• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Gilbert Goh’s New Story - Loser Sinkie Beri Happy Wife Found Job

"My wife who is a local graduate with a accountancy degree was out of work for a year."
Maybe she was book keeper? accounts clerk or book maker?

I doubt so, book keeper or accounts clerk would have been more for Diploma holders. Actually in the banking industry, sometimes being a clerical staff is safer as many are unionized. That is no 100% guarantee against retrenchment, but at least it's better than being a perennial contract staff which they can layoff immediately without notice or compensation.

Banks are extremely brutal when it comes to layoffs, particularly when it comes to contractors. I have a few acquaintances who worked in banks before and kena terminated in the most derogatory manner. Early in the morning they came to work and attempted to tap their passes to enter the office but were not able to, after a while HR came over and directed the cluster of staff who were stuck outside to a room outside of the bank premises. In the room they were promptly told they were terminated with immediate effect and paid the customary 0.5-1 month in lieu of notice. A security guard and a HR officer than "escorts" each individual to his cubicle/locker to pack up his belongings, all this is done in full view of other colleagues.

I was told this is pretty standard SOP for banks due to business sensitivities and data security reasons. I can see the logic to that, but on the other hand I also think things can be handled in a more humane and emphatic manner.

Damage (retrenchment) been done. If they are humane then HR should try to find jobs for them in another place/banks.

Not gonna happen in the banking industry. Firstly because of anti-trust regulations, HR from bank A cannot be seen as collaborating with HR from bank B to interfere with the free labor market. Secondly, the whole idea of hiring contractors is they can be flexibly let go, putting in effort to minimize retrenchments and maximize redeployment defeats the whole point.

On the legal front, a lot of these contractors are not even technically bank employees. Many are hired through manpower agencies and in theory the agencies are supposed to look after their deployment, but seeing some of the predatory sales behavior by these so called recruitment consultants, I doubt they give a hoot about someone who is of no use to them anymore.

I doubt so, book keeper or accounts clerk would have been more for Diploma holders. Actually in the banking industry, sometimes being a clerical staff is safer as many are unionized. That is no 100% guarantee against retrenchment, but at least it's better than being a perennial contract staff which they can layoff immediately without notice or compensation.

Banks are extremely brutal when it comes to layoffs, particularly when it comes to contractors. I have a few acquaintances who worked in banks before and kena terminated in the most derogatory manner. Early in the morning they came to work and attempted to tap their passes to enter the office but were not able to, after a while HR came over and directed the cluster of staff who were stuck outside to a room outside of the bank premises. In the room they were promptly told they were terminated with immediate effect and paid the customary 0.5-1 month in lieu of notice. A security guard and a HR officer than "escorts" each individual to his cubicle/locker to pack up his belongings, all this is done in full view of other colleagues.

I have no loyalty to business...I work for my money, like a mercenary..my desk is sparse with few things on it...so that, at a moment notice I have nothing to bring along with...it had been that way for years. You can replace me at moment notice, I won't miss you, you won't miss me.

Work mercenary....who pay the best, the most, put it the best the most...gets kicked off.. move on!

KNN at times after a employee went through this humiliation they joined the bank again sometimes later KNN some human has no dignity KNN

I have no loyalty to business...I work for my money, like a mercenary..my desk is sparse with few things on it...so that, at a moment notice I have nothing to bring along with...it had been that way for years. You can replace me at moment notice, I won't miss you, you won't miss me.

Work mercenary....who pay the best, the most, put it the best the most...gets kicked off.. move on!

That is certainly the mindset I encourage salaried employees to take regardless of where they work. But there will be a big number of people who hear company propaganda of how they are valued assets, part of the family/talent, future development plans etc. and really start fantasize that the company literally cares for them. Such employees are often the hardest hit emotionally when the axe comes. People must be realistic - in this day and age even stat boards and GLCs layoff people, what more can one expect from a normal for profit firm?

Yes, sad but true...one, must be a work mercenary...you pay me " X" of dollars, I put in "X" amount of work, you want more, add more dollars. I will be responsible to produce that " X" amount of work. Everyday one gets to work...be ready to go home at a short notice....never grow attachment to what you work at or the place you work in or the people you work with. The are nameless, faceless...& once completed the work, one move on. In this way, there is no emotional baggage when one is out of work...just look for another horizon...