• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Queenstown Today

long ago there is 2 famous stalls side by side in tiong bahru.
1 is ah cang porridge using charcoal to cook.
in the same coffeeshop is the roti prata also using charcoal to bake.
synergy with a cup of kopi that is pure coffee powder
today ah cang porridge have been commercialise

1. I was there on New Year's eve for porridge
2. The original owner a teochew ahpek still go to the shop very often, met him there on that day always joke with the staff
3. He had sold the business to a younger man years ago
4. Yes I've eaten there since those old days when they use charcoal to cook and I also remembered the good prata there however I didn't know they also use charcoal, thank you for the information

IMG_20171231_132530.jpg

IMG_20171231_132826.jpg

IMG_20171231_134303.jpg

Ah Chiang now owned by the neighbourhood crasslooter who employs an army of Tiongs.
The taste of old is gone. But he got the support of the minions there and clueless sinkies who join the queue so business is still very good.

In the old days under the old owner the porridge stall open very early and the Coffeeshop owner would come only around 8am to sell the drinks/coffee so if you go early eat porridge you’ll have to go drink-less.

Ah Chiang now owned by the neighbourhood crasslooter who employs an army of Tiongs.
The taste of old is gone. But he got the support of the minions there and clueless sinkies who join the queue so business is still very good.

In the old days under the old owner the porridge stall open very early and the Coffeeshop owner would come only around 8am to sell the drinks/coffee so if you go early eat porridge you’ll have to go drink-less.

I do agree old man's porridge tastes better, however it's still one of the better ones around I think and especially for me coming from Bangkok this is great jok. Anyway they now open from 6am to 11pm according to my goggle info. Here's a excerpt from their facebook page

"Singaporean's popular choice, Ah Chiang's Porridge since 1968! Our current location at Tiong Poh Road was founded in 1971 by Ah Chiang's uncle. In 1995, Ah Chiang took over the business from his uncle and has been towering since.

Ah Chiang's Porridge is dedicated to provide the highest quality porridge and service. Our ingredients are freshly delivered to us daily – fish from Pasir Panjang Fishery Port, and pork from Tiong Bahru Market. Our porridge is prepared using the traditional charcoal cooking method to retain the true taste of Ah Chiang's uncle's original recipe. Since we use premium quality rice grain with natural sweetness, no condiments are added to the porridge."

kkbutterfly

ah cang porridge at toa pay yoa is the worst.really no fight.
the one at TB still got standard only pricey.
one thing i like them is they open untill 11pm.at time when i am lapar i will drive there to enjoy my porridge and fish skin.

40 years eating this porridge and really a big problem for me, cos no other porridge even come close. to make matter worst, they ban the raw fish. no raw fish no reason to eat porridge. pic taken 3 years ago before my major surgery.

kkbutterfly

40 years eating this porridge and really a big problem for me, cos no other porridge even come close. to make matter worst, they ban the raw fish. no raw fish no reason to eat porridge. pic taken 3 years ago before my major surgery.

wan lan.why you must make me feel hungry

This hainanese curry rice at bugis junction basement is not bad and not expensive

$4.30 set consist of a large piece of chicken cutlet which taste as good as pork chop, cabbage, an egg with lots of delicious curry.

Worth.

E3BDA1A7-5DF4-4592-99B7-3D41FCF82D42.jpeg

5F9D9950-51F2-4C3F-8814-0F7F5A544DA0.jpeg

BA2476DE-2151-423E-AF6D-62625C379F36.jpeg

F641A429-96F7-44B3-B1FD-CA5AA3AAC3AA.jpeg

F5678B68-4BE7-4CD7-8CEF-E1372B76E5C9.jpeg

26F4DEC2-03DE-4FE5-BEBA-95037A431A7C.jpeg

A940FC59-1AA4-4856-94DE-E4831164F229.jpeg
Dinner now Sin Hoi Sai Restaurant at Tiong Bahru

E568351F-0CE4-4B56-B892-E9E040B7D45B.jpeg

Starter cucumber
E4DC0987-CBB2-4EC9-86C0-7DE233DCFDC9.jpeg

Kailan with salted fish
00ED34F2-6238-42FE-9BC0-2695DB26F9D1.jpeg

Zud-zud
A155D07A-A437-43BC-BD46-5558115CACA4.jpeg

Bull frog with brands essence
1A01260A-9D49-4226-891F-2BBE2EA1CB5F.jpeg

4F28457D-87C0-4C43-892F-9DE011B28107.jpeg

1FC53F8D-C786-47CE-B8C6-73DB20C04876.jpeg

Bro, tabao 2 bottle of red tongue dog leh.

5555 sooooo long never drink red tongue dog liaoz.

Pattaya have but draft one. Drink 2 jugs also no kick.

Bro, tabao 2 bottle of red tongue dog leh.

5555 sooooo long never drink red tongue dog liaoz.

Pattaya have but draft one. Drink 2 jugs also no kick.

Now a days no more 7% liao la all 5% same like Chang

Wtf! Red tongue dog is one of my only consolation to go back sinking land.

No wonder last trip in may 2016, can drink quite a few bottles of red tongue dog. Must go with sambal tua tao and cuttle fish kang kong. Yummy yummy.

Bro, zud zud also have in Siam lor. Also call juud juud. Same same but no same.

They dont fried sambal style but just boiled and go with nam jeem sauce. Not aroi.

Breakfast today, sibeh shiok the thosai a little sour really nice

IMG_20180211_090128.jpg

Lou Hei last night at Dempsey Long Beach

dBRJUo2.jpg

gWuIMZG.jpg

SA7OVNl.jpg

For a Thai this is very fun
GZhMw9z.jpg

Giant bamboo clam
bTwYgwW.jpg

qMYFQos.jpg

Black pepper
0NTjpS5.jpg

Scallops and brocolli
hkuOnex.jpg

Grouper with sweet and sour sauce (steamed with soya sauce is nicer)
htYPZoF.jpg

Fried japanese rice with japanese dried prawns, pretty good
2NMPOKI.jpg

Jelly
DYwhGcL.jpg

Most food stalls closed
IMG_20180215_065440.jpg

luckily my favourite prata stall is open
IMG_20180215_065635.jpg