• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Speak Dialects, you feel tribal ! Speak mandarin, it will break unity!

lancheowman

i will carry on giving u infraction if u spam me.

i had answered your question about the rhyme again and again. the poem recitation in mandarin, its sound fine to me.

i will let the forum member to decide (if they are interested in connecting to chinese culture) whether it make sense or not your suggestion. that in order to connect to chinese culture, such as shijing or dao de jing etc, one has to first learn dialect.

my question was whether it rhyme not whether it sounded fine ..... that was on sunday,...till today, you have not answered whether it rhyme...if you cannot read chinese, just tell me, uncle will help you...why must you hide behind "it sound fine to me"....nobody is asking you whether it sounds fine....

OR, if afraid of being exposed and if you are desperate and being cornered, pls use INFRACTIONS to save you .... for now

關關雎鳩 在河之洲 窈窕淑女 君子好逑
參差荇菜 左右流之 窈窕淑女 寤寐求之
求之不得 寤寐思服 悠哉悠哉 輾轉反側
參差荇菜 左右采之 窈窕淑女 琴瑟友之
參差荇菜 左右芼之 窈窕淑女 鐘鼓樂之

鳩 rhymes with 洲, 女and 逑?
菜 rhymes with 女 and 之?

char_jig_kar

my question was whether it rhyme not whether it sounded fine ..... that was on sunday,...till today, you have not answered whether it rhyme...if you cannot read chinese, just tell me, uncle will help you...why must you hide behind "it sound fine to me"....nobody is asking you whether it sounds fine....

OR, if afraid of being exposed and if you are desperate and being cornered, pls use INFRACTIONS to save you .... for now

關關雎鳩 在河之洲 窈窕淑女 君子好逑
參差荇菜 左右流之 窈窕淑女 寤寐求之
求之不得 寤寐思服 悠哉悠哉 輾轉反側
參差荇菜 左右采之 窈窕淑女 琴瑟友之
參差荇菜 左右芼之 窈窕淑女 鐘鼓樂之

鳩 rhymes with 洲, 女and 逑?
菜 rhymes with 女 and 之?

u are being anal retentive. it make no difference to me, sounding fine or rhyme.

Frankly speaking who in the hell can even understand this old chinese stuff unless they learn it???

How many years does it take an average sinkee to learn his mother tongue. 6 yrs in primary, 4 years in sec, then maybe 2 years in jc for eg for an average express stream student.

That's a lot of years. Now some idiot with the nick lan jiao kong jiao wei and says it rhymes better in old chinese compared to mandarin.

Maybe that fella has a lot of time to learn on a dead arahic language but most of us don't.
That old chinese is a dead language like latin. Try asking an average student say in the US if he can speak latin, chances are he cannot.

The fact is most ppl speak mandarin today. The standard of chinese in singapore today seems to be declining. Let's not even talk about dialect, mandarin which is taught in schools, some students can't be bothered to learn it well, this is a fact in singapore.

Try showing this old chinese to not even sinkees but to china students. Li bai is prononuced lix brax in old chinese. It sounds less chinese than mandarin.

This POS lan jiao man really kong jiao wei. SO what if mandarin is not as sinoistic as old chinese? The fact is milllions in fact more than a billion ppl are learning that language.

Mind you that old chinese does not sound like any dialect i know of. Try speaking that in the street and see if anyone understands you. :rolleyes:

lancheowman

u are being anal retentive. it make no difference to me, sounding fine or rhyme.

my question was whether it rhyme not whether it sounded fine ..... that was on sunday,...till today, you have not answered whether it rhyme...if you cannot read chinese, just tell me, uncle will help you...why must you hide behind "it sound fine to me"....nobody is asking you whether it makes an difference to you if it rhymes or if it soundfine....

OR, if afraid of being exposed and if you are desperate and being cornered, pls press INFRACTIONS button to save you .... for now

關關雎鳩 在河之洲 窈窕淑女 君子好逑
參差荇菜 左右流之 窈窕淑女 寤寐求之
求之不得 寤寐思服 悠哉悠哉 輾轉反側
參差荇菜 左右采之 窈窕淑女 琴瑟友之
參差荇菜 左右芼之 窈窕淑女 鐘鼓樂之

鳩 rhymes with 洲, 女and 逑?
菜 rhymes with 女 and 之

lancheowman

Frankly speaking who in the hell can even understand this old chinese stuff unless they learn it???

