• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat My maiden trip to Tokyo - where should I stay ?

Online cannot see chio bu leh ? I want to walk around in the malls and look see look see Japanese shops, how they do business.

I want to visit Yonex Showroom and look see look see their musical instrument shops and pharmacies.
Pls lor, chiobu go jk cafe as I said, some more this weather best is go there give the eyes see ice-cream, then you eat ice cream n invite them to give you ice cream

Tokyo metro map sibei complicated.

img_01.png

It may look complicated but it isn't. Just beware that stations like Shinjuku, Tokyo, Shibuya are huge stations and you will get lost inside the station itself. But they are the most convenient stations to stay because lots of Shinkansen and commuter lines pass thru them.

To give you perspective, Shinjuku station is probably 3 or 4 times the size of Vivo City in Singapore. So don't get lost or miss your exits. Plan where you want to visit and usually the info on the net will tell you which exit to head for once you alight. It's not like Sinkieland train station where there are few exits.

Over there, in big stations like Tokyo station, it's huge as there are also Shinkanasen passing thru in addition to local trains. The map above isn't exhaustive. There is also a Tokyo Metro line that isn't featured in there and other private lines. So don't be confused. Once you get the hang of it, it's easy to get around.

And please not take the subway during peak hours unless you want to experience the human sandwiching feel. :biggrin: I had my fair share of that when working there years ago....

Oh, remember to buy their "Ezlink" card equivalent. You can get it at Narita basement shop where you purchase your NEX tickets.

Yep, it's a wrong time to be in Tokyo now. Oct to Dec usually the better time.

Tokyo is in the middle of a heat wave. Best avoided till Autumn sets in.

Japan records highest temperature ever; heat wave has killed 50
People cool down under the cooling mist spot in Tokyo, Monday, July 13, 2018. Searing hot temperatures are forecast for wide swaths of Japan and South Korea in a long-running heat wave.
(Koji Sasahara / AP)
Mari Yamaguchi and Hyung-Jin KimAssociated Press

Japan recorded its highest temperature ever Monday as a deadly heat wave continued to grip a wide swath of the country and nearby South and North Korea.
The mercury hit 41.1 degrees Celsius (106 degrees Fahrenheit) in Kumagaya, a city in Saitama prefecture about 40 miles northwest of Tokyo, the Japan Meteorological Agency said. That broke the previous record of 41.0 C in Ekawasaki on the island of Shikoku on Aug. 12, 2013.
Two lingering high pressure systems have trapped warm and humid air above the region, bringing record-high temperatures for nearly two weeks. More than 40 people have died in Japan and about 10 in South Korea.
"It is so hot these days that I cannot figure out whether I am in (South Korea) or in Southeast Asia," said Kim Sung-hee, a student in downtown Seoul, where the temperature rose to 35.7 C (96 F).

Ten people have died in South Korea of heatstroke and other heat-related causes this summer, seven of them last week, the Korea Centers for Disease Control and Prevention said Monday. About 1,040 people have fallen ill because of hot weather from May 20 to July 21, an increase of 61 percent over the same period last year, it said.
South Korea's highest-ever morning low was recorded in the city of Gangneung, where the temperature was 31 C (88 F) at 6:45 a.m. The morning low in Seoul was 29.2 C (84.6 F), a record for the country's capital, according to South Korea's weather agency.
The mercury hit 39.9 C (103.8 F) in the southeastern town of Hayang, the highest temperature in the country so far this year.
650x366

