• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The 70's Thread - Anything until the Dec 1979.

Fook Seng

halsey02 said:
Fort Canning Hill would be a good spot,

Yes Fort Canning was a good spot. But you know what? Those guys who worked in the tower up there would make some natural looking ideal spots next to the fence and feasted their eyes on courting couples from inside the fence. Many did not know that there were people inside on shift duty 24-hrs a day.

Fook Seng

Kohliantye said:
Remember the Jungle Jim Festival - something about ivory-poaching.

The Little Rascals and Mr Ed & The Talking Horse.

The frequent TV breakdowns and the funny faced cartoon that remained there till the programme commences again.

My dad bought our First Black & White TV. It was ERRES.

You have to switch on and wait till the screen slowly comes to live. The same when you off the TV. They call it "Transistors" tv back then.

Transistors TV probably give you the "instant" sound if not vision. You probably had the old vacuum value sets which took time to heat up.

Fook Seng

Kohliantye said:
I have the feeling that you, Halsey is around my age. Can tell from your "encounters" (films, etc...). Anyway its good to have you share thereby broadening further and opening up my dormant memories.

Rendezvous was famous for the Nasi Padang then. Expensive for my standard but manage to have makan because I use to visit the Mamak 2nd hand bookshops

The last shop was Bee Loh Camera Shop. From there you have to cross the road and walk towards the Waterloo Street side for the row of Mamak mee-rebus and rojak stalls..

I seem to remember that there were two Nasi Padang restaurants side by side. Only Rendevous survived. Can't remember what happened to the other one.

The Waterloo Street Indian Rojak was supposed to be the best. The Wanton Mee stall outside National Library was also quite good (especially for its noodles). So was the ice-kachan stall with the bees flying inside the cart. If you wanted a better ambience, there was May Ling Coffee House at Capitol which served a more expensive Wanton Mee that went well with their Bean Curd drink.

yinyang

Rendezvous was a rare treat (shallow pockets then), despite enamel wash basins lookalike (as TS mentioned). Enjoyed the green lung along bras basah stretch (now CMU), played footy and also occasional paktor when too lazy to make hike up fort canning. And yes, the ah neh 2nd bookshops were crooks alright.

Was staying in Bencoolen neighborhood. Once, went to GP at Singapura Clinic (next to old charming Strand Hotel then) for a cold. Dated the swee2 nurse to our birthday party 5th floor upstairs. A macho poly guy borrowed my room for his endeavours. And we guys peeked at his do hehehe

hahaha....another bo liao thread......
i have been accused of stalking Mr/Ms Scroobal.......
nothing is further than the truth......i worship my idol......
ohhhhh.....my 55th birthday next year.........should i be expecting some surprises from my idol???
nah....you don't expect birthday surprises from a wise old man....do you???
but then teenagers like my son is full of bullshits and surprises.......lol.

If your teenage son is full of bullshit, than you must be the daddy of the bullshitter, making you chief bullshitter. Please lah, don't bluff here, you need to have a penis first to produce a teenage son. If u really have a son, he would have committed suicide by now.

yinyang

many pains with one foot wooden ruler! ...used something similar to what are being used by singapore prison dept
Old spinster teach in primary 5 punished us with metal ruler gripping our young fingers in between ouch:eek: Kena whack in principal's office (consolation not in front assembly hall). Tiam2, kuai2 dare not tell parents. Nowadays, kns parents complain and sue teachers.

Charlie99

dont think it unlimted rides, at least it not during the 80s, at the back of the concession card, it printed that card holder can take only 4 rides a day. but no way for sbs/tibs to enforce the rule.

i hold a bus concession card from primary 1 till poly. then one lousy day while i in camp during NSF, my mom dumped a lot of my old stuff i kept in the drawer. sigh.....

I know how you feel.
When I came to Toronto in Sep 1981, I bought the Toronto Transit Commission monthly pass (it was a piece of paper the size of a credit card) for $23.50, and I kept every one of those monthly passes. Unfortuntately, my spouse threw it (and other things which I collect) away.
The current TTC monthly pass is $122 for unlimited rides (since the last few years, the pass is transferable, that is if I am not using it, I can let my spouse or any other person use it)

Charlie99

We were all very proud with Wong Peng Soon, Rudy Hartono, Punch Gunalan, the Sidek Brothers carrying the regional flag at the All England finals yearly. The mums and girls went crazy over Rudy. Wanted extra pocket money, this was the time to tap mum - sure get also with big smile.

Held our heads very high. Every Sunday morning, courts all over Singapore occupied. Yonex 7000 was the ultimate.

We used Dunlop under 5 (oz), carlton 4.1 or 3.9 or 3.7 badminton racquets.

We boys (Syed Zin, Zainuddin, 2 other Malay boys and I) from Radin Mas School were the Combined Schools runners up in 1969, losing to Telok Kurau.

We used Dunlop under 5 (oz), carlton 4.1 or 3.9 or 3.7 badminton racquets.

We boys (Syed Zin, Zainuddin, 2 other Malay boys and I) from Radin Mas School were the Combined Schools runners up in 1969, losing to Telok Kurau.
Back then all the good badminton players were selected for F&N training schemes...
Kentucky was the ping pong sponsor and milo was for soccer....now they just import FTs instead of nurturing our young sports talent.

Charlie99

When you went to the immigration Dept, there was an office which prominenly displayed $1m PR application sign. I saw Koh Boon Hui, his wife and kids coming out of the office.