How many years does it take an average sinkee to learn his mother tongue. 6 yrs in primary, 4 years in sec, then maybe 2 years in jc for eg for an average express stream student.

That's a lot of years. Now some idiot with the nick lan jiao kong jiao wei and says it rhymes better in old chinese compared to mandarin.

Maybe that fella has a lot of time to learn on a dead arahic language but most of us don't.
That old chinese is a dead language like latin. Try asking an average student say in the US if he can speak latin, chances are he cannot.

The fact is most ppl speak mandarin today. The standard of chinese in singapore today seems to be declining. Let's not even talk about dialect, mandarin which is taught in schools, some students can't be bothered to learn it well, this is a fact in singapore.

Try showing this old chinese to not even sinkees but to china students. Li bai is prononuced lix brax in old chinese. It sounds less chinese than mandarin.

This POS lan jiao man really kong jiao wei. SO what if mandarin is not as sinoistic as old chinese? The fact is milllions in fact more than a billion ppl are learning that language.

Mind you that old chinese does not sound like any dialect i know of. Try speaking that in the street and see if anyone understands you. :rolleyes:

For those who are not too bright but nevertheless want to participate,

extinct languages are lost forever but this one can be reconstructed thanks to similarities with dialects amongst other things. since it is not dead yet, lets keep it alive because every few ancient languages can be reconstructed just like dat and most are really dead.

and dialects are more chinese than mandarin, when you say mandarin is more chinese than old chinese, thats because you think mandarin is chinese

char_jig_kar

my question was whether it rhyme not whether it sounded fine ..... that was on sunday,...till today, you have not answered whether it rhyme...if you cannot read chinese, just tell me, uncle will help you...why must you hide behind "it sound fine to me"....nobody is asking you whether it makes an difference to you if it rhymes or if it soundfine....

OR, if afraid of being exposed and if you are desperate and being cornered, pls press INFRACTIONS button to save you .... for now

關關雎鳩 在河之洲 窈窕淑女 君子好逑
參差荇菜 左右流之 窈窕淑女 寤寐求之
求之不得 寤寐思服 悠哉悠哉 輾轉反側
參差荇菜 左右采之 窈窕淑女 琴瑟友之
參差荇菜 左右芼之 窈窕淑女 鐘鼓樂之

鳩 rhymes with 洲, 女and 逑?
菜 rhymes with 女 and 之

i don't care. i don't care whether it rhymes or not. so please stop spamming me with this same old question. let me tell u one more time just in case u don't get it:

i don't care whether it rhymes or not in mandarin. as long it sounds fine to me in mandarin, thats okay. i could recite the poem in mandarin without go learn to recite it in dialect.

denzuko1

關關雎鳩 在河之洲 窈窕淑女 君子好逑
參差荇菜 左右流之 窈窕淑女 寤寐求之
求之不得 寤寐思服 悠哉悠哉 輾轉反側
參差荇菜 左右采之 窈窕淑女 琴瑟友之
參差荇菜 左右芼之 窈窕淑女 鐘鼓樂之

鳩 rhymes with 洲, 女and 逑?
菜 rhymes with 女 and 之

Okay, may be let me answer this, since I have been seeing this poem appear over and over and over again. I don't find it rhyme, no matter I read it in mandarin or Cantonese. 鳩 only seems to rhymes with 洲 and 逑 in cantonese, unless I pronounce 鳩 wrongly in mandarin.

If my memory serves me right, the end of the third phrase is not supposed to rhyme, is it? So the 女 is not supposed to rhyme with others. I am sure 菜 and 之 does not rhyme both in Cantonese nor Mandarin.

