• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The 70's Thread - Anything until the Dec 1979.

Teachers were very creative meting out punishment...
Pulling ears doing squats etc...
Once I was caught shooting rubber bands at classmates and had to stand infront of the class holding rubberband in a Cupid stance for the entire period.

I used to be slapped, made to stand on my table, write long lines and also got the pencils within fingers treatment.
Took all in my stride. Some kaypoh kampong fellow students tell our parents.
Our parents were happy for the say we deserve it.

Today the situation (Nowadays, kns parents complain and sue teachers) is such. very true.
That is why we get street-corner gang members (school-kids), drug-addicts, glue-sniffers and other juvenile delinquents.

Charlie99

You are very correct bro,

It was Jeffrey Chan and not Ang.

Forgot over the years. Many thanks bro. Truly appreciate

Mr. Jeffrey Chan is now Dy Solicitor General.
Please refer to the follwoign, which I copied from the Singapore Government Directory

Post Name DID Email
Attorney-General Steven CHONG Horng Siong
63325950 -
Personal Assistant Ms Alice Chua Tuan Yong
63325950 [email protected]
Solicitor-General Mrs KOH Juat Jong, PPA(E), PBS, PPA(E) (L)
63325922 [email protected]
Personal Assistant Ms SIM Kim Poh
Second Solicitor-General Lionel YEE Woon Chin,PPA(P),PPA(E)
63325970 [email protected]
Personal Assistant Ms ONG Wee Leng, Angela
Dy Solicitor-General Jeffrey CHAN Wah Teck, PPA(P), PBS, PPA(E)
63325951 [email protected]
Personal Assistant Ms Patricia NG Poh Toye
68378365 [email protected]
Chief Prosecutor, (Projects) Bala REDDY, PPA(P), PBS
63325935 [email protected]
Personal Assistant/Support Officer Ms Cindy SOH Kheng Ling, PB
63325220 [email protected]
Quality Service Manager Samuel CHUA Hwa Kuan
18003399737 [email protected]

Kohliantye

May I correct you, because as a child, I was bornand raised at Telok Blangah, near Jardine Steps (after dinner, my father took my siblings and I there once or twice a week), where there are ferries to Pulau Brani, Pulau Belakang Matia, and the much bigger ferries [any one remember oen of the, Laju] to Pulau Bukom.
Of course, if one missed the ferry, one can take the motorized sampans.

The Laju Ferry Hijack -31 January 1974.
Four armed men with guns and explosives attacked the Shell oil refinery complex on Pulau Bukom.
They were from the Japanese Red Army (JRA) and Popular Front For the Liberation of Palestine PFLP).
Their AIM: To prevent oil from Singapore going to other countries, especially South Vietnam.
Laju was surrounded by Police patrol boats.
Negotiations started.
Terrorists demanded a safe passage to Middle-East.
A group led by SR Nathan, then Director Director of Military Security and Intelligence, followed the terrorists to Kuwait aboard Japan Air Lines that flew off from Paya Lebar Airport after midnight. By then the terrorists had already surrendered their weapons to Singapore Police.

Charlie99

Four armed men with guns and explosives attacked the Shell oil refinery complex on Pulau Bukom.
They were from the Japanese Red Army (JRA) and Popular Front For the Liberation of Palestine PFLP).
Their AIM: To prevent oil from Singapore going to other countries, especially South Vietnam.
Negotiations started.
A group led by SR Nathan, then Director Director of Military Security and Intelligence, followed the terrorists to Kuwait aboard Japan Air Lines that flew off from Paya Lebar Airport after midnight. By then the terrorists had already surrendered their weapons to Singapore Police.

That is the SR Nathan, Director SID.
Same SR Nathan, the former President of Singapore.

One of my classmates, after graduating from NUS (SU then) with a B.A. Hons, joined SID, rose up the ranks to a very senior position, and was awarded a Public Administration Silver Medal more than half a dozen years ago.

