation. They relegated the task to SAF generals who appeared ill-equipped to give a creditable account of what happened.

Is this what has become of our leaders? They come out in full force when the going is good but when things turn tragic, they go missing.

FacebookTwitterWhatsAppLineWeChatShare1,564
You Might Also Like
CFC Aloysius Pang's family cannot sue MINDEF even if they want to
At least 8 Singaporeans died in past 1.5 years while serving their nation
Everyone In Australia Is Going Crazy Over This Hi-Tech Mosquito Trap
(trendingconsumergadgets.com)
Language expert explains how to learn a language in 15 mins a day
(Babbel)
How Older Men Get Tighter Looking Skin [do this daily]
(The Modern Man Today)
Its Easy To Save On Energy Bills in Western Australia, Go Solar with Government Rebates!
(Solar Market)
Recommended by

LATESTPOPULAR
Is it acceptable for the state to impose a duty on us without also according us the right to hold them accountable? Is it acceptable for the state to impose a duty on us without also according us the right to hold them accountable?
Pang’s death and those before him are not regrettable incidences, they are UNACCEPTABLE occurrences. Pang’s death and those before him are not regrettable incidences, they are UNACCEPTABLE occurrences.
Indian national says ripped flag image a piece of “art” and gives his side of story to CNA Indian national says ripped flag image a piece of “art” and gives his side of story to CNA
Firing the COA, CDF does not solve the problem Firing the COA, CDF does not solve the problem
Not the first time national servicemen die or injure in Waiouru training area in NZ Not the first time national servicemen die or injure in Waiouru training area in NZ
Duty-unpaid cigarettes concealed in modified fuel tank (Source: ICA). 490 packs of duty-unpaid cigarettes seized in two different cases
Research reveals Singaporeans children need to focus on different skills to be successful in the careers of the future Research reveals Singaporeans children need to focus on different skills to be successful in the careers of the future
MOE should go beyond motherhood statements and victim-blaming MOE should go beyond motherhood statements and victim-blaming
In tragedy and adversity, our leaders display moral cowardice by going missing In tragedy and adversity, our leaders display moral cowardice by going missing
Women’s national team headed for Hockey Series Finals Women’s national team headed for Hockey Series Finals
Pang’s body arrives back home to Singapore; MINDEF says Pang to be accorded the honours of military funeral Pang’s body arrives back home to Singapore; MINDEF says Pang to be accorded the honours of military funeral
Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen Defence Minister suggests SAF soldiers stop training if conditions are unsafe – easier said than done?
Leong Sze Hian files an application to strike out PM Lee’s defamation against him Leong Sze Hian files an application to strike out PM Lee’s defamation against him
CFC Aloysius Pang’s family cannot sue MINDEF even if they want to CFC Aloysius Pang’s family cannot sue MINDEF even if they want to
Netizens not satisfied with the explanation given by SAF generals Netizens not satisfied with the explanation given by SAF generals

January 2019
M T W T F S S
« Dec
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31
Recent Comments
80twenty 80twenty
Indian national says ripped flag image a piece of “art” and gives his side of story to CNA
The PAP CECA with India may not include this. Next...
1/27/2019
nelsonmandala nelsonmandala
Firing the COA, CDF does not solve the problem
in times of invasion..on d 1st week..we wud had @...
1/27/2019
Tryst Tryst
Netizens not satisfied with the explanation given by SAF generals
The Minister has to resign and commanders who were...
1/27/2019
Defence Minister suggests SAF soldiers stop training if conditions are unsafe – easier said than done?
i remebered when i was a mere rekruits in d 1st 2...
1/27/2019
Defence Minister suggests SAF soldiers stop training if conditions are unsafe – easier said than done?
ow 2 tell yr ncos/platoon kommander..if u insist i...
1/27/2019

Democracy is best served by having an informed and involved citizenry that has access to a wide range of sources of news and views and an open and vibrant environment in which to share and to debate ideas and opinions.
Support TOC!Become a Patron!
Copyright - The Online Citizen 2019
The Online Citizen -- Singapore’s longest-running independent online media platform.
:smile:

winners

Just now at 10.45am, my wife and I were at Aloysius' wake for his final farewell. The queue though was not too long, but only about 15 minutes. I'll always admire those who died while serving their duties for the defense of our country, unlike many of those kpkb keyboard warriors here. All visitors were then given a twin-pack tissue.

Queue 1.jpg

Queue 2.jpg
Tissue.jpg

blueblobster

Would it have made a difference if Pang was treated in the NZ hospital earlier? From accident to arrival of chopper, it was 110 min. Don't know how long was the flight to the hospital from the SAF camp.
You seem to think that:
1. There is an MO attached to every soldier to give immediate medical attention. Or he will magically appear the moment a soldier gets injured.
2. The MO's first job is to panic and ask for a chopper instead of tending to the injured.
3. There is a helicopter with a crew seating inside attached to every unit.
4. Helicopters fly at supersonic speed.
5. NZ is a small country where everything is a 5 minute drive away.

blueblobster

What is the bloody purpose of a press conference to purportedly release preliminary findings? What findings? It cast aspersions on the deceased. It was a Cover MINDEF Ass exercise.
MINDEF takes death of servicemen likely. Heatstroke is preventable. Likewise, this death was preventable. Nah, MINDEF boh hew.
Why? Because the PAP has a law to protect them from civil lawsuit (thanks to your info). So, MINDEF can boh chap and there is NOTHING sinkees can do about it.

Stop the draft. Have a professional army. Let the professionals do the soldiering. Period.
Has it occurred to your limited, biased mind that perhaps the cover up is to protect the deceased rather than MINDEF? Given his celebrity status and public anger, MINDEF chose not to do so.

