• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Re: Application to High Court for President, Tan Cheng Bock played his cards wrong

flatearther

The PAP will surely run Halimah Yacob as their candidate...
...she has not declared her candidacy.
Unless I'm mistaken, it seems to me that there is a possibility that a Chinese Sinkie (maybe even Tony Tan again) might become the next Sinkie President, simply because of what LHL said in Parliament last year (on 08 November 2016):
channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/next-presidential-election-to-be-reserved-for-malay-candidates-p-7719928
"So for the Presidential Election next year, if a qualified Malay candidate steps up to run, Singapore will have a Malay President again .... in the course of six terms, there should be at least one President from the Chinese, Malay, Indian and other minority communities, provided qualified candidates appear"

which was ultimately based on:

Singapore Statutes Online - CONST - Constitution of the Republic of Singapore
"19B Reserved election for community that has not held office of President for 5 or more consecutive terms"
statutes.agc.gov.sg/aol/search/display/view.w3p;ident=597bdd3b-6ed2-44a4-b61e-9f16862d492c;page=0;query=DocId%3A%22cf2412ff-fca5-4a64-a8ef-b95b8987728e%22%20Status%3Ainforce%20Depth%3A0;rec=0#pr19B-he-.

"(4) The Legislature may, by law —
(c) provide for the dispensation of the requirement that a person must belong to a community in order to qualify to be elected as President if, in a reserved election, no person who qualifies to be elected as President under clause (2)(a), (b) or (c) (as the case may be) is nominated as a candidate for election as President
"

which also means that even:
parliament.gov.sg/mp/halimah-yacob
wikipedia.org/wiki/Halimah_Yacob
can qualify, even if she's "100% Indian" (since no "100% Malay" would have qualified or been nominated), right? :wink:

ckmpd

Doesn't work.

Tcb is playing his card right IMO by mounting a constituition challenge than to exploit HY ethnicity. He will risk being labelled as small minded racist but also offend the Malay community. FYI Malay considered all children of mix parentage as Malay regardless as long as one of the parent is a Malay. Doesn't matter mother or father.

I agree with you that TCB is playing his card right.

The pap is obnoxious and not gentlemanly. Just look at how they scheme and leegally cheat singaporeans without shame nor regret.

A govt which leegally cheats its own citizens must be booted out

TCB is a gentleman and has legally challenged AGC's and pap's opinion.. Let the SG Courts decide who is right.

PAP is living on past glories.

LHL may be book smart but is certainly not wise. Look at how he angered China and deals foolishly with USA.

Trump, Xi, Duterte are wise leaders.

I fear for SG, looking at whom we have...LHL, CCS, TCJ, TCH, LSS, KBW, etc. They only know how to bully Singaporeans. In the international political arena, they are bullied by other leaders. They are so unlike LKY

I have written in the past. What is the difference between the first pioneer generation of leaders (even oppo leaders) and the current crop? The first generation were largely successful before they became politicians. Even oppos like jeyaratnam had a successful law practice and even Harbans Singh's UPF gave the PAP a run for their money. But the main difference is LKY. He did not tolerate failures and incompetence. he had a very low tolerance for fools, did not suffer them well at all. And because he micromanaged things so much, he and GKS always knew what was going on in the Ministries of the Ministers they appointed. U think Old Fart would have tolerated repeated MRT failures? he would have sacked the Transport minister and the head of Stomasick for putting that incompetent Dessie Kock in there. Look at how he managed the SIA pilot union. In a matter that really did not even involve him, he took personal control and whacked them. Imagine what he would have done to the LI rioters and the incompetent poodles who let their police cars and ambulance be burnt. But his son is a different kettle of fish, this guy is busy counting his money. He puts in yes men with no experience to run the govt, and these idiots in turn rely on their number 2s and 3s to run things. The buck is being passed downwards.

I agree with you that TCB is playing his card right.

The pap is obnoxious and not gentlemanly. Just look at how they scheme and leegally cheat singaporeans without shame nor regret.