Ex-Singaporean served NS, completed reservists and posted back to Singapore by MNC requires a mnimim of 6 weeks to get employment pass.

Indian from Chennai get it within a week.

Do you mean Khoo Boon Hui?

Charlie99

May I correct you, because as a child, I was bornand raised at Telok Blangah, near Jardine Steps (after dinner, my father took my siblings and I there once or twice a week), where there are ferries to Pulau Brani, Pulau Belakang Matia, and the much bigger ferries [any one remember oen of the, Laju] to Pulau Bukom.
Of course, if one missed the ferry, one can take the motorized sampans.

Grown up with Clifford Pier so to speak, from the days where the bumboats ply their trades, where the only way to get to the Southern Islands & Pulau Blakang Mati ( AKA Sentosa) was by them ferries. Used to wander there & watch the hustle & bustle of the place, sit on the stone bench & watch the sea... peek at the tides washing up and down the jetties steps & the barnacles that lined the water line & below..almost could hear Sponge Bob Square pants calling ( oops back in those time, King Neptune), opposite was Change Alley, Bangkok Suan Lam Market would come close..

Saw Clifford Pier morphed over the years, from the Ang Teng Bei Tow open air beer garden, to the place getting rowdy where the navy ships come into port...it was once a mini Thailand with all the food stalls, & who could forget on the other end was Neptune at OUE Building, where all company dinners was held there & all the tim sum lunches & Victor Khoo. Later Clifford Pier was mini Philippine, mini gay centre...

From there one go up the escalator to the overhead shopping strip, where there is a little cafe selling food, the numerous money changers & the knick kack shops, of things relating to maritime from Hurricane lamp to telescope & when the Russian ships are in port, the miniature ship in a bottle, nearly bought one ( prize too stiff) and sometimes the Russian Sailors will approach you with their hand made things of the sea...miniature lighthouse . ship in a bottle, a hand made ship, & those Russians wooden dolls where you open the doll gets smaller..

I remember in the 90's a shop there sold DVD's & VCD's of pornography ha ha ha and was doing a roaring trade with the office working crowd, till the police raided and close the shop...

I have not been to clifford pier ever since they closed it down ...and became a hotel...GREED have made the govenrment sell whatever to make money, especially that place is a heritage to the country and an Icon! what a shame!.

I could still hear the sea waves thrashing against the sea walls, the sounds & smell of Clifford Pier, the big open space of the interior, and once a year, Kusu time...filled with people carrying burning incense...

The newspaper vendor, one Indian & the other Chinese, just after the bus stop & at the entrance of Clifford Pier, the Chinese newspaper vendor young daughter from a young girl to a middle age lady with a young boy...that is Clifford Pier!

Charlie99

1) The walk from National Stadium to Beach Rd Hawker Centre for supper after Malaysia Cup soccer matches;
2) Eating at the old Orchard Road carpark and watching the fights that took place between the matsallehs and locals;
3) Watching movies at Great World City;

Satay Club at Beach Road, and at Queen Elizabeth Walk.
My Primary 6 teacher (who was from ACS) was the best, because he took my brother and I to the movies, to Wonderland, Great World, fishing at Tampines and Punggol, and great meals at Satay Club and at various restaurants.

Charlie99

Bro, you reminded me of this fantastic location to bring chicks. It was the most happening place then. You hold the chick very tight so she won't fall. And yo become her brave knight thru the night. When the icing machine come on. time to relax the arm muscle and have a snack over a hot beverage. Had a classmate who was with the ice hockey team so he became an important bait.

I enjoyed the heavy rain and the floods - swimming etc.

In Canada, your [icing machine] is called the Zamboni

Charlie99

There is a gentleman named Lam Chun See (about mid 50's) who went to 4 SMC at SAFTI,
and he has a blog on such nostalgic and kampong days.

Bro Scroobal, I will definitely share my past experience (Honest Truths) with all of you.

I believe that we should let our younger generation know about our rich past.

What they (kids) now learn from kindergartens till secondary schools is insufficient and not good for such impressionable age.

As and when I remember, I will start spewing out my experiences.

Sometimes after reading the many contributions from forummers, my mind will click.

That's when I start to put ideas on this forum.

I should thank you all for providing me the valuable "sparks".

Please keep it up my dear and valuable forum friends, including Kinana, Leongsam and others.

Have a great day.

Kohliantye

Old spinster teach in primary 5 punished us with metal ruler gripping our young fingers in between ouch:eek: Kena whack in principal's office (consolation not in front assembly hall). Tiam2, kuai2 dare not tell parents. Nowadays, kns parents complain and sue teachers.

I used to be slapped, made to stand on my table, write long lines and also got the pencils within fingers treatment.
Took all in my stride. Some kaypoh kampong fellow students tell our parents.
Our parents were happy for the say we deserve it.

Today the situation (Nowadays, kns parents complain and sue teachers) is such. very true.
That is why we get street-corner gang members (school-kids), drug-addicts, glue-sniffers and other juvenile delinquents.

yinyang

Wonderland, before mobile uncle ringo stuff. Daytime, many salesmen skive playing pool in smoky halls. Night time magical, as I could do the 1st roller coaster in Sg many times over ...knew the controller, ah guan:p

Charlie99

Back then all the good badminton players were selected for F&N training schemes...
Kentucky was the ping pong sponsor and milo was for soccer....now they just import FTs instead of nurturing our young sports talent.

That must be after my Primary School days.