• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Traffic jams at both CIQs (Woodlands Causeway and Tuas 2nd Link)

FHBH12

Terrorists are in Malaysia

Teen militant caught in KLIA
The Star/ANN | Farik Zolkepli | Saturday, Dec 12, 2015

news.asiaone.com/news/malaysia/teen-militant-caught-klia

FHBH12

Re: Terrorists are in Malaysia

It is a matter of time the terrorists enter SG if our border security is not stepped up.

RedsYNWA

It is a matter of time the terrorists enter SG if our border security is not stepped up.

Stepping up border security, and doing the same old thing (but with less people) are 2 entirely different things. 2 lanes for cars (and only around 75% opened for the 2 lanes) during Dec super peak hours will only lead to massive jams, which cascade down.

FHBH12

Stepping up border security, and doing the same old thing (but with less people) are 2 entirely different things. 2 lanes for cars (and only around 75% opened for the 2 lanes) during Dec super peak hours will only lead to massive jams, which cascade down.

Custom levy will go up if more resources are deployed.

Investor888

I ever encounter 1 solitary Hero checking cars at 4am in the morning at Tuas entering Singapore on a weekday. You guess it. Massive jam build up and I Q from 4am to 430am.

Singapore is a 1st world country and I seriously cant believe that they can sabo one chap and make it in charge of checking ALL vehicles in WHOLE of Tuas.

Singapore efficiency has dropped to new lows in recent months

Frodo

I ever encounter 1 solitary Hero checking cars at 4am in the morning at Tuas entering Singapore on a weekday. You guess it. Massive jam build up and I Q from 4am to 430am.

Singapore is a 1st world country and I seriously cant believe that they can sabo one chap and make it in charge of checking ALL vehicles in WHOLE of Tuas.

The way for Singapore to be Number One is also to have just One officer to do secondary checks at customs. lol!

Tekkun

The way for Singapore to be Number One is also to have just One officer to do secondary checks at customs. lol!

You guys still don't get it?
Singapore discourage Singaporeans to go to JB. Why you ppl still don't want to obey? :biggrin: :biggrin:

FHBH12

Have you ever wondered you were one of the guilty parties who caused the jam? Don't go JB = No jam for you.

jasonjst

You guys still don't get it?
Singapore discourage Singaporeans to go to JB. Why you ppl still don't want to obey? :biggrin: :biggrin:

Singaporean mostly "Gone-Gone" one must say it out loud and clear . Example have to paid entrance fee of $100/= for Singaporean , and free entrance for foreigners , like what they did for the 2 casinos .
They keep on saying jam is due to holidays , increasing security due to terrorist , how can people read their mind ?

potter

Both gov are playing their marble game aka pai guli now, make u cant afford driving a car, this is their plan for e coming RTS, at high leVel. Dun say i nvm tell u...:p Mr Frodo is e 1st casualty, Doc freedom, who's next..:p

xebay11

Both gov are playing their marble game aka pai guli now, make u cant afford driving a car, this is their plan for e coming RTS, at high leVel. Dun say i nvm tell u...:p Mr Frodo is e 1st casualty, Doc freedom, who's next..:p

RTS is good news for sinkies to own MY registered cars in MY, no need to drive back to Singapore.

freedom

Yeah, if COE going to rise to 150k like some say, I will not buy another car too...in fact bought my Estima in 2012 at Coe 89k and paying S$2500 a month to maintain the car...already very tough, eating into my savings...that is why thinking of giving up my car and semi retiring in JB but even then, prob have to TOP up S$20k if I sell my car now..

snowbird

The capacity of causeway is opened in 1924 and catered for 1950s traffic volume, now is 2015.

The jam is not caused by the size of the Causeway but by the procedure of CIQ on both sides of it.
Especially when entering SG's side, after immigration clearance you still need to stop the car, open the boot for inspection which easily adds another minute or 2 for each car.
Remember also when MY first introduced the finger print scanner procedure, the jam was 7 hours long!

FHBH12

Huge traffic snarl hits Causeway
Friday, Dec 18, 2015

Update: Pedestrian traffic across the Causeway seemed to return to normal on Friday afternoon after massive jams the day before. According to The Straits Times, those who were heading into Singapore via the Woodlands Checkpoint said they did not experience long waiting and processing times.

Heavy vehicular traffic, however, continued for another day and Land Transport Authority traffic cameras showed bumper-to-bumper traffic in both directions of the Causeway at about 4.30pm.

On Thursday morning, several people who were fed up with the traffic jams decided to cross the Causeway by foot instead. Snaking queues were seen on both vehicle lanes and pedestrian lanes on the Causeway.

According to Shin Min Daily News, pedestrians from Malaysia had to wait for more than an hour to enter Singapore. It was also reported that some gave up and turned back, while others considered swimming across.

Huge traffic snarl hits Causeway

JOHOR BARU - Traffic in Johor Baru came to a standstill yesterday morning as close to 120,000 vehicles - triple the usual traffic - headed into Singapore via the Bangunan Sultan Iskandar Customs, Immi*gration and Quarantine Complex (CIQ) in view of the holiday season.

Those working in the city (Johor Baru) were also caught in a massive jam as some motorists made illegal U-turns in a desperate attempt to escape congestion on the Eastern Dispersal Link (EDL) leading to the CIQ near the Permas exit here.

Malaysians took to Facebook to vent their frustration after being stuck at Singapore Customs for hours.

Some claimed that the pedestrian walkway to enter the island republic was closed despite the exodus of Malaysians starting at around 4am.

Andrew Vijenthern Subra*ma*niam said the pedestrian gates and lorry lanes were only opened after 6am, causing a major human and traffic jam towards Singapore.

"Not sure why, but they didn't open the gate for pedestrians until 6am and the lorry lane opened late as well. Not just the bridge had heavy jam, EDL started jam by 5.30am," he said in a Facebook post on the Malaysia Velai Seivor Sangam page yesterday.

User Gloria Lai alleged that many who used the pedestrian walkway tried to enter Singapore and were forced to turn back after hours of waiting for the gates to open.

Johor Indian Business Association president P. Sivakumar said the congestion also affected traffic heading towards Permas and Johor Baru for work.

"Many of us were stuck and eventually had to make an illegal U-turn to enter the Permas exit," he said.

Johor Traffic Police Chief Supt Baharudin Mat Taib said the police had increased the number of offi*cers to monitor traffic flow around the CIQ.

He said a check with Singapore authorities revealed that two motorcycles lanes were closed yesterday, causing more congestion that affected Johor Baru.

Meanwhile, the Johor Immi*gration Department denied claims that the new immigration system had contributed to the congestion.

Department director Rohaizi Bahari confirmed that both Malay*sia and Singapore immigration authorities did not make changes to their systems recently.

He confirmed that the huge *volume of traffic from Johor contributed to the congestion.

Tips from Immigration and Checkpoints Authority when using the checkpoint:

1. Travellers are encouraged to car-pool where possible.

2. Drivers should maintain lane discipline at all times.

3. Eligible users (Singaporeans, Singapore Permanent Residents and Long Term Pass holders) are encouraged to use the enhanced Immigration Automated Clearance System (eIACS) lanes at the bus halls for immigration clearance.

4. Travellers are to ensure that they are carrying their own and valid passports before presenting them for immigration clearance.

5. Travellers are to make sure that they do not bring unlawful or prohibited goods into or out of Singapore. The list of controlled and prohibited items can be found on ICA's website http://www.ica.gov.sg.

- See more at: http://news.asiaone.com/news/malaysia/huge-traffic-snarl-hits-causeway#sthash.YJ3nhRM7.dpuf