A govt which leegally cheats its own citizens must be booted out

TCB is a gentleman and has legally challenged AGC's and pap's opinion.. Let the SG Courts decide who is right.

simi lancheow gentleman are you talking about? This fucker was dyed in the wool PAP lap dog. Not only a multi term MP, but also a member of their CEC. U have to be whiter then white and the ultimate PAP insider in order to be in the CEC. Let's not forget that he was the asshole who schemed to further deplete the CPF by allowing it to be used for university studies. I don't trust this guy at all. for all I know, his application to the high court was to divert attention from the real issue. which is HY ineligibility.

ckmpd

I have written in the past. What is the difference between the first pioneer generation of leaders (even oppo leaders) and the current crop? The first generation were largely successful before they became politicians. Even oppos like jeyaratnam had a successful law practice and even Harbans Singh's UPF gave the PAP a run for their money. But the main difference is LKY. He did not tolerate failures and incompetence. he had a very low tolerance for fools, did not suffer them well at all. And because he micromanaged things so much, he and GKS always knew what was going on in the Ministries of the Ministers they appointed. U think Old Fart would have tolerated repeated MRT failures? he would have sacked the Transport minister and the head of Stomasick for putting that incompetent Dessie Kock in there. Look at how he managed the SIA pilot union. In a matter that really did not even involve him, he took personal control and whacked them. Imagine what he would have done to the LI rioters and the incompetent poodles who let their police cars and ambulance be burnt. But his son is a different kettle of fish, this guy is busy counting his money. He puts in yes men with no experience to run the govt, and these idiots in turn rely on their number 2s and 3s to run things. The buck is being passed downwards.

Very true.

LKY suffered no fools and he was well respected. He carried himself well always.

LHL is a fool. Not many people respect him and he often makes a fool of himself.

There lies the difference

Maybe the race reflected in the IC of HY is Malay.

IC means what?
Nothing. U mean to tell me this fucking pinoy's IC (the one who tried to blow up his CNG car) is a chinese? Bullshit lah.

C-WXSbaUwAAZwAm.jpg

ckmpd

simi lancheow gentleman are you talking about? This fucker was dyed in the wool PAP lap dog. Not only a multi term MP, but also a member of their CEC. U have to be whiter then white and the ultimate PAP insider in order to be in the CEC. Let's not forget that he was the asshole who schemed to further deplete the CPF by allowing it to be used for university studies. I don't trust this guy at all. for all I know, his application to the high court was to divert attention from the real issue. which is HY ineligibility.

HY's eligibility is a different issue from what TCB brought up. If TCB loses, and if pap insists on fielding HY, another legal suit can follow. These two issues show the poor intellect of LHL

Very true.

LKY suffered no fools and he was well respected. He carried himself well always.

LHL is a fool. Not many people respect him and he often makes a fool of himself.

There lies the difference

gay loong does not have a vision for singapore, nor does he have a purpose. Old fart had a purpose. He had a big ego. he thought he was smarter and better then anyone else. and to prove that, he will build singapore into a top country in asia. what is gay loong's vision? More casinos? 10 million population? More Billions $ in his bank account?

HY's eligibility is a different issue from what TCB brought up. If TCB loses, and if pap insists on fielding HY, another legal suit can follow. These two issues show the poor intellect of LHL

I hope this is the case. If TCB don't file the suit after the election, i hope another party or individual will.

Tcb is playing his card right IMO by mounting a constituition challenge than to exploit HY ethnicity. He will risk being labelled as small minded racist but also offend the Malay community. FYI Malay considered all children of mix parentage as Malay regardless as long as one of the parent is a Malay. Doesn't matter mother or father.

please lah, don't talk cock here. Peranakans are considered Malays by malays? where got? Yaacob Ibrahim's kids considered Malay? Don't make me laugh.

ckmpd

I hope this is the case. If TCB don't file the suit after the election, i hope another party or individual will.

if HY is indeed an Indian muslim. it is silly for the pap to field her if kangaroo agrees with AGC's opinion.

If Indian Muslim, HY is a lightning conductor if she becomes a Reserved Malay EP candidate. I have no doubt she will attract some legal suits to disqualify her. pap may appear confident and arrogant but they do suffer doubts after committing so many mistakes.

ckmpd

please lah, don't talk cock here. Peranakans are considered Malays by malays? where got? Yaacob Ibrahim's kids considered Malay? Don't make me laugh.

