• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Re: Application to High Court for President, Tan Cheng Bock played his cards wrong

nayr69sg

Staff member
I don't know about you guys. But it is just a complete waste of time and money. Only the lawyers will benefit from this.

Fight all you want. Real change can only come about if the sinkies do not continually give the PAP a strong mandate with overwhelming victories at the General Elections. So far that does not look like changing. People keep saying "yeah next GE!" This was said since 2003!

The definition of insanity is to keep doing the same thing and expecting a different result.

Bottomline is PAP is powerful because the sinkies give them the power. Don't blame PAP. Blame sinkies.

Just enjoy the show. Its better than locally produced shows anyway.

I don't know about you guys. But it is just a complete waste of time and money. Only the lawyers will benefit from this.

Fight all you want. Real change can only come about if the sinkies do not continually give the PAP a strong mandate with overwhelming victories at the General Elections. So far that does not look like changing. People keep saying "yeah next GE!" This was said since 2003!

The definition of insanity is to keep doing the same thing and expecting a different result.

Bottomline is PAP is powerful because the sinkies give them the power. Don't blame PAP. Blame sinkies.

flatearther

If SG Court agrees with him, well and good and we will have an open EP.
The constitution:

Singapore Statutes Online - CONST - Constitution of the Republic of Singapore
"19B Reserved election for community that has not held office of President for 5 or more consecutive terms"
statutes.agc.gov.sg/aol/search/display/view.w3p;ident=597bdd3b-6ed2-44a4-b61e-9f16862d492c;page=0;query=DocId%3A%22cf2412ff-fca5-4a64-a8ef-b95b8987728e%22%20Status%3Ainforce%20Depth%3A0;rec=0#pr19B-he-.

"(1) An election for the office of President is reserved for a community if no person belonging to that community has held the office of President for any of the 5 most recent terms of office of the President."

can always be quickly (during the next three months) amended again to "4 most recent terms of office of the President", right? :wink:

Furthermore, even if there's no amendment and your "anti-PAP" candidate (i.e. Tan Cheng Bock) ends up becoming the next (and the fifth non-Malay) "Elected President", do you have any solid proof that he's truly anti-LHL and anti-PAP? :confused:

But if SG Court retains its kangaroo heritage and PAP insists on fielding HY, then someone must take the 2nd step to challenge her ethnicity
That's only IF at least one other person, who is a "100% Malay" qualified Sinkie, is nominated, right? :wink:

Otherwise, if no "100% Malay" Sinkie qualifies or is nominated, then the "pro-PAP" candidate (whether it's HY or another Indian/Chinese candidate, including even Tony Tan again) can, and will probably, win, even if the High Court agrees with TCB (especially since he is probably secretly pro-PAP), right? :wink:

nayr69sg

Staff member
Just enjoy the show. Its better than locally produced shows anyway.

There will be no show.

They will explain that WKW's appointment was for duties pertaining to the Elected President. Hence he is considered an Elected President.

Sinkies will accept this.

Wanna bet this is not going to be the explanation? They already explained it. Hence they will stick to this line.

Thats their argument and thought that AG interpretation would seal it. It does not matter if fair play loses, it just goes to show how they are even scared of an elderly retired doctor. Anyway the Malay community will pay a heavy price for being used in this manner.

There will be no show.

They will explain that WKW's appointment was for duties pertaining to the Elected President. Hence he is considered an Elected President.

Sinkies will accept this.

Wanna bet this is not going to be the explanation? They already explained it. Hence they will stick to this line.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Thats their argument and thought that AG interpretation would seal it. It does not matter if fair play loses, it just goes to show how they are even scared of an elderly retired doctor. Anyway the Malay community will pay a heavy price for being used in this manner.

I doubt that they are scared. They merely view TCB as a nuisance.

What do you mean when you say the Malay community will pay a heavy price for being used? What price?

I talked to some friends and relatives in Singapore. They nonchalantly brushed this issue aside stating that "it is like that one lah".