So which Dialect should the poem be read to Rhyme the whole poem? Can you come up with the Han Yu Pin Yin for the poem?

lancheowman

i don't care. i don't care whether it rhymes or not. so please stop spamming me with this same old question. let me tell u one more time just in case u don't get it:

i don't care whether it rhymes or not in mandarin. as long it sounds fine to me in mandarin, thats okay. i could recite the poem in mandarin without go learn to recite it in dialect.

thank you, i have my glasses on so dun need to magnify and pls get a grip. you put yourself through this because you forget the age old maxim,"honesty is the best policy".

let me reprhase so that you can ctach your breath:

if you are reciting a poem in a foreign language such that it does not rhyme, do you agree with me that it is not a poem anymore but just phrases?

char_jig_kar

thank you, i have my glasses on so dun need to magnify and pls get a grip. you put yourself through this because you forget the age old maxim,"honesty is the best policy".

let me reprhase so that you can ctach your breath:

if you are reciting a poem in a foreign language such that it does not rhyme, do you agree with me that it is not a poem anymore but just phrases?

i prefer to use large fonts at times. that doesn't mean i am out of grip.

i put myself thru this? honesty is the best policy? u have the cheek to talk to me about honesty? u had claim that no one post here in this thread talk down on mandarin, and after i had show it to u that the thread starter, the very first message, is talking down on mandarin, and u carry on doing turning and twisting. and u have the FUCKING CHEEK to suggest that I AM DISHONES?? FUCK YOU.

is the shijing poem in foreign language? isn't it in chinese character? the recitation in mandarin, the link i had posted previously here in this thread, the shijing recitation in mandarin, it sound poetic. it sound rhytmic. it sound like a poem instead of just phrase linking it by brute force. so?? how?

lancheowman

Okay, may be let me answer this, since I have been seeing this poem appear over and over and over again. I don't find it rhyme, no matter I read it in mandarin or Cantonese. 鳩 only seems to rhymes with 洲 and 逑 in cantonese, unless I pronounce 鳩 wrongly in mandarin.

If my memory serves me right, the end of the third phrase is not supposed to rhyme, is it? So the 女 is not supposed to rhyme with others. I am sure 菜 and 之 does not rhyme both in Cantonese nor Mandarin.

So which Dialect should the poem be read to Rhyme the whole poem? Can you come up with the Han Yu Pin Yin for the poem?

oh thats nice of you, you see much time is saved when your lot confront rather than deflect the problem.

you are spot on, there are no rhymes in mandarin ...thank you....

and i have said many times old chinese is close to hokkien so read this in hokkien

if you want hanyu pinyin, go and google la

lancheowman

i prefer to use large fonts at times. that doesn't mean i am out of grip.

i put myself thru this? honesty is the best policy? u have the cheek to talk to me about honesty? u had claim that no one post here in this thread talk down on mandarin, and after i had show it to u that the thread starter, the very first message, is talking down on mandarin, and u carry on doing turning and twisting. and u have the FUCKING CHEEK to suggest that I AM DISHONES?? FUCK YOU.

is the shijing poem in foreign language? isn't it in chinese character? the recitation in mandarin, the link i had posted previously here in this thread, the shijing recitation in mandarin, it sound poetic. it sound rhytmic. it sound like a poem instead of just phrase linking it by brute force. so?? how?

:eek::eek::biggrin::wink::rolleyes::p

poetic, rhythmic, bombastic or zlatan ibrahamovi but no rhyme leh how?....no rhyme mean no rhyme leh...how?

thread starter oso encourage ppl to learn mandarin leh....how come you never read that part leh?

char_jig_kar

:eek::eek::biggrin::wink::rolleyes::p

poetic, rhythmic, bombastic or zlatan ibrahamovi but no rhyme leh how?....no rhyme mean no rhyme leh...how?

thread starter oso encourage ppl to learn mandarin leh....how come you never read that part leh?

no rhyme but i could read it, recite it in mandarin, and understand the poem, how? why must i go learn hokkien to recite shijing? hokkien is not my dialect group.

thread starter did not encourage people to learn mandarin. and u wanna talk about honesty with me u piece of twisting and turning dog shit?

lancheowman

no rhyme but i could read it, recite it in mandarin, and understand the poem, how? why must i go learn hokkien to recite shijing? hokkien is not my dialect group.

thread starter did not encourage people to learn mandarin. and u wanna talk about honesty with me u piece of twisting and turning dog shit?

haizzzz...shallow jiu si shallow ,ppl writing poem u noe, poem leh....u cannot sense the rhyme and rhythm, the poem is gone liao .....like you like dat, gone case....hokkien cannot then you recite in your second mother tongue called teochew ...try lor...lern to read the chinese first hor

this is what thread starter say, everyonecan read except the one who says fine why asked if it rhyme....

