• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lee Hsien Loong's stellar military career

To set the record straight I started this thread and I will not remove the word 'stellar' from the thread title.

The word 'stellar' was meant to allude to his super-fast promotion to the rank of BG (which is symbolised by a star, hence the word 'stellar').

It was also meant to be an ironic reference to how 'amazing' his military career was, when in fact we all know that he owed his promotions to the fact that he was LKY's son.

There are many stories about LHL's military career. A veteran SWO once told me of a time when LHL was taking his airborne course. When it came to his turn to jump, he got cold feet and told the instructor that he couldn't do it. The instructor (MSG) told him to wake up his idea, set his parachute for him, and threw him off the plane. LHL passed. But the MSG was dismissed from service soon after.

His military career is NOT STELLAR.

Just wanted to say it again.

Lee5604

I remember there was an interview with Lee Kuan Yew by a local correspondent in the TV, many years back and one of the questions asked at the end of the interview was:

"What do you think of your Generals generally?"

And without hesitation, Lee Kuan Yew answered " Generally good!"

The correspondent then clarified with LKY: "General Lee good or Gernerally all good?

And with a smile, LKY answered: Generally they are all good!

steffychun

I remember there was an interview with Lee Kuan Yew by a local correspondent in the TV, many years back and one of the questions asked at the end of the interview was:

"What do you think of your Generals generally?"

And without hesitation, Lee Kuan Yew answered " Generally good!"

The correspondent then clarified with LKY: "General Lee good or Gernerally all good?

And with a smile, LKY answered: Generally they are all good!

and his Rear Admirals?

All these paper generals are leading the SAF ...what kind of defence do we really have? Since the Auditor-General doesn't audit MINDEF deals, I wonder if all the military contracts are above board?

steffychun

All these paper generals are leading the SAF ...what kind of defence do we really have? Since the Auditor-General doesn't audit MINDEF deals, I wonder if all the military contracts are above board?

We buy all the biggest hardware from the West for them to bask in glory

steffychun

We buy all the biggest hardware from the West for them to bask in glory

Heard it was a Kiwi helicopter pilot from NZAF at Sembawang Air Base who flew the SAF Commandos for the rescue. There was a small detachment of NZAF helicopters at Sembawang Air Base at that time.

Lt. Geoff Ledger was the pilot and he is from the Royal Australian Navy. The other chopper piloted by a RSAF pilot Kao Yit Chee.

Some say that it was LKY's wife who was the back hand behind the scenes. They speculated that while LKY pretends to be a strongman, he is henpecked by Kwa. LKY was said to be an upright person who tried to do the right thing (including preventing his sissy son from entering politics possibly because of a Monk's prediction that nothing good will come from it) but it was Kwa that worked around LKY. Even the biography hinted how Kwa meddle into politics for her family's economical benefit.

Actually, its good that you brought it up. Kwa's influence on the social and economic landscape of singapore has been huge. Kwa really wore the pants in the family,a nd Old Goat was her little bitch. SHe used to write his speeches for him, as many of the ideas were hers eg. the sterilzation policies, stop at 2, women's charter, etc. She even drafted parts of the separation agreement between singapore and malaya. She tried to push both sons into politics. and the Kwa family is much more money minded than the Lees. After she caught Kuan Yew having a mistress in Taiwan, she formed a pte. ltd company called Kwa Geok Choo Pte. Ltd. Put all her assets in there and left Hsien Yang as sole director. Not too much trust in old goat, that he will play with her money when she dies. Old Goat got not shares in KGC Pt. Ltd.

kongkek

Truly a military legend - I can't think of a General with a record this stellar. Patton, Pershing, Mountbatten, McArthur and Powell are all left trailing in his wake.
i just read your post. such valor. how can people say god created all men equal? (i am non-believer of faith)

I have to correct your wrong facts

It as our own RSAF SAR team, Flying Bell 212
The Aust Pilot is on attachment with our SAR team and we have more then capable pilots to take on the mission

It is the stupid Base Commander of SBAB at that time that insist ang moh is better.
He got less night flying hours in Bell 212 but still chosen to go, A very experience pilot is assigned to fly as his co pilot.
so this Ang moh Tua ki mindset is already entrenched way back then.

The decision maker wasted precious time and day light while mooting on the idea of having commandos climb on the cable, over the stuck cable car and climb into the cabin, finally they activate the heli, which makes it so much more difficult to hover at that height with little reference at night

The person making the call is kept confidential till the mission is over and success, only then we know who this ' Hero ' is
I'm sure if the mission crash and burn, some other scapegoat will step forward to take the blame.

Your version is the correct version. I have relatives that were in commandoes during the rescue attempt. Hero Gay Loong tamat the whole after noon, gabra like fuck, don't know what to do. At one time, they wasted too much time exploring the possibility of having commandoes climb the cables, and into the cabin, and doing all this in the dark. Exactly how they were supposed to rescue the passengers once inside the cable car and not themselves become a target of rescue, Hero gay Loong did not elaborate. That day, the wind was strong too, and there nightfall already, so there was a real possibility of us losing commandoes blown over. My relative told me went they were briefed on the plan, they could not believe how stupid it was. Non of them expected to come back alive. In the end, I believe COC cowpehcowbu, and they shelf the plans. Apparently, Hero Gay Loong believe all the MINDEF propaganda that the commandoes were supermen and not just mere humans. LOL.

The helo rescue should have been done immediately during daylight hours. But I just want to correct u on a couple of things. The Aussie RSN pilot Ledger was actually a very experienced Bell 212 pilot. Although the RSAF started operating the 212 in 1977, they only had 3, and so I am not too sure how many hours the Singapore pilots had build up by than on this type. In any case, the RAN seconded him to train RSAF 212 crews, which leads me to believe that not many SIngapore pilots might have reached instructor level on this type. Ledger was already an 11 year veteran with the RAN by the time he did the rescue. Like in real professional armies, rank is attained slowly. So, even though he held a Lt rank, he would have been BG in SIngapore. LOL. Also, while in Australia, he had carried out night time rescue in gusty wind, so he was the best available at that time, not because he was ang mo and tua kee, or that the base commander wanted to go angmo.

By the way, he carried out the most dangerous operation of the 2 choppers. The first chopper piloted by the sinkie was a straight forward lower the rescue tech on the cable car and open the door and go in. Ledger had to rescue people from 2 cars, one of them dangling because of the the cable had snapped, and both the cars were close to the derrick that caused the accident. He could have run into the cable, the derrick, or the dangling car. By the way, u asking who the scapegoat was going to be if the mission was a failure. Does the name Col. Gary Yeo ring a bell? He was the DY RSAF at that time. He was in the PSA Tower next to Gay Loong and supervising the air rescue. If one or both choppers had flamed and crash and taken the cable cars down, u better believe Gay Loong will turn to him and say "You cock up lah".

I'm sure LHL hates PY for introducing a manly wife to him....cue pointy finger pic

Failure Yeo will alwAYS Be protected by Gay Loong for introducing Whore Jinx to him. Gay Loong was looking to marry a mother figure, someone who is cold, ruthless, intellectually high achiever and ambitious, and most importantly fuck ugly like his mother. He found it all in Whore Jinx.

steffychun

Failure Yeo will alwAYS Be protected by Gay Loong for introducing Whore Jinx to him. Gay Loong was looking to marry a mother figure, someone who is cold, ruthless, intellectually high achiever and ambitious, and most importantly fuck ugly like his mother. He found it all in Whore Jinx.

LHL is happier with his man-date than his first wife, whom was a true first lady.