• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SAF Sent Letter to Dead NSF Collect SAF Card

Today 05:59 PM#1TopSageReturns
  • profile.png
    View Profile
  • forum.png
    View Forum Posts
  • message.png
    Private Message

user-online.png

<dl class="userinfo_extra"><dt>Join Date</dt> <dd>Aug 2012</dd><dt>Posts</dt> <dd>318</dd></dl>

[h=2]Death of A Singaporean Son - Dominique Lee[/h]
I want to share with you this letter posted in TREmeritus written by a Singaporean about his friend Dominique Lee who lost his life while serving NS. When MINDEF sent the condolence letter, they didn't even bother to spell Dominique Lee's name correctly.

We know that Singaporean lives in the economic sense are expendable but at least some respect has to be shown for those who died serving the nation.

-------------
Back in April 2012, my friend, Dominique Lee passed away while serving in SAF. I’m sure you have heard or wrote a story about his death. However, since his death, his family has taken on a wild goose chase by the government and they have decided to take things into their own hands.

I am contacting you on behalf of my friend’s mother hoping that you will do a story so that we can gain some awareness and support from the Singapore community as this will affect every son, brother, nephew or boyfriend.
We do not want more deaths to occur especially with MINDEF’s level of ignorance. In August, my friend’s mum received a letter from them instructing her already dead son to collect his SAF CARD! This clearly tells us that every NS death is just a number to them and how insensitive the government is to his family by rubbing salt in their wounds!
Also, when he died, Defence Minister Ng Eng Han ‘wrote’ a condolence letter to his mother and guess what, THEY SPELT HIS NAME WRONG. I hope that you will take the time to read what my friend’s mum has to say so we can garner support from the Singapore online community and tell the government that we demand action and not just words.
Once again, I’d like to thank all for taking the time to read this. His mother has drafted up a note to be shared. You can find a note written by his mother here:

From Felicia Seah (Dominique Lee’s Mum):

I am a mother of 2 Singaporean sons. My sons are my world. My elder son was enlisted into the SAF November last year. On 17 April 2012, I received a call from the hospital that my son had been admitted to the A&E. When I arrived at the hospital, I was told that my son had died from respiratory failure. In that instance, my world collapsed.It is clear to my family and me that my son’s death was preventable. He was asthmatic. The incident that cost him his life was an urban training exercise involving smoke bombs in a confined area.

However, it is not his death I wish to discuss here. The issue I wish to present to you is that of safety regulations in the SAF. I am urging all parents of Singaporean sons to stand with me, to advocate for greater accountability on the part of the SAF for the safety of our sons. We cannot be mere bystanders when our sons are conscripted into NS. We cannot allow for our sons to be at the mercy of the training officers, be it the platoon sergeants or commanders, who are very often, little older and none the wiser than the boys they are tasked to oversee, boys whose lives often depend on the decisions that they make.
I do not wish my tragedy on anyone and I do not want my son’s untimely death to go into the books of MINDEF as just another accident. Parents, I urge you to join me, so that MINDEF may hear our collective voice, and be moved to do more than pay lip service to ensure that our sons come back home alive and well.
Together, let’s call for:
1. More thorough screening of the medical history of NSF pre-enlistment, to ensure accurate fitness classification.
2. More stringent risk assessment of every training exercise.
3. Better equipped medical centres with better trained medical staff at/near every training location.
4. More stringent monitoring of staff who oversee NSF, to weed out abuse of power at all levels.
5. Greater accountability by MINDEF and SAF to all parents.
Parents, let us stand together to protect our sons and keep our families intact.
Let us bring our sons home safe!
Kindly share this message with friends, relatives or anyone that you know.
Felicia Seah
(Dominique Lee’s Mum)

History:
According to the Ministry of Defence (MINDEF), Lee experienced breathing difficulties at 12.30pm. Three minutes later, he lost consciousness. A Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) medic attended to him immediately.
At 12.46pm, he was evacuated via a safety vehicle to Sungei Gedong Medical Centre, where an SAF doctor attended to him at 12.52pm.
At 1.03pm, he was conveyed in an ambulance to the National University Hospital (NUH), with an SAF doctor continuing to resuscitate him en route to the hospital.
Lee arrived at the NUH at 1.22pm. He was pronounced dead at 2.05pm.
When a death occurs it is difficult to put the blame entirely on any one person, however it is owed to us that ourselves, sons, brothers and boyfriends are provided enough support when being forced to serve NS. Many deaths are preventable, and both SAF and MINDEF must acknowledge this and work towards preventing such tragedies from occurring.

Help to share this message with your friends and family so that the government can recognise that IT IS an important issue that needs more extra attention.
On behalf of Felicia Seah​

Peng kias are expendable. They won't lose sleep over the demise of one.

That's why it is important for all NS slaves to not be siao on. Do the bare minimum, serve and fuck off.

And SAF/Mindef must be high if they expect any conscripts to turn up for reporting in a real war.

Let the daft ones be cannon fodder for the rich elites. Save yourselves. If Singapore loses its sovereignty, so be it.

This is a simple task, those Mindef fucktards can't even get the name of the deceased right..

Like that how to win a war?