Visitors rest in the shade in the midday heat at Cheonggye stream in downtown Seoul, South Korea, Monday, July 23, 2018.
(Lee Jin-man / AP)
In North Korea, residents fanned themselves on crowded trolleys or protected themselves from the sun with brightly colored parasols as temperatures in Pyongyang, the capital, reached 34 C (93.2 F). Weather reports said higher temperatures were recorded on the country's eastern coast.
Thousands of people in Japan have been rushed to hospitals with heat stroke symptoms during the heat wave. Kyodo News agency has tallied more than 40 deaths. Many of the victims have been elderly people who were not using air conditioning.
On Monday, nine people died from heat-related causes across Japan, Kyodo said. NHK national television tallied seven deaths.
The temperature reached 39 C (102 F) on Monday in central Tokyo, the highest temperature this year. The worst of the heat wave is expected to be over this week.
Tourists in Tokyo's historic Asakusa district struggled with the heat. Cosett Romero from Mexico said she and her family were getting headaches.
"It's difficult to us because we don't have this heat in Mexico," she said.
Authorities warned people to stay inside and use air conditioning.
"The weather recently in Tokyo and across Japan is like being in a sauna," Tokyo Gov. Yuriko Koike said at a news conference that highlighted the 2020 Summer Olympics, which open in Tokyo two years from Tuesday.
Tokyo's postwar high temperature in August averages 31.5 C (88.7 F). That is about the same as the average high during the August 2004 Olympic Games in Athens, but exceeds those of the past three August Olympics: 30.6 C (87.0 F) during Beijing 2008, 23.5 C (74.3 F) in London 2012 and 26.3 C (79.3 F) in Rio de Janeiro, according to meteorological agency statistics.
Koike said the city has been working to address heat concerns for both spectators and athletes.
The marathon and some other outdoor Olympic events will start early in the morning. Other steps include developing road pavement that emits less surface heat, setting up mist sprays and planting tall roadside trees.
Koike also cited traditional ways of cooling in Japan, such as hanging straw screens and spraying water on road surfaces.
"But our traditional wisdom is not enough to beat the heat like this," she acknowledged, "so we will be using cutting-edge technology."
Kim reported from Seoul, South Korea. Associated Press writer Eric Talmadge in Pyongyang, North Korea, and videojournalists Nicola Shannon in Tokyo and Yong-ho Kim in Seoul contributed to this report

Which means they are going to get a cold winter this year? Maybe lots of snow in Tokyo where it doesn't usually snow in Dec to Feb....ummmm... Should consider planning a trip there for reminisce......:biggrin:

Japan records highest temperature ever; heat wave has killed 50
People cool down under the cooling mist spot in Tokyo, Monday, July 13, 2018. Searing hot temperatures are forecast for wide swaths of Japan and South Korea in a long-running heat wave.
(Koji Sasahara / AP)
Mari Yamaguchi and Hyung-Jin KimAssociated Press

Japan recorded its highest temperature ever Monday as a deadly heat wave continued to grip a wide swath of the country and nearby South and North Korea.
The mercury hit 41.1 degrees Celsius (106 degrees Fahrenheit) in Kumagaya, a city in Saitama prefecture about 40 miles northwest of Tokyo, the Japan Meteorological Agency said. That broke the previous record of 41.0 C in Ekawasaki on the island of Shikoku on Aug. 12, 2013.
Two lingering high pressure systems have trapped warm and humid air above the region, bringing record-high temperatures for nearly two weeks. More than 40 people have died in Japan and about 10 in South Korea.
"It is so hot these days that I cannot figure out whether I am in (South Korea) or in Southeast Asia," said Kim Sung-hee, a student in downtown Seoul, where the temperature rose to 35.7 C (96 F).

Ten people have died in South Korea of heatstroke and other heat-related causes this summer, seven of them last week, the Korea Centers for Disease Control and Prevention said Monday. About 1,040 people have fallen ill because of hot weather from May 20 to July 21, an increase of 61 percent over the same period last year, it said.
South Korea's highest-ever morning low was recorded in the city of Gangneung, where the temperature was 31 C (88 F) at 6:45 a.m. The morning low in Seoul was 29.2 C (84.6 F), a record for the country's capital, according to South Korea's weather agency.
The mercury hit 39.9 C (103.8 F) in the southeastern town of Hayang, the highest temperature in the country so far this year.
650x366

