NS Thread: All things NS related

So, I noticed something new trending through the years. Or maybe it's just natural progression.

It seems to me that the number of NS deaths have declined through the years. Used to be several a year in my time. Mostly from suicides, accidents, negligence, etc. I suppose as the SAF gets more experience, they have put in place safety protocols to reduce deaths. Also, training is easy now, eg lights out at 10pm, parent visits, no harsh language, and focus on guniang soldiers., more welfare, etc. This seems to have reduced the incidents of suicides and fratricide.

However, serious injuries seem to continue to arise. My friend recently told me his son had a hairline fracture on his spine caused by a SAR-21 rifle slung on his back, and hitting his spine. Another one had a clavicle broken from an accident in a 3 tonner. Many other such incidents, unreported of course. Only deaths are reported in the SAF.

now recruits and NSmen are groomed as strawberries with welfare for short holidays to go through motion as compared to the pioneer batches ... of course no more suicides and killings of officers lah .... :whistling:

Once upon a time, phones were banned in camps. Then they allowed those crappy cheap camera-less Nokia phones. Then phones not allowed in certain 'restricted zones' inside the camp.

Very welfare. I bet many kids know how to swipe TikTok before they learn how to crawl or eat solid food these days. :unsure:

Any samster from old sbmt nee soon?
To me was a nightmare.
At times until now I still dream about it.

Buddy from tekong lamented to me.
I don't know but old sbmt was a hell to me.
What so nightmarish about SBMT ?

Worst than Changi prison inmates. Might be equivalent to a dB.

I didn't felt myself a human anymore.

During my time, many punishments were not banned yet.
Eg quick march. Change parade. The jumping jack etc. Everyday will have patterns. I couldn't take it anymore so I tried to geng whenever I could.
The platoon commander marked me for always genging, without myself knowing it. So once during pumping position down with full pack on, I lowered my knee to rest, unawared he was behind.
He ran straight and kicked with full force on my head (with sbo) that I flew a few metres away :eek: and felt a bit of concussion after that .

The moment I sees a corporal aka instructor anywhere, even not within my company, my heart would pound, due to accumulated fear.

I was lucky (or unlucky) several mths after pop I was downgraded to temp pes c2 due to motosikal injury and posted to mindef for clerical.

I Lee gained full dignity over there.
With many nusaf, chiobu everywhere.

But It never came to my mind, shortly after leegaining my dignity, one fine day while going for canteen lunch, I was damn unlucky to be picked by the "general of mindef" I.e the head incik of the Provost. He commanded me to double up to him with full parade command, echo was heard within the aircon lobby, dropped down in front of many chiobus in the big fucking lobby of mindef office wtf. :confused: I didn't even know what the fuck I had committed. Finally after the pumping, he told me next time never be lazy while opening the glass door, use the handle and don't press the glass, understand, Lu fucking corporal!!

Worst than Changi prison inmates. Might be equivalent to a dB.

I didn't felt myself a human anymore.

During my time, many punishments were not banned yet.
Eg quick march. Change parade. The jumping jack etc. Everyday will have patterns. I couldn't take it anymore so I tried to geng whenever I could.
The platoon commander marked me for always genging, without myself knowing it. So once during pumping position down with full pack on, I lowered my knee to rest, unawared he was behind.
He ran straight and kicked with full force on my head (with sbo) that I flew a few metres away :eek: and felt a bit of concussion after that .

The moment I sees a corporal aka instructor anywhere, even not within my company, my heart would pound, due to accumulated fear.

I was lucky (or unlucky) several mths after pop I was downgraded to temp pes c2 due to motosikal injury and posted to mindef for clerical.

I Lee gained full dignity over there.
With many nusaf, chiobu everywhere.

But It never came to my mind, shortly after leegaining my dignity, one fine day while going for canteen lunch, I was damn unlucky to be picked by the "general of mindef" I.e the head incik of the Provost. He commanded me to double up to him with full parade command, echo was heard within the aircon lobby, dropped down in front of many chiobus in the big fucking lobby of mindef office wtf. :confused: I didn't even know what the fuck I had committed. Finally after the pumping, he told me next time never be lazy while opening the glass door, use the handle and don't press the glass, understand, Lu fucking corporal!!
They were jealous of your John Lone's looks.

Poly should be serving 2.5 years, and chances are you will be in Tekong. SBMT only for PES C modified BMT, I think.

They were jealous of your John Lone's looks.

