• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Untold story of PAP

metalslug

http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking+News/Singapore/Story/STIStory_422024.html

Untold story of PAP

Men in White includes leftists' accounts of the battle for power.

By Zakir Hussain, Political Correspondent

untold-ALPHONSUSCHERN.jpg

Sonny Yap (from left), Richard Lim and Leong Weng Kam, the writers of Men In White: The Untold Story of Singapore's Ruling Political Party. --ST PHOTO: ALPHONSUS CHERN

THREE senior Straits Times journalists have written a book on the ruling People's Action Party, describing the conflicts and the power struggles of the PAP's early years.

The 692-page book also lifts the veil from some of the most dramatic events in the party's 55-year history, such as the first leftist plot to seize control in 1957 and how Mr Lee Kuan Yew's parliamentary secretary came to lead the challenge against the prime minister in 1961.

However, its most outstanding feature is the voices of leftists in the retelling of key events.

Many of them were giving their views for the first time. They had lost the struggle for control of the PAP, spent years in detention and exile, and their voices are largely absent from the Singapore story.

Said senior writer Sonny Yap, co-author of the book: 'Although many of them spent years in detention and suffered tremendous privations, they betrayed no bitterness and rancour while recounting their experiences.'

Mr Yap, 59, co-wrote the book with The Sunday Times features editor Richard Lim, 60, and senior writer Leong Weng Kam, 55.

Their final product - Men in White: The Untold Story of Singapore's Ruling Political Party - is published by Singapore Press Holdings (SPH).

To write it, the trio interviewed 300 party members, opponents and observers, 25 of whom have since died. Among those they spoke to were leftists banished from Singapore. The interviews with many of them were conducted where they now reside, in Malaysia, Thailand, Hong Kong and China.

The authors also relied on 200 taped interviews with politicians deposited with the National Archives and 60 years of press reports in the local Chinese, Malay and English newspapers, as well as government and parliament records.

The book will be launched by SPH at The Arts House on Sept 8. Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew will be the guest of honour and some 150 past and present PAP and non-PAP politicans will be present.

The book, which has a print run of 30,000, will be available at leading bookstores after the launch at $39.90 a copy before GST.

Read the full story in Friday's edition of The Straits Times.

Subliminal message that those who are kaput by the Old Fart are leftists? But guess who's more dictatorial and despotic now?

jim007jimmyboy

fark these pseudo writers!

Book i wanna read is 17 Years by Said Zahari one of the people arrested by old man - Operation ColdStore - and with this old man cleared all competition!:oIo:

Otherwise Lim Chin Siong could be our PM instead!:(

London recently declassified (Ops ColdStore) docs revealed that old man any whack last time! :mad:

boring

3 typical old dogs, sucking their master dick for the rest of their life. look at the sonny yap, wearing a wig somemore,

Tiu-leh-see-fart

This must be the last National day celebration for some old folks.

Launching in Sept 8 means the last day of ND celebrations, one month of stupidity---longer than chinese new year 15 days.

But tell you true, who would read? Success story did not make office !

Good political books dont come under SPH, those come under them has a political agenda.

Non -stop dogging , money is really evil if it is used at the wrong palce wrong persons.

Born a dog, forever a dog, and dies a dog. Dogs dont have good sleep at night !!! They sleep when their masters are out !!!

coolguy

1-3.jpg

Why you look down on my dogs?
Don't you know my dogs lead a much much better life than you pigeon holes
sinkies?
They live in big air-conditioned bungalows, eat gold dust wangyu beef,
top grade abalone shark fin, have a massage and medicure daily by beautiful massures. And they command a salary that outdone you multiple times just by guarding my house.
You want me to continue some more? :biggrin:

metalslug

http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20090827-163920.html

Thu, Aug 27, 2009
AsiaOne

20090827.193151_meninwhite350.jpg

The untold story of S'pore's ruling party

Men in White, a new book narrating the story of the People's Action Party (PAP) through the voices of the victors and vanquished in their epic struggle for the hearts and minds of the people, will be launched by Singapore Press Holdings (SPH) on 8 September.