If YI is malay, his kids are malay regardless of her wife's race

If HY's father is Indian, she is an Indian regardless of her mother's race

If YI is malay, his kids are malay regardless of her wife's race

If HY's father is Indian, she is an Indian regardless of her mother's race

I already mentioned in an earlier post. It does not matter what the IC says. Yaacock's kids might have Malay on their pink IC. But does the malay community consider them to be malays. they certainly don't look like it, being half puerto rican. Do they even speak malay?

ckmpd

I already mentioned in an earlier post. It does not matter what the IC says. Yaacock's kids might have Malay on their pink IC. But does the malay community consider them to be malays. they certainly don't look like it, being half puerto rican. Do they even speak malay?

PAP rules by law.

As long as YI's kids are legally malay, you think pap is worried whether the malays accept them as such? If putting someone like YI's kid as EP and that serves pap's purposes best, I have no doubt pap will do so.

Just look at how LHL shafted the Reserved EP down Singaporeans throats. Did he care that many of us didnt agree with him. As long as he can get the Constitution amended and it is legal, he will shaft it down our throats despite our fury.

But HY is a different ballgame, If she is Indian, then i think she does not qualify to be a Reserved EP candidate

Charlie99

Cheng Bock played it all wrong. I know what he is trying to do here. He wants the Presidency for himself. he was close the last time and he thinks he can get it this time if not for the Malay requirement. And he knows too that they put this requirement in to stymie him and discourage him. Furthermore, once this Malay/ethnicty requirement is put in place, Cheng Bock will be too old to run. For him, this Presidential election coming up is his last kick at the can. The fact that the PAP is so threatened by him that they would enact a new law just to deny him the opportunity to run, tells you what a tenuous hold the PAP has on this supposedly ceremonial position and tells you that they think Cheng Bock is a formidable opponent.

But has Cheng Bock played his cards wrongly? I think he has. this application he has put in to the High Court to clarify when the reserved presidential term should be enacted is a minor one. He knows that he cannot win here. the Singapore kangaroo court will still rule that Wee Kim wee was an elected President, even though he was not. They will still rule that counting by the numbers, which included WKW's presidency, then we are due for a Malay candidates only reserved election. TCB knows that he cannot win in a Singapore High Court. He can only highlight what is a stupid decision to include WKW in the count. This is of minor importance to Singaporeans.

What he should do is to wait for the election to be over. The PAP will surely run Halimah Yacob as their candidate (even though she is supposed to be impartial). In fact Chan Chun Sing slipped his tongue several times already in Parliament and addressed her as Madam President. Once Halimah Yacob wins the Presidency, that is when Cheng Bock should file a high court challenge over her true ethnicity. Halimah Yacob's father was an Indian. he was a muslim, but more importantly, he was an indian and not a malay. the reserved Presidency is based on race, not religion. If it was based on religion, then HY as a muslim would be fine. But she is not a Malay. She is a half Malay, and on the wrong half too. In singapore, a person's supposed religion, race and dialect group follows the Father and not the mother. If your father is cantonese and your mother is hokkien, then you are considered a cantonese. At the very least, a new race group should be invented for offspring of Indians and Malays. Malaydian? After all, offspring of Chinese and Europeans are called Eurasians, and as a group, they are excluded from the Reserved Presidency. If mixed offspring as are not considered as belonging to any racial group, then HY cannot be considered a Malay, at best she is a Malaydian. Just like offsprings of Chinese and INdians are considered Chindians. SO, HY has a double count going against her. 1) If we go by her paternal lineage, then she is an Indian. Simple as that and means she cannot qualify for this reserved presidency. 2) If we go by mixed heritage, then she is completely excluded. this is so because the new law does not recognized mix heritage, otherwise, Eurasians will also be included as a candidate group for the RP. There are countless legal precedents where the offspring's lineage is determined based on the paternal side.

Cheng Bock should then challenge the results of the Presidential elections in court. he should seek to have HY prosecuted for falsifying her application when she put down she was malay, even though she was not. He should seek to have the elections run again, or seek a repeal of this section of the law after this cock up. Or else, have the runner up be the new President. In any case, this scenario of him waiting after the election to go to court on the result will be a much worse nightmare for the PAP then the trivial case he has now.

I hope TCB reads this.