<<Keep your dialects, teach your children and learn mandarin only when necessary.

Dont be conned to speaking Mandarin, it will break up local unity.>>

http://www.sammyboy.com/showpost.php?p=195090&postcount=1

char_jig_kar

haizzzz...shallow jiu si shallow ,ppl writing poem u noe, poem leh....u cannot sense the rhyme and rhythm, the poem is gone liao .....like you like dat, gone case....hokkien cannot then you recite in your second mother tongue called teochew ...try lor...lern to read the chinese first hor

wtf u talking about? the poem is written in chinese, of course i read it in chinese.

this is what thread starter say, everyonecan read except the one who says fine why asked if it rhyme....

<<keep dialects,="" teach="" your="" children="" and="" learn="" mandarin="" only="" when="" necessary.="">

Dont be conned to speaking Mandarin, it will break up local unity.>>

</keep>
harlo?? this is so call ENCOURAGE PEOPLE TO LEARN MANDARIN??? LOL!!! i think u recite shijing in ancient chinese too many times until your mind go haywire liao!!<keep dialects,="" teach="" your="" children="" and="" learn="" mandarin="" only="" when="" necessary.=""> ROTFLMAO!!!!
</keep>

denzuko1

oh thats nice of you, you see much time is saved when your lot confront rather than deflect the problem.

you are spot on, there are no rhymes in mandarin ...thank you....

and i have said many times old chinese is close to hokkien so read this in hokkien

if you want hanyu pinyin, go and google la

I have seen your past postings. You seems to have quite a good exposure in Chinese culture.

I am just curious to know, say if base on the older Chinese tuning, how would the characters sound like?

char_jig_kar

haizzz...small boy ,this is unclesee you small, give you a straw to bite on......and oso to teach you dun read one line out of four and jump to conclusion

click on the link and everybody can see what the thread starter was trying to say

you so desperate this one also must cling on so tightly isiit

twist and turn some more u piece of shit? The following is the first message by the thread starter. When did he ever encourage people to learn mandarin??? go straighten your mind before u speak.

"
Speaking dialects in Singapore will bond local people together, in addition, you feel tribal among the local tribe.

Keep your dialects, teach your children and learn mandarin only when necessary.

Dont be conned to speaking Mandarin, it will break up local unity.

Please speak dialects at home, you child will learn more about his or her roots as local singaporeans.

<!-- / message -->"

char_jig_kar

I have seen your past postings. You seems to have quite a good exposure in Chinese culture.

I am just curious to know, say if base on the older Chinese tuning, how would the characters sound like?

here. this is the youtube link he had provided earlier on.

<object width="425" height="344">

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/ZxhdW2yB-iQ&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></object>

lnchwmn4

twist and turn some more u piece of shit? The following is the first message by the thread starter. When did he ever encourage people to learn mandarin??? go straighten your mind before u speak.

"
Speaking dialects in Singapore will bond local people together, in addition, you feel tribal among the local tribe.

Keep your dialects, teach your children and learn mandarin only when necessary.

Dont be conned to speaking Mandarin, it will break up local unity.

Please speak dialects at home, you child will learn more about his or her roots as local singaporeans.

<!-- / message -->"

it is clear for all to see except for the selective blind :cool:

"Keep your dialects, teach your children and learn mandarin only when necessary."

the thread starter is clearly encouraging us to learn mandarin because it is necessary.

char_jig_kar

it is clear for all to see except for the selective blind :cool:

"Keep your dialects, teach your children and learn mandarin only when necessary."

the thread starter is clearly encouraging us to learn mandarin because it is necessary.

LOL!!!

He asked people to learn mandarin only when necessary. He didn't encourage people to learn mandarin, because mandarin is necessary.