Commissioned and published by SPH, the 692-page book comes with a four-page foreword by Minister Mentor (MM) Lee Kuan Yew who will be the guest-of-honour at the launch at The Arts House formerly known as Old Parliament House.

The launch will be attended by some 150 past and present PAP and non-PAP politicians. The guests included former legislative assemblymen who fought for and against the PAP in many crucial debates in the 1960s.

By capturing and distilling the voices of some 500 players and eyewitnesses to unfolding history, the book seeks to fill a void in Singapore history and unravel many of the mysteries, puzzles and questions surrounding the PAP story.

Men in White marks the culmination of seven years of planning, research, interviews and drafting by a seven-person project team headed by former SPH editor-in-chief Cheong Yip Seng, and subsequently, after Mr Cheong's retirement, by Straits Times editor Han Fook Kwang.

The book was written by three Straits Times journalists, Sonny Yap, Richard Lim and Leong Weng Kam supported by four researchers, Leong Ching, Tan Mui Leng, Goh Sue Lin and Sia Boon So. It was designed and produced by Marshall Cavendish International (Asia) Pte Ltd.

Men in White is the untold story of one of the world's most successful and longest ruling political parties.

The party had won 12 successive general elections since it assumed power in 1959.

This year marks the 50th anniversary of the PAP in power.

Narrated in three parts, it is oral history told in a journalistic mode spiced with anecdotes, quotes and human interest.

To re-enact this political theatre-cum-human drama, the writers conducted some 300 interviews in Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, Hong Kong and China. This was supplemented by about 200 oral history interviews from the National Archives of Singapore.

An important consideration when doing the book was that it should represent the writers' version of the PAP story and not the party's. In his foreword, MM Lee said: "This is their book, not the PAP's."

Commenting on the book, Straits Times editor Han Fook Kwang said: "One of the attractions of the book is that it's done in a journalistic style. It's not a history book or an academic book. Journalists are trained to extract the most compelling material from those they interview and to write the story in the most engaging way for readers. I think we've succeeded in doing this because it is a fascinating story to begin with, and we fielded some of our best story-tellers to do the book."

30,000 copies will be printed. The book will be available at leading book stores from 8 September after the launch at $39.90 a copy (before GST).

MM Lee will autograph 20 limited edition copies of the book to be sold for charity at $10,000 a copy on a first-come, first-served basis.

Interested donors can email [email protected]. Proceeds from this charity sale will go to The Straits Times School Pocket Money Fund which helps needy students.

moolightaffairs

will they mention when lky cramp down on the leftists also killed a lot of innocent chinese teenagers school student??? will they mention lky trying to shut down Bank of China??? :oIo:

1-3.jpg

Why you look down on my dogs?
Don't you know my dogs lead a much much better life than you pigeon holes
sinkies?
They live in big air-conditioned bungalows, eat gold dust wangyu beef,
top grade abalone shark fin, have a massage and medicure daily by beautiful massures. And they command a salary that outdone you multiple times just by guarding my house.
You want me to continue some more? :biggrin:

are U a member?

metalslug

http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking+News/Singapore/Story/STIStory_422853.html

Making of Men In White
A new book on the People's Action Party took three senior journalists more than five years to complete. Backed by four researchers, they conducted 300 interviews and pored over 60 years of press and government records for the 692-page book. Insight finds out about the challenges they faced, what they did to overcome them, and how they put Men In White together.
By Zakir Hussain

A30-2.jpg

The book, which has a print run of 30,000, will be available at leading bookstores after the launch on Sept 8 at $39.90 a copy before GST. -- ST PHOTO: ALPHONSUS CHERN

THE man was a key player in the formative years of the People's Action Party (PAP). He had been with the party almost from the start and was privy to many of its goings-on.

