Some questions about NS

Any bros here can answer me the below questions :

1) Nowadays I seldom see NS people wearing uniforms in public places like mrt, shopping, and even nearby MINDEF .Occasionally can still see some but very rare, as compare to 90s whereby everywhere are uniforms personnel. Is it a new order that NS people should change to civilian attire once out of camp ?

2) Is there still a COG (Change of guard) ceremony at Istana every 1st Sun of the month ?

3) During COG, there are 3 contingents 1) SAF Band 2) Provost Unit Precision Drill 3) Guards. Are the guards unit also from the Military Police ?

4) Who actually do the guard duty in Istana ? I usually can see a mata and some guards. Are the guards from MP or from Gukha ?

5) SAFPU (Provost Unit) are they full time practising rifle drill only ? If yes then is really cho bo lan .

6) RP - What actually does a RP do, simply guarding the camp gate ? If yes then is really cho bo lan vocation :D

7) MP - Is it a requirement that the person cannot be short sighted ? Cos I had never seen a MP with spectacle.

As to your question(s)..

WHO CARES?

You still proud to want to do NS meh?

The FTs don't? LOL

yes, who cares. Pls direct them to Public Affairs, mindef.

only 1 quest questionable. Any transport concession whether in uniform or not like before?
NS is partially used as a FRONT for Post Ed employment.

you haben serve NS?
i will try to answer best as i can

1) ashamed of the uniform maybe? or birthrate low less soldiers nowsadays. back then OCT also cannot wear rank on public transport aka buses.back then no MRT.

2) yes. used to be be the istana guards wear number one and the changing of guards machiam buckingham palace beefeaters...now not sure

3) guards from MP unit

4) there are Gurkhas in istana afaik

5) SAFPU (Provost Unit) does more than precision drills.....inside got dog unit, got SIB as well. precision drill learn from taiwanese....the female soldiers does it there.

6) RP - jaga gate only.....its a vocation during NS.....reservist back to riflemen

7) MP - not sure only know requirement must be taller than 1.75m then.

6) RP - jaga gate only.....its a vocation during NS.....reservist back to riflemen

pls lah, RP do more than jaga airbase gate. they also patrol the perimeter and defence the installions from attack. They are also riflemen like infantry unit, dig defense trenches but they 10men section. some even have the V200.

b4 i forget, they provide the marching contingent for the airforce in ndp. better be a shortie if really posted to RP.

I'm a lao peng already. My nephew aspires to be a MP lor so he asked me some questions that I cannot answer him. He wear specs so I not sure he can qualify. If cannot then ask him to try for RP :D For youth that sign up with MINDEF can they choose their vocation ah ?

pls lah, RP do more than jaga airbase gate. they also patrol the perimeter and defence the installions from attack. They are also riflemen like infantry unit, dig defense trenches but they 10men section. some even have the V200.

b4 i forget, they provide the marching contingent for the airforce in ndp. better be a shortie if really posted to RP.

OIC...is it only base like airbase and naval base got RP ?

I'm a lao peng already. My nephew aspires to be a MP lor so he asked me some questions that I cannot answer him. He wear specs so I not sure he can qualify. If cannot then ask him to try for RP :D For youth that sign up with MINDEF can they choose their vocation ah ?
MP only train in 2 things during on course......unarmed combat and running.....motto is if cannot fight then run road. only officers have sidearms.....other ranks dun have so quite dangerous especially going after awol soldiers.
Some also ride motorbikes become machiam TPs.....

wao lao, u lao peng yet neber tell your nephew the correct way to pass NS with the mininium effort.

btw, a specky secondary classmate also provost so specs shd not be a problem.

thanks for clarifications...RP i feel is a fucked up vocation. must be bored stiff

OIC...is it only base like airbase and naval base got RP ?

shd be lah. a friend RP in tengah. only served 7HK already MR. ICT rotate between field training and jaga gate. if no gate duty and field training everyday can go home during reservist.

There is no more SAFPU now. It is now called the 'SAF MP Command'.

From what I know, MPs (military police) do lots of behind the scenes shit, it's not just doing a rifle-twirling monkey show for spectators. They arrest and charge AWOLers and deserters. They are the wardens in the detention barracks. They provide security in key installations (Istana, Mindef, various classified locations). They provide combat support for frontline units. Some are like plainclothes policemen who go investigate serious crimes in the SAF (murders, sex abuse etc.)

MPs must be tall (no midgets) and no tattoos on the body.

It's not exactly a prestigious vocation. Many out-of-course dropouts from OCS, SISPEC and commandos get dumped to Provost.

Good life is not guaranteed... it depends on where you get posted to after basic MP training.

And I don't think you can choose your vocation. Before enlistment, every SG teen boy does an aptitude test at CMPB. Based on your results, they'll pick your vocation for you.

i had the most envious vocation in my NS days : GD man..:)

MPs must be tall (no midgets) and no tattoos on the body.

It's not exactly a prestigious vocation. Many out-of-course dropouts from OCS, SISPEC and commandos get dumped to Provost.

Good life is not guaranteed... it depends on where you get posted to after basic MP training.

And I don't think you can choose your vocation. Before enlistment, every SG teen boy does an aptitude test at CMPB. Based on your results, they'll pick your vocation for you.

OIC, so far I gave nephew all wrong info , I thought sign on and normal enlistment is different can choose vocation.
During my NS time, I see MP as a privilege vocation, cos once in MINDEF I saw a lance coporal MP can tekan a LT and the LT just lan lan cos he was wearing a t shirt inside his no. 3, and all they were doing in my sight were jaga gate, monkey rifle drill, look very sinnang yet powerful. Unlike other vocation see officer only have to greet.

MP only train in 2 things during on course......unarmed combat and running.....motto is if cannot fight then run road. only officers have sidearms.....other ranks dun have so quite dangerous especially going after awol soldiers.
Some also ride motorbikes become machiam TPs.....

Huh u sure bo, only officer carry arms ? I saw those guarding MINDEF post pte etc also have pistol lah .

Sign on can choose vocation la.
MPs inside DB all the inmates call you SIR even if just a corporal.

OIC, so far I gave nephew all wrong info , I thought sign on and normal enlistment is different can choose vocation.
During my NS time, I see MP as a privilege vocation, cos once in MINDEF I saw a lance coporal MP can tekan a LT and the LT just lan lan cos he was wearing a t shirt inside his no. 3, and all they were doing in my sight were jaga gate, monkey rifle drill, look very sinnang yet powerful. Unlike other vocation see officer only have to greet.

Who gives a shit about what is happening to the NS / SAF scene? What's most important is that I'm no longer part of it! Fuck NS and SAF!!!