PAP still has very very strong support from both young and old. Many of my cohort from RI and RJC both in the public and private sector are stalwart PAP supporters. The common theme is that the opposition is so crap. I have to be very careful what I say so as not to offend them severely. Often have to weave in subtle hints and suggestions only.

Do not be fooled by thinking that SBF's posting forumers represent the sinkie public at large. It is far far from the reality.

stupid bock cannot get enough of angmo colonialism. near end of his life he ends up kpkb to amdk for legal opinion on sg affairs. he might as well give up on sg as a cuntry and submit sg to u.k. for colony status again. same with so called u.k. educated sinkies here. eveything boh song run to mother england and kpkb about sinkie injustice. might as well go and suck angmo cock.

I am well aware that SBF is an exception. The respect and "support" for the PAP is given grudingly. No different to residents in a small town greeting the local headman out of fear. The fear for Singapore that their world or whatever their world is can be chaotic if they PAP loses power. Property prices falling, job losses, etc. They know that there is no credible opposition to take over. And PAP ensures that there is no credible opposition in numbers.

Thats why the BEES strategy worked under Chiam. After 2015, the next generation will start building a new life overseas. Look at Arthur's kids. All left Singapore. Any reasonably educated person will consider emigration seriously and why not - balanced life, welfare and health safety net, little emphasis on material wealth, loads of opportunity for their kids and fair play to great degree. I have never heard of a single child wanting to return for good after growing up in a first world country. Sure they will come and work, enjoy expat status, be treated better than Singapreans.

I doubt that they are scared. They merely view TCB as a nuisance.

What do you mean when you say the Malay community will pay a heavy price for being used? What price?

I talked to some friends and relatives in Singapore. They nonchalantly brushed this issue aside stating that "it is like that one lah".

PAP still has very very strong support from both young and old. Many of my cohort from RI and RJC both in the public and private sector are stalwart PAP supporters. The common theme is that the opposition is so crap. I have to be very careful what I say so as not to offend them severely. Often have to weave in subtle hints and suggestions only.

Do not be fooled by thinking that SBF's posting forumers represent the sinkie public at large. It is far far from the reality.

chucky

Very interesting perspective. Different from the usual motherhood statements and gossip. Thanks. :smile:

Cheng Bock played it all wrong. I know what he is trying to do here. He wants the Presidency for himself. he was close the last time and he thinks he can get it this time if not for the Malay requirement. And he knows too that they put this requirement in to stymie him and discourage him. Furthermore, once this Malay/ethnicty requirement is put in place, Cheng Bock will be too old to run. For him, this Presidential election coming up is his last kick at the can. The fact that the PAP is so threatened by him that they would enact a new law just to deny him the opportunity to run, tells you what a tenuous hold the PAP has on this supposedly ceremonial position and tells you that they think Cheng Bock is a formidable opponent.

But has Cheng Bock played his cards wrongly? I think he has. this application he has put in to the High Court to clarify when the reserved presidential term should be enacted is a minor one. He knows that he cannot win here. the Singapore kangaroo court will still rule that Wee Kim wee was an elected President, even though he was not. They will still rule that counting by the numbers, which included WKW's presidency, then we are due for a Malay candidates only reserved election. TCB knows that he cannot win in a Singapore High Court. He can only highlight what is a stupid decision to include WKW in the count. This is of minor importance to Singaporeans.

What he should do is to wait for the election to be over. The PAP will surely run Halimah Yacob as their candidate (even though she is supposed to be impartial). In fact Chan Chun Sing slipped his tongue several times already in Parliament and addressed her as Madam President. Once Halimah Yacob wins the Presidency, that is when Cheng Bock should file a high court challenge over her true ethnicity. Halimah Yacob's father was an Indian. he was a muslim, but more importantly, he was an indian and not a malay. the reserved Presidency is based on race, not religion. If it was based on religion, then HY as a muslim would be fine. But she is not a Malay. She is a half Malay, and on the wrong half too. In singapore, a person's supposed religion, race and dialect group follows the Father and not the mother. If your father is cantonese and your mother is hokkien, then you are considered a cantonese. At the very least, a new race group should be invented for offspring of Indians and Malays. Malaydian? After all, offspring of Chinese and Europeans are called Eurasians, and as a group, they are excluded from the Reserved Presidency. If mixed offspring as are not considered as belonging to any racial group, then HY cannot be considered a Malay, at best she is a Malaydian. Just like offsprings of Chinese and INdians are considered Chindians. SO, HY has a double count going against her. 1) If we go by her paternal lineage, then she is an Indian. Simple as that and means she cannot qualify for this reserved presidency. 2) If we go by mixed heritage, then she is completely excluded. this is so because the new law does not recognized mix heritage, otherwise, Eurasians will also be included as a candidate group for the RP. There are countless legal precedents where the offspring's lineage is determined based on the paternal side.