Poly should be serving 2.5 years, and chances are you will be in Tekong. SBMT only for PES C modified BMT, I think.
You are right.
I was at pes C, modified BMT, which exclude soc, the morning bx, the log pt and Shortened route march. And rifle range without the run down.
But the mental torture over there should be far worst than the physical for pes A&B.
Some of my poly mates were there as pes A when they signed on rsaf.
The Botak in sbmt was also more Botak than tekong, the monk kind.

The weird part of being in mindef.
When you are a corporal and above, but in navy lumber 3, people there, including the Provost incik, the army, rsaf or navy uniformed personnel will assume that you are a leegular.

My 2nd round of losing my dignity was inside a lift, when I asked another personnel which level was Winston choo orfit, as I needed to leeleever letter to him.

Suddenly a loud voice came within the lift and tekaned me - call yourself a leegular and you don't even know which level.
Wtffffff ccb.
I saw he was an orhweesir so I zipped.
Or else I would have told him off you ownself a useless leegular and assume I'm like you ah :coffee:

When you are a corporal and above, but in navy lumber 3, people there, including the Provost incik, the army, rsaf or navy uniformed personnel will assume that you are a leegular.

My 2nd round of losing my dignity was inside a lift, when I asked another personnel which level was Winston choo orfit, as I needed to leeleever letter to him.

Suddenly a loud voice came within the lift and tekaned me - call yourself a leegular and you don't even know which level.
Wtffffff ccb.
Or else I would have told him off you ownself a useless leegular and assume I'm like you ah :coffee:
I only realized in the later part of my life that 90% of animosity came from jealousy. It could be your looks, it could be your youth or your popularity with the opposite sex.

Never heard of semb itd.
I tot itd is tekong and semb is all for the naval
ITD aka Infantry Training Depot oso called Tiger Barracks, was managed by the British, later handed over to the SAF when they pulled out

Wtffffff ccb.
Im not very sure about other unit postings.
I only know that after BMT, those recruits from tekong that was posted to eg safinco, after they pass out from the instructor course, they will be promoted to corporal.

Those peers nsf within my mindef group, all were either chow pte or lunch corporals.

Some were pes E direct, some were pes A BMT out of course, some were signed on and went to their naval BMT.

All of them need to take a long time to be promoted to lunch corporal, and even they were gce air level or poly cert, by the time they were promoted to corporal, was already near their rod date.

I was an odd one out.
After my sbmt, I was posted to X unit (secret, cannot say here else some people will know who I am :geek: cos of the niche nsf mkt) 3 mths later I was already promoted to corporal after passing a test )
So the moment I stepped on mindef ground, I was already a corporal.
My leepartment those chow pte all thought that I grad from safinco, when I leeported there in lumber 4 KNN

Sharing a incident that I find is laughable.

I got this very playful friend.
He was a direct pes E, posted to one of those mono intake unit as a clerk.

After he leeceived his lunch corporal rank, he asked one of the blur fuck leecruit there to pumping position down, and that fella leelee down for him :roflmao:

I only realized in the later part of my life that 90% of animosity came from jealousy. It could be your looks, it could be your youth or your popularity with the opposite sex.
Possible. Maybe they were jealous of my then good looks, hmm...

Ahh I leemember now.
On that day of enlistment, after we were transported to nee soon after collecting the Ali baba bag from the warehouse, the pc who marked me, was leequired to have short welcum interviews with all the leecruits.
He have not shown his true colour on the first few days.
He asked me - what is the Lee son you are posted to pes C, for being punk is it?
It means at that time, he was already jealous of me looking different from the other leecruits KNN KNN KNN

Ahh I leemember now.
On that day of enlistment, after we were transported to nee soon after collecting the Ali baba bag from the warehouse, the pc who marked me, was leequired to have short welcum interviews with all the leecruits.
He have not shown his true colour on the first few days.
He asked me - what is the Lee son you are posted to pes C, for being punk is it?
It means at that time, he was already jealous of me looking different from the other leecruits KNN KNN KNN
What does "for being punk" mean ?

I cannot conlanfirm it but this means he was targeting into my appearance.
As I was dressing in the latest trend then with latest hairdo.
I know what you mean. But your hairdo was merely a cover for him. It's your handsome face that he buaysong. Obviously, he could not bring himself to admit you were handsome.

Even I might look tiao but my behaviour was totally good and leespect, especially knowing his rank.
So you should be right, he was jealous of my overall looks KNN