Bargaining Power

Don't be mistaken that your boss or your young and sexy chiobu wife always has the bargaining power.

This is a mistake that human beings, especially sinkies living for years under pappy rule, commonly make.

Bargaining power not only depends on who is in a position of strength or power, or who needs who more, it also depends on relative mentality and circumstances.

Once, a forummer commented that he's not afraid of anyone, but only of insane people who may harm him.
This is of course logical, since he has no idea what the insane person can or would do.
But I reminded him that if he had a lifelong enemy who detested him and happened to be dying of an incurable disease without family members, he should probably be wary of this person too.
The forummer didn't reply to this...............................

In the employer-employee relationship, the boss may have the bargaining power. But if you strike $10 million toto by yourself this CNY (a change in circumstances), you may just see a shift in bargaining power, especially if 3 of your colleagues suddenly decide to quit at the same time. Of course, if your mentality is that you love your job, respect your boss dearly and won't desert him in his time of need, then no change.

And? What is your point of this post?
This is a total waste of SBF Bandwidth!
Imbecile!

A gentle reminder for GMS? :*:

No lah, GMS is not the forummer who made that comment previously.
His nick will remain nameless until he himself remembers he made that comment............... :D

In any case this topic is just for discussion purposes.

No lah, GMS is not the forummer who made that comment previously.
His nick will remain nameless until he himself remembers he made that comment............... :D

In any case this topic is just for discussion purposes.

Whats there to discuss when the content of the post is so DAFT?!?

i believe i am the first one to come out with the 'who needs who more' concept in sbf.:) in laymen terms, company need you more or you need company more. very simple but important concept.

now lets go back and see if peasants need pappies more or pappies need peasants more?

Whats there to discuss when the content of the post is so DAFT?!?

unfortunately, this is not daft. pappies has been playing this 'who need who more' games for 5 decades. those that seen through the tricks already move elsewhere. me realise a little too late but better late than never.

ironically, me have to thank pappies for the nice rental income limpeh receive every month for doing nothing. :)

now lets go back and see if peasants need pappies more or pappies need peasants more?

Sad to say it is the former and it will be for the foreseeable future. Hard to change that perception overnight without some major incident.

no i believe tables can be turn around. the first time i enjoy such priviledges is when i cleared my only debt which is the hdb housiny loans. after that, everything changed, me became top performer in company liaoz cos' no longer worry about losing job and have to work becos' of fear of losing shelter. from then on, i no longer need pappies liaoz cos' they need my vote more.

paish, england no good but hope you guys understand.

But if you strike $10 million toto by yourself this CNY

me would love to strike TOTO $10 million as sole winner. but what chances are there? :o:o:o

Singapore Pools was set up to combat loss of revenue to unauthorized gaming operators

I stop buying TOTO to prevent loss of revenue to unwanted foreign talents

Don't be mistaken that your boss or your young and sexy chiobu wife always has the bargaining power.

This is a mistake that human beings, especially sinkies living for years under pappy rule, commonly make.

Bargaining power not only depends on who is in a position of strength or power, or who needs who more, it also depends on relative mentality and circumstances.

Once, a forummer commented that he's not afraid of anyone, but only of insane people who may harm him.
This is of course logical, since he has no idea what the insane person can or would do.
But I reminded him that if he had a lifelong enemy who detested him and happened to be dying of an incurable disease without family members, he should probably be wary of this person too.

In the employer-employee relationship, the boss may have the bargaining power. But if you strike $10 million toto by yourself this CNY (a change in circumstances), you may just see a shift in bargaining power, especially if 3 of your colleagues suddenly decide to quit at the same time. Of course, if your mentality is that you love your job, respect your boss dearly and won't desert him in his time of need, then no change.

Never be in a position or develop a mentality where your bargaining power can be compromised. At worst, think win-win. Sometimes have to learn it the hard way though.

How come sexy chiobu wife will have a bargaining edge over you? :D

Bro,

The easiest way to create bargaining power is via personality, charm and charisma.

These go a long way to propelling what would otherwise be an obscure person into a position of influence.

In the employer-employee relationship, the boss may have the bargaining power. But if you strike $10 million toto by yourself this CNY (a change in circumstances), you may just see a shift in bargaining power, especially if 3 of your colleagues suddenly decide to quit at the same time. .............

Apart from striking the lottery, labour can also increase its bargaining power by being organised into independent trade unions. The 3 colleagues quitting at the same time instead of being a coincidence becomes a tactic. This is called a peaceful strike. Chances of this being successful is far higher than striking the lottery.

I'm sure JW5 is already well versed, this video is more for the bystanders to be enlightened.

[video=youtube;ubIWyT7nGdU]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ubIWyT7nGdU[/video]

An employer-employee relationship is just like a man-woman relationship: the side that wants the relationship less has all the power, and calls the shots.

Interesting take, similar to what I've always said about how similar the employee-employer situation is with SM. Yes, that SM, sadist-masochist relationship we hear about. Like in an SM relationship, who do you think has the ultimate power? The one inflicting, or the one being inflicted pain about? The answer is the one receiving the "instruction", pain. You see, like the employee-employer relationship, the "fantasy", fetish, only last if the employee, masochist, adhere to the stated rule of obeying every instructions. However, it ultimate decision of when it ends lies in the employee,masochist if this can continue for how long or not. Hence the saying, "Employees shouldn't be afraid of managers, Managers should be afraid of employees."

There are three types of people at the workplace:

1) The people who do real work.
2) Managers instructing #1.
3) Consultants advising #2.