Cheng Bock should then challenge the results of the Presidential elections in court. he should seek to have HY prosecuted for falsifying her application when she put down she was malay, even though she was not. He should seek to have the elections run again, or seek a repeal of this section of the law after this cock up. Or else, have the runner up be the new President. In any case, this scenario of him waiting after the election to go to court on the result will be a much worse nightmare for the PAP then the trivial case he has now.

Charlie99

I agree with you.

I believe that TCB challenging AGC and pap's opinion is right. This is the first step he takes. If SG Court agrees with him, well and good and we will have an open EP.

But if SG Court retains its kangaroo heritage and PAP insists on fielding HY, then someone must take the 2nd step to challenge her ethnicity

I believe that, in life, we have to take each step at a time, and not miss it.
So, TCB, takes his first step re: "reserved Presidential Elections", and thereafter, in necessary, take the second step re: the race of the candidate(s).

nayr69sg

Staff member
I am well aware that SBF is an exception. The respect and "support" for the PAP is given grudingly. No different to residents in a small town greeting the local headman out of fear. The fear for Singapore that their world or whatever their world is can be chaotic if they PAP loses power. Property prices falling, job losses, etc. They know that there is no credible opposition to take over. And PAP ensures that there is no credible opposition in numbers.

Thats why the BEES strategy worked under Chiam. After 2015, the next generation will start building a new life overseas. Look at Arthur's kids. All left Singapore. Any reasonably educated person will consider emigration seriously and why not - balanced life, welfare and health safety net, little emphasis on material wealth, loads of opportunity for their kids and fair play to great degree. I have never heard of a single child wanting to return for good after growing up in a first world country. Sure they will come and work, enjoy expat status, be treated better than Singapreans.

The respect and adoration for PAP is NOT given grudgingly. My cohort actually praise the PAP government. They sincerely like the PAP. Often they compare LHL to Najib and sing his praises.

I'm afraid that you might be out of touch with the ground. There is a lot of support for the PAP both young and old.

As to children returning to Singapore for good after growing up overseas? What about SC Tan Chee Ming's sons? They were even willing to come back and serve jail terms.

only entitled sinkies who think they very tuakee like angmo buay song kpkb to angmo in u.k. for slap at sg. if this joker misses his colonial subservience perhaps he can start petition to give sg back to the u.k. traitor!

chucky

Yes, agree, one step at a time. Slow and steady wins the race. :smile:

I believe that, in life, we have to take each step at a time, and not miss it.
So, TCB, takes his first step re: "reserved Presidential Elections", and thereafter, in necessary, take the second step re: the race of the candidate(s).

nayr69sg

Staff member
only entitled sinkies who think they very tuakee like angmo buay song kpkb to angmo in u.k. for slap at sg. if this joker misses his colonial subservience perhaps he can start petition to give sg back to the u.k. traitor!

I don't see Trump going to Lord Panic to get his opinion on his Trump Visa Ban or Obamacare.

Neither do I see Trudeau asking Lord Panic about legalizing marijuana.

Sinkie rubbish as usual.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Yes, agree, one step at a time. Slow and steady wins the race. :smile:

Or as a banker once told me (when I suggested being a doctor slow and steady income is good) - ok if you want to keep in the race (working/fighting) till you die. I would rather finish the race as fast as possible and enjoy the rest of my life.