Bargaining Power

An employer-employee relationship is just like a man-woman relationship: the side that wants the relationship less has all the power, and calls the shots.

Thats just called being indifferent.

Hehehe. Don't get headache leh. This topic can also become some complicated. Too complex for me liaoz.:*:

My simple 4 word sentence, "who need who more?" more than enough to earn a living liaoz. Don't get headache leh.

Surprising one of the "useful" things I learn in school in Singapore is that a topic can have various level of understanding to it.

Hehehe. Don't get headache leh. This topic can also become some complicated. Too complex for me liaoz.:*:

My simple 4 word sentence, "who need who more?" more than enough to earn a living liaoz. Don't get headache leh.

Surprising one of the "useful" things I learn in school in Singapore is that a topic can have various level of understanding to it.

guess maths is afterall my favorite subject. was taught to simplify complex equations first beforr solving.:)

I was good in maths and science. Over years, I've learned that the "humanities" subject is more interesting.

guess maths is afterall my favorite subject. was taught to simplify complex equations first beforr solving.:)

i believe i am the first one to come out with the 'who needs who more' concept in sbf.:) in laymen terms, company need you more or you need company more. very simple but important concept.

now lets go back and see if peasants need pappies more or pappies need peasants more?

The typical sinkie usually thinks the government has great bargaining power over him. Could be because he sees them as leaders, as rich people in power, as people who can influence his well-being, make his life better or worse, etc.
That's probably arguable, because the government policies and actions can influence his life. Just on that basis, could be that he needs government more.

But what he has not taken into account are his own mentality and circumstances.
A rich guy should be comfortable enough not to worry about the government. A poor guy should be looking for something better and not bother about what the current government is doing.
Even the average guy with wife, children, parents and parents-in-law to support, he should be comfortable enough with his own circumstances as a professional, a person with certain skills or abilities, a person who can stand on his own 2 feet without being beholden to anyone, to feel that he has less bargaining power vis-a-vis the "leaders".

More importantly, he should have the mentality that he is not afraid.
Get rid of the typical kia su, kia see, kia boh, kia bor, kia chenghu mentality and he can have the greater bargaining power relative to almost anyone.

me would love to strike TOTO $10 million as sole winner. but what chances are there? :o:o:o

Chances are not high, but u can still win. :p

The most important thing is to manage the circumstances (keep buying) and have the mentality that it is possible to win.
But not to the extent that you spend all your money hoping to win, and lament about missing by one number as I heard some aunties doing recently. :D

Never be in a position or develop a mentality where your bargaining power can be compromised. At worst, think win-win. Sometimes have to learn it the hard way though.

How come sexy chiobu wife will have a bargaining edge over you? :D

"be in a position" simply means circumstances. it's not always controllable, but mentality always is.

If you are an old fogey with a sexy chiobu wife, you, she and the world may all think that she calls the shots, wears the pants and also determines when those pants come down.

But if your circumstances are such that you are filthy rich, extremely handsome and charming, have great painting skills, etc, the bargaining power is still yours, because many other sexy chiobus will be waiting to take her place or even a place beside her.

And even if your circumstances are that you are dirt poor and impotent, you can always develop the mentality that you don't give a shit what or who she does. :D

More importantly, he should have the mentality that he is not afraid.
Get rid of the typical kia su, kia see, kia boh, kia bor, kia chenghu mentality and he can have the greater bargaining power relative to almost anyone.

Datok, Agree.

That's why i heck care what people think especially at my vintage. I just drink my chivas atau heineken, play play with prc mei meis atau sitis looking like young yvonne elliman, bet on my horses and the occasional casino visits, go out country 30 days and simply live my agar ai happy lifestyle !:D:o

Bro,

The easiest way to create bargaining power is via personality, charm and charisma.

These go a long way to propelling what would otherwise be an obscure person into a position of influence.

Personality, charm and charisma are all part of what constitutes your "circumstances".

Having the right mentality will also help you to achieve these circumstances/character traits.

Still boils down to bargaining power being driven by circumstances and mentality.

love is not a zero sum game...no need to bargain.

Tracy, get real. It may not be a zero sum game, but there is elements of bargaining power in every single relationship.

Don't kid yourself that it's all about lovey dovery sickly sweet honey. Even when you see elderly couples holding hands, bargaining power still exists. It may not be of an "insidious" nature, but it's there. One example would be when they remind each other they would stay with each other through thick and thin. The promise they made is already some sort of leverage that one has over the other, assuming that they are both people who consider keeping their word important.

An employer-employee relationship is just like a man-woman relationship: the side that wants the relationship less has all the power, and calls the shots.

Not only that. Even if you want the relationship less (relative mentality), but you're a pauper whilst she's a tycoon's daughter (circumstances), chances are that she will be deciding which restaurant to eat this weekend. You might however decide where to go after.

Interesting take, similar to what I've always said about how similar the employee-employer situation is with SM. Yes, that SM, sadist-masochist relationship we hear about. Like in an SM relationship, who do you think has the ultimate power? The one inflicting, or the one being inflicted pain about? The answer is the one receiving the "instruction", pain. You see, like the employee-employer relationship, the "fantasy", fetish, only last if the employee, masochist, adhere to the stated rule of obeying every instructions. However, it ultimate decision of when it ends lies in the employee,masochist if this can continue for how long or not. Hence the saying, "Employees shouldn't be afraid of managers, Managers should be afraid of employees."

Bro, doesn't have to be SM, it's all about M - mentality.

And if the employee detests the manager and happens to find out that he has an incurable disease on the day that the manager decides to fire him (circumstances), good luck to the manager. :eek:

Sometimes I wonder if Tracy is really as naive as she seems. She seems to be living in another world then the rest of us. Wait for her respond to this and you'll get what I mean.

Tracy, get real. It may not be a zero sum game, but there is elements of bargaining power in every single relationship.

Don't kid yourself that it's all about lovey dovery sickly sweet honey. Even when you see elderly couples holding hands, bargaining power still exists. It may not be of an "insidious" nature, but it's there. One example would be when they remind each other they would stay with each other through thick and thin. The promise they made is already some sort of leverage that one has over the other, assuming that they are both people who consider keeping their word important.

Bargaining power? your 命 and 缘份 will determine lots of it.

Another dimension of bargaining power:

可以得到我的身体, 得不到我的灵魂

Happy bargaining...

Sometimes I wonder if Tracy is really as naive as she seems. She seems to be living in another world then the rest of us. Wait for her respond to this and you'll get what I mean.

You may see it as naivity or innocence but it seems that we do have different values, experiences, talents, gifts, etc.

maybe I am quite different from you. sometimes differences make a relationship and experience more interesting. birds of the same kind when they get together can be boring

gals are more feeling, less rationale than guys? it has been researched that gals feel more and reason less than guys. maybe that's the difference between you and me.

Indeed, and on this we are in agreement. Hence we should make good soulmates in here.

You may see it as naivity or innocence but it seems that we do have different values, experiences, talents, gifts, etc.

maybe I am quite different from you. sometimes differences make a relationship and experience more interesting. birds of the same kind when they get together can be boring