But of course to a whiny person who cannot grasp issues properly, even if MINDEF shows a soldier fooling around, you will still blame MINDEF and the PAP for allowing it to happen.

blueblobster

SINKapore is a tiny dot. 50 missiles would easily destroy it.
You argue like an ignorant schoolboy. Reminds me of those housewives who say Singapore is so small that one bomb will sink her, as though she is a ship. But that was long ago when I was a kid. I thought people are better informed these days. Apparently not.

blueblobster

all you care about is to shame the pappies. this tragic accident has absolutely nothing to do with pappies. how many times have ns men being crushed by a primus barrel inside the chassis since the deployment of the primus? if it’s flawed, many techs would have been crushed. what next? luxury lounge with sofa, love seat, coffee table, and extra leg and torso room in both turret and chassis for 69 techs to talk cock sing song inside? you’re the kind of sinkie that gravitates other sinkies to continue voting for pappies....simply because they find you absurb, unreasonable, vengeful, and fixated with very narrow thinking. so narrow that skinny torso can still get crushed and others better siam.
Well said. The wise can easily size up a person's intellectual ability and maturity from his posts, sometimes in under 6.9 seconds. Ironically haters and opportunists like him and Lim Thean are actually helping the PAP. I very much prefer John Tan's approach.

Aloysius' funeral was truly the event of 2019. I had to shuttle between his wake and Geylang Serai Wisma festival. Our grassroots volunteers were stretched thin over this weekend. We didn't have enough manpower to run both events and monitor oppie activities by Oppies Tean, Chee and Bock, which all happened on 26th Jan too.

This is a call for samsters to sign up at their local RCs to serve as volunteers.

winners

Surprisingly, from the MediaCorp news, there was no mention of Jack Neo and his gang (Mark Lee, Henry Thia, Marcus Chin, etc) visiting the wake since they are all also in the local show biz. Also, Rui En nowadays seems to be MIA already.

You seem to think that:
1. There is an MO attached to every soldier to give immediate medical attention. Or he will magically appear the moment a soldier gets injured.
2. The MO's first job is to panic and ask for a chopper instead of tending to the injured.
3. There is a helicopter with a crew seating inside attached to every unit.
4. Helicopters fly at supersonic speed.
5. NZ is a small country where everything is a 5 minute drive away.

And you assume that 110 min is not too long to wait for a chopper to bring him to the hospital. How long is the chopper ride, I have no clue. But it won't require 110 minutes for sure.

Very perceptive. I wanted to point out something similar earlier but since the guy died, thought otherwise out of respect for the deceased.

Not everything is due to the fault of of MINDEF/SAF. Vicarious responsibiity yes, it is certainly MINDEF'/SAF's.

But direct responsibility must sometimes fall on the shoulders of the injured or deceased. In this case, my guess and instinct is that the guy may well have brought this unnecessary tragedy upon himself.

One press conference with general info and lots of insinuation and so many have been swayed to point the finger at the deceased for being responsible for his own demise. Well done, MINDEF.

Jets is typical sinkie. Can never please one. Only know how to kpkb. You say A they say B
You say B they say A.

Useless sinkies.

I am in SINKapore while you run road. What audacity!
And your incomprehension of logic shows.
If you can't accept other view points (the CONservative attitude that they know it all ) and debate without personal attacks, then you should just hide in your redneck province. Go and suck up to Jason Kenny and be his dog.

Well said. The wise can easily size up a person's intellectual ability and maturity from his posts, sometimes in under 6.9 seconds. Ironically haters and opportunists like him and Lim Thean are actually helping the PAP. I very much prefer John Tan's approach.

I repent. I will join the RC.

PTADER

One press conference with general info and lots of insinuation and so many have been swayed to point the finger at the deceased for being responsible for his own demise. Well done, MINDEF.

Not all of us are blessed with a razor-sharp intellect and independent, analytical mind like yours. As such, we need to rely on such press conferences and media reports, including those that we may not have watched or read, to form our views.

LordElrond

Sinkies are a confused lot. In just 3 days the initial anger against Mindef and Pappies have turned into:
1) Why is the funeral surpassing Ong Teng Cheong in grandeur?
2) Mindef’s cover up could be to protect the victim... awwww how sweet
3) It’s shameless for Ling Thean to politicise this
4) Winnipegjets is hard to please

Well at least Winnipegjets remained consistent in what he said from day 1 to day 3. The rests are just gullible.

Not all of us are blessed with a razor-sharp intellect and independent, analytical mind like yours. As such, we need to rely on such press conferences and media reports, including those that we may not have watched or read, to form our views.

Was the press conference for the purpose of sharing info or was it a CMA session? It seemed the latter to me. And for them to insinuate that it was the deceased's fault is outright disrespectful and insulting and shows MINDEF's lack of compassion for our soldiers.
How much digging can be done after a few days to come out with a credible preliminary finding? With the preliminary findings made public, do you think MINDEF will change those finding substantially in the final report?

Sinkies are a confused lot. In just 3 days the initial anger against Mindef and Pappies have turned into:
1) Why is the funeral surpassing Ong Teng Cheong in grandeur?
2) Mindef’s cover up could be to protect the victim... awwww how sweet
3) It’s shameless for Ling Thean to politicise this
4) Winnipegjets is hard to please

Well at least Winnipegjets remained consistent in what he said from day 1 to day 3. The rests are just gullible.

Sinkie peasants (especially the females) are highly endeared to their local showbiz folks, and the tremendous media coverage fueled the hype. The Mediacorp fraternity had also kpkb when Huang Wenyong died.

If the victim were some random NSman ah beng, few would have cared.