This goes to show that the Govt don't give a damn about NSFs who died while serving this Nation and yet they expect us to be ''Siao On'' during BMT and ICTs..

someone will tell u its mind over body...knnccb and fuck them...who gonna be responsible when a ife is gone?

damn jialat i tell you...have seen some of the most dreaded things done but im not going to say it here.
its just horrible

RIP soldier.

What a big contrast to KFC phoney tan's precious son, Patrick Tan who got a 12 year deferment.

Wonder why Sinkees still bother to serve NS??

its already very bad for a parent to lose a son after bringing him up for 18 years.
Worst is when he died because of somebody's negligence for something that he was 'forced' into
Adding salt to injury is when they dont even recognise or remember him at all

MINDEF really has to wake up. They must remember that they are dealing with somebody's very dear family member and not a digit.

Together, let’s call for:
1. More thorough screening of the medical history of NSF pre-enlistment, to ensure accurate fitness classification.
2. More stringent risk assessment of every training exercise.
3. Better equipped medical centres with better trained medical staff at/near every training location.
4. More stringent monitoring of staff who oversee NSF, to weed out abuse of power at all levels.
5. Greater accountability by MINDEF and SAF to all parents.
Parents, let us stand together to protect our sons and keep our families intact.
Let us bring our sons home safe!
Kindly share this message with friends, relatives or anyone that you know.

Call from a brave mother.
But what happens after sharing? What concrete actions can parents of Singapore sons take?
Yes, voting is one. But are there other specific tools within legal means? Forming interest groups? Online petitions (don't think they care)? Jamming them with emails?

This is a simple task, those Mindef fucktards can't even get the name of the deceased right...
Don't call them fucktards lah.
'Dominique' is a girl's name that's why the confusion.

A lot of times, people want to take ang mor name but dontch know the nuances.
French names lagi tricky.
I've met girls who call themselves 'Rinny' but spell their name 'Renee'.
Another one chose 'Genevieve' but gave up on its pronunciation and ask me to call her 'Ah Girl'.

Don't call them fucktards lah.
'Dominique' is a girl's name that's why the confusion.

if dominique was the name listed in the nric, then there no excuse to make a mistake. u really believe bargain hen really spend even 1 min to write the letter? More likely a template with spaces to insert the names only and signature only.

just to get this clear, collect 11B or SAFRA card? if 11B, then CMPB really deserved to kan but if it is SAFRA card still can accept as SAFRA is a club who wont keep record of members death.

Call from a brave mother.
But what happens after sharing? What concrete actions can parents of Singapore sons take?
Yes, voting is one. But are there other specific tools within legal means? Forming interest groups? Online petitions (don't think they care)? Jamming them with emails?

NS is National Slavery....what makes you think slaves got rights?
Vote out this government and MAYBE we got a chance to abolish NS....no need to dream until the 60.1% wise up.

got another case from the real singapore

By PHILIP PHAY
In March 2010, my son, Wesley Phay, 17, a former GEP student who is diagnosed with severe suicidal depression by the MOH-IMH Child Guidance Clinic's Senior Consultant, was due to have his enlistment medical check-up.
He has expressed much anxiety about serving his National Service due to his severe depression, and I contacted CMPB to request for a one-to-one evaluation by the Mindef Psychiatrist to determine his status before the medical check-up, citing his severe depression. Not only did the staff at CMPB take it very lightly, they insisted that he should attend the medical check-up 'just like everybody else". I think that their attitude is that these boys are just a number to them, not a human being, not somebody's precious son. On 22 March, the day of my son's medical check-up, he committed suicide. I will never forget that day.
Worse of all, when I was at the mortuary to collect my son's body, CMPB staff kept calling me to ask if my son is going to report for the medical check-up, and threatening to issue a summon to make him report. When I scolded them that they didn't even flag out this case as special-illness case as I had requested, but just any other case, and that my son had committed suicide and I was at the mortuary, they only said "Oh" and hung up. No apologies whatsoever! Heartless bastards. I had wanted to write to Mindef at that time, but didn't do so because of the funeral and the grief we were all suffering.
This article brought back those painful moments. And I decided to post this. Please keep up the pressure to the Mindef, SAF, Home Team, Civil Defence, and to pressure them to take serious precautions and treat every male citizens enlisted in National Service with utmost respect and care. Every NS man alive is an extra man to defend Singapore.

Editor's Note: Our deepest condolences to Mr Phay and we assure him that we will continue to pressure the MINDEF towards better care and precautions towards our enlisting boys. If you have a similar story to share feel free to email [email protected]

Anyone got the balls to opt for 3 years in prison in lieu of 2 years NS? Besides religious zealots I doubt anyone dares to.

Pardon my ignorance. I was under the impression we lost our sovereignty when foreigners legally invaded S'pore.

Correct.

It started during Woody's reign, then became a free for all fuckfest when Pinky took over.

MINDEF really has to wake up. They must remember that they are dealing with somebody's very dear family member and not a digit.

Mindef will only be on the ball when one of the shiny white horse gets collected by the grim reaper.

just to get this clear, collect 11B or SAFRA card? if 11B, then CMPB really deserved to kan but if it is SAFRA card still can accept as SAFRA is a club who wont keep record of members death.

Im also as blur. 11B will be handed to you when you kiss your pink ic goodbye. That one no need letter to colect.

As for SAFRA card, CMPB don't have to send letter. It's nothing important, I get mine in the mail the last time.