So it was natural that Straits Times writers Sonny Yap, Richard Lim and Leong Weng Kam identified him as a key player they must interview when they started work on a book on the PAP.

Unfortunately, the retired politician was known for being reticent and guarded, and for keeping his views to himself since he left politics in the 1980s.

The team's initial overtures were rebuffed. It took more than six months of effort before he agreed to speak, Mr Yap, 59, tells Insight.

Every now and then, the writers would call up a contact who knew him personally, and the reply would be that he was still pondering over it.

Then one day, they had a lucky break. He asked for their list of questions.

But it was followed by months of silence.

'In the meantime, whenever we interviewed or met anyone who knew the subject, we would ask them to intercede on our behalf, to convince him that we had no hidden agenda, that the book was not another exercise in PAP propaganda, that we would be fair, objective and balanced,' says Mr Yap.

Finally, one night, a contact called to say the subject would like to meet Mr Yap for lunch. That was the breakthrough.

Read the full story in Saturday's edition of The Straits Times

[email protected]

A TALE FROM DIFFERENT PERSPECTIVE

A28-4m.jpg

'NOBODY has told a non-partisan story of the PAP.

It was long overdue.

Here was a chance to get a version of the history from the defeated faction of the PAP, the radical left who came so close to winning. If we did not reach out to them, their voices would have been suppressed forever. By any yardstick, it was a gripping tale. I had lived through part of that history as a journalist and know it had all the ingredients of a thriller.'

Mr Cheong Yip Seng (above), former editor-in-chief of SPH's English and Malay Newspapers Division

metalslug

A30-2.jpg

The book, which has a print run of 30,000, will be available at leading bookstores after the launch on Sept 8 at $39.90 a copy before GST. -- ST PHOTO: ALPHONSUS CHERN

A28-2.jpg

Mr Leong (left) with former leftist Malayan Communist party member Chan Sun Wing at a village in southern Thailand, who has been living in exile since 1963. -- ST PHOTOS: LEONG WENG KAM

A28-1.jpg

Mr Sonny Yap (left) and Mr Leong Weng Kam interviewing former Barisan Sosialis leader Fong Swee Suan, 78, at his home. -- ST PHOTOS: LEONG WENG KAM

A30-1.jpg

Mr Leong Weng Kam (left) seen with former leftists and Malayan Communist Party members (from right) Mr Fang Mingwu, Mr He Jin and Mr Chan Sun Wing. -- ST PHOTO: LEONG WENG KAM

A28-3.jpg

Senior journalists (from left) Sonny Yap, Richard Lim and Leong Weng Kam, the writers of men In White, managed to interview many key players from the early years of PAP. -- ST PHOTO: ALPHONSUS CHERN

I wonder if it about the PAP? Its probably about the struggle to gain power and rule the country involving the communist and moderates who were both party members.

I doubt that they are going to talk about cadres, party structures, factions, funding, the Chinese walls between party branches etc.

http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking+News/Singapore/Story/STIStory_422024.html

Untold story of PAP

Men in White includes leftists' accounts of the battle for power.

By Zakir Hussain, Political Correspondent

All these so called leftist enjoying better life in exile than if they were living in S'pore. Chan Sun Ming can live in bungalow in southern Thailand, ok what. If he was here, he would be living in HDB pigeon hole, see his CPF tied up or loss in Temasick investments, see the cost of living of living so high, he will be eating one small bowl of rice with soya sauce. So, he is better off from what I can see.

These fucktard journalists are really PAP cocksuckers. Don`t they know that everyone who is not with the PAP is branded a leftist. U could be a nationalist, a patriot, etc. u would still be called a leftist. In fact, when Lee Con You first entered politics, he was so far left that the Brits thought he was a communist. To this very day, PAP calls their membership cadres, and address each other as Comrades, etc. Just like most communist parties do.

hairylee

The book will be launched by SPH at The Arts House on Sept 8. Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew will be the guest of honour and some 150 past and present PAP and non-PAP politicans will be present.

Give this book a miss.