Visitors rest in the shade in the midday heat at Cheonggye stream in downtown Seoul, South Korea, Monday, July 23, 2018.
(Lee Jin-man / AP)
In North Korea, residents fanned themselves on crowded trolleys or protected themselves from the sun with brightly colored parasols as temperatures in Pyongyang, the capital, reached 34 C (93.2 F). Weather reports said higher temperatures were recorded on the country's eastern coast.
Thousands of people in Japan have been rushed to hospitals with heat stroke symptoms during the heat wave. Kyodo News agency has tallied more than 40 deaths. Many of the victims have been elderly people who were not using air conditioning.
On Monday, nine people died from heat-related causes across Japan, Kyodo said. NHK national television tallied seven deaths.
The temperature reached 39 C (102 F) on Monday in central Tokyo, the highest temperature this year. The worst of the heat wave is expected to be over this week.
Tourists in Tokyo's historic Asakusa district struggled with the heat. Cosett Romero from Mexico said she and her family were getting headaches.
"It's difficult to us because we don't have this heat in Mexico," she said.
Authorities warned people to stay inside and use air conditioning.
"The weather recently in Tokyo and across Japan is like being in a sauna," Tokyo Gov. Yuriko Koike said at a news conference that highlighted the 2020 Summer Olympics, which open in Tokyo two years from Tuesday.
Tokyo's postwar high temperature in August averages 31.5 C (88.7 F). That is about the same as the average high during the August 2004 Olympic Games in Athens, but exceeds those of the past three August Olympics: 30.6 C (87.0 F) during Beijing 2008, 23.5 C (74.3 F) in London 2012 and 26.3 C (79.3 F) in Rio de Janeiro, according to meteorological agency statistics.
Koike said the city has been working to address heat concerns for both spectators and athletes.
The marathon and some other outdoor Olympic events will start early in the morning. Other steps include developing road pavement that emits less surface heat, setting up mist sprays and planting tall roadside trees.
Koike also cited traditional ways of cooling in Japan, such as hanging straw screens and spraying water on road surfaces.
"But our traditional wisdom is not enough to beat the heat like this," she acknowledged, "so we will be using cutting-edge technology."
Kim reported from Seoul, South Korea. Associated Press writer Eric Talmadge in Pyongyang, North Korea, and videojournalists Nicola Shannon in Tokyo and Yong-ho Kim in Seoul contributed to this report
japs should all go naked right now during heat wave.

Looks like it's like Dubai in Tokyo now. Walk into the mall, the front of body is cold and back of body still hot...Lol :biggrin:
ac also not at full blast nor below 69 degree f. the fuckyoushima disaster has taken out "cheap" power that was taken for granted for so long in tokyo. every building must conserve energy now.

@Bonut .. one of the loveliest thing to do in Tokyo is to take a walk at Meiji Shrine gardens in the morning around 7am. I usually go for a run in there and it's extremely invigorating for the soul. You can take a train to Harajuku and the entrance to the garden is near the exit.

Another place for a good morning run is the imperial palace area near Tokyo station. You can beo chiobus there when having a morning run. Lots of expats run there too..:biggrin:

@Bonut .. one of the loveliest thing to do in Tokyo is to take a walk at Meiji Shrine gardens in the morning around 7am. I usually go for a run in there and it's extremely invigorating for the soul. You can take a train to Harajuku and the entrance to the garden is near the exit.

Another place for a good morning run is the imperial palace area near Tokyo station. You can beo chiobus there when having a morning run. Lots of expats run there too..:biggrin:

Yes the Imperial Palace ground at Chiyoda is beautiful and good for walk or run

Which means they are going to get a cold winter this year? Maybe lots of snow in Tokyo where it doesn't usually snow in Dec to Feb....ummmm... Should consider planning a trip there for reminisce......:biggrin:

heat wave means the charbo that all on heat, beri horny now..

Bonut

I am doing research now based on whatever I gathered in this thread.

I want to go Metropolitan Government Building, and access to top floor is free. Maybe can catch a glimpse of Mt Fuji.

That place is near Shinjuku Washington hotel. A short walk from Sunroute. Go out hotel turn left, pass McDonald's, reached big intersection, turn left and walk all the way. It's nothing fanciful up there. Pretty old building but it's OK. You will see a campsite of elderly homeless around the grounds of the that building.

The Tokyo metro map sibei complicated.

Where should I stay that will ensure easy access from Narita Airport and roam the shopping malls while I can still see Mt Fuji from afar ?
KNN my uncle wish he can give advice but his maiden trip was too long ago in 1993 those hotels all should decom liao. his trip to Shinjuku he say like can see but cannot touch type as the pimp who speaks Mandarin, likely a prc , only allowed to view prc KNN

Lol... Just walk around Shinjuku Kabuicho area can riao. No need to waste money. That's the side of Shinjuku that I suggest you avoid as it's noisy at night. Hotels like Citadines are there and it's not really near the commuter trains.

KNN a repeat visit is definitely in my uncle bucket list. he remember it was in hachioji and keep seeing 八王子 evetywhere in the stations KNN that time yen was very strong so sinkie is a poor fark there KNN

Food isn't that expensive in Tokyo of you are not going for high ses meals. A bowl of udon at a local sit down outlet is around 500 yen. That's pretty OK. Their supermarket food area is another place you can get decent affordable food.

Remembered stay in Keio Plaza Hotel twice and lucky both times room facing the Metropolitan Gov Bldg, very impressive and good view. Yes worth to go.