Mr. Jeffrey Chan is now Dy Solicitor General.
Please refer to the follwoign, which I copied from the Singapore Government Directory

Post Name DID Email
Attorney-General Steven CHONG Horng Siong
63325950 -
Personal Assistant Ms Alice Chua Tuan Yong
63325950 [email protected]
Solicitor-General Mrs KOH Juat Jong, PPA(E), PBS, PPA(E) (L)
Personal Assistant Ms SIM Kim Poh
Second Solicitor-General Lionel YEE Woon Chin,PPA(P),PPA(E)
Personal Assistant Ms ONG Wee Leng, Angela
Dy Solicitor-General Jeffrey CHAN Wah Teck, PPA(P), PBS, PPA(E)
63325951 [email protected]
Personal Assistant Ms Patricia NG Poh Toye
68378365 [email protected]
Chief Prosecutor, (Projects) Bala REDDY, PPA(P), PBS
63325935 [email protected]
Personal Assistant/Support Officer Ms Cindy SOH Kheng Ling, PB
63325220 [email protected]
Quality Service Manager Samuel CHUA Hwa Kuan
18003399737 [email protected]

The only familar name is Bala "Forever" Reddy. He was once a DJ. Kena him, as an accused, seepay jialak. Very pro-police DJ.

HTOLAS

Indeed, there were two padang restaurants; the other was called Tiong Hua. I've tried both and I think I preferred Tiong Hua's food. The Capitol coffee house you referred to was probably Merlin, complete with plastic replica food and a few lao chio waitresses.

I seem to remember that there were two Nasi Padang restaurants side by side. Only Rendevous survived. Can't remember what happened to the other one.

If you wanted a better ambience, there was May Ling Coffee House at Capitol which served a more expensive Wanton Mee that went well with their Bean Curd drink.

By the way, this was incident where the fall-out between Yoong Siew Wah and establishment occurred. He was slighted when his boss, Simon Tay's father picked Nathan and not him to handle the matter. He was virtually shut off.

Negotiations started.

Seriously was not aware that Tiong Hua was next to the other one or it even existed. i thought there was the usual style Chinese restuarant next to it.

Indeed, there were two padang restaurants; the other was called Tiong Hua. I've tried both and I think I preferred Tiong Hua's food. The Capitol coffee house you referred to was probably Merlin, complete with plastic replica food and a few lao chio waitresses.

Yes, the more capable one - Koh Boon Hwee. This guy was offered straight cabinet post. In a way the country should be thankful he did not take it up. This guy is quite a mercenary. His company will tender and sure as hell he will arrange for meeting with CEO just before tender closes. All the work will go out the door. Just his status and connection enough to swing things. He product also good and certainly in the zone but the prospect of dealing further with the annointed one is good enough.

Either that idiot or the more capable Koh Boon Hwee.

Fell sorry for him. One of his juniors got promoted over him and has become the 2nd Solicitor General. Decent and reliable. Chap.

David Chong who is an SC and Sr State Counsel and involved in the case with Ravi is the type of guy all Nonya mothers pray and hope that they daughters can hook. His speak with the ladies and the langauge is wonderful. You should see all the Nonya ladies. Really decent, honest and handsome chap.

Jus to so I do not go off topic , born before 1979.

ex RI boy....HSC circa 1968. Used to live along joo chiat place near fei fei's wantan mee.

erection2015

Alfrescian (InfP) + C
1 ) yes i know about Jeffrey bro....feel bad for him too.

2 ) Once a nonya catches you....thats it. Sr State Counsel or whatever other title .... you are no longer the boss of the home.

Fell sorry for him. One of his juniors got promoted over him and has become the 2nd Solicitor General. Decent and reliable. Chap.

David Chong who is an SC and Sr State Counsel and involved in the case with Ravi is the type of guy all Nonya mothers pray and hope that they daughters can hook. His speak with the ladies and the langauge is wonderful. You should see all the Nonya ladies. Really decent, honest and handsome chap.

Jus to so I do not go off topic , born before 1979.

Ferry Points - Changi to Northern island and Malaysia, Tuas to Malaysia (pineapple and fish trade), Lim Chu Kang to Malaysia, fish farm and Orang Laut, Finger Pier - Indonesian Islands, Clifford Pier for ships in inner and outer harbour and southern islands and for the temple on sisters island during the festival, Jardine steps to Southern Island, Harbour pilots and later for snorkelling and fishing trips, West Coast/ Pasir Panjang restricted to lighter traffic. Barter Trade Centre, end of West Coast for Indonesian Barter trade as far as the Flores highly restricted, exotic bird trade etc, Jurong Pier Southern Islands. Sembawang and Ponggol - pleasure craft and coney island, skiing etc.