• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Shameful Encounter in USA with Pinoy

longdongsilver

Only those Singaporeans who personally mixed around with foreigners who speaks English as a first language can understand that it not so much the accent rather than bad pronunciation that differentiates the Singaporean. For instance, Singaporeans pronounced cemetery as "se - mah - try" and not "se - meh - ter - ry". They usually shortened the word and the "r's" are usually not pronounced as in "Pork" which they pronounced as "pok."

We have to be observant to the reaction of those foreigners when we communicate and see their reaction and facial expression in order to gauge how they view our speech. Often times I have to be on my guard not to slip into the Singaporean way of speech when talking to an American, Ozzie or Englishman, or else they may show consternation on their faces in trying to understand me. Believe me, we Singaporeans are not that great English speakers as some might be led to believe.

Anyone wants to have some "pok" noodles?
sinkies are not alone in not being able to say the r sound..many native speakers are incapable of pronouncing the "r"sound as well hence you hear words like heah(here),fo-eva(forever),bee(beer)..etc

Why are you ashamed of identifying yourself as a Singaporean?

Baluku, there is no shame to tell people I am Singaporeans. However most of the time people don't ask citizenship rather common question is where do you come from obviously I come from Thailand because I had been living there for more than 6 years. Most of the time when someone hears that so and so is from Thailand things are easy going and ice broken easily.

Actually if you had identified yourself as a sinkie he would have found some other reason and way to diss your country too. I can understand why you wouldn't want to identify yourself as a sinkiee. There's nothing much to be proud of nowadays.

in california, the pecking order is in greenies you make, the district you live in and the school your children attend. if you happen to speak and write english well, good for you, but it is no indication of the real pecking order.

Thanks eatshitndie for this insightful post although I believe some could be personal views. Hey to sidetrack a little, what's your view on local red indians like their status in the American society etc.

Native americans are a very very small minority in the US but they have special rights in owning casinos and they have tribal gatherings. Since there are so few of them it's quite hard to interact with a 100% native. Many ordinary americans are fascinated with them i suppose. In fact many ang mohs consider themselves having some bit of native american in them like steven tyler and steven seagal for eg.

I think among aborigines in this world the Maoris are the least abused. The Australian Aborigines and American Indians I think got whack big time by angmohs before. But all these are now very well compensated. The there are the other aborigines in other part of Asia I think they are very pitiful.

i'm noit sure about that but the maoris many of them look like ang moh and they are a polynesian ppl so they look more like malay instead of ang moh. Maori like most islanders are big and strong and pretty violent so i suppose ang mohs don't dare mess with them.

Silent88scope

As for the rest of your post, another member here Gook (I believe that is the nick) can tell lots more. But what is your point? You are Chinese? Why are you here if you think these Pinoys/Malays are not fit to be humans because they will not admit they are of Malay stock? Can you show the link that says, I quote you, "The fact is that they have always refuse to admit that they carries part of Malay blood stream running in their body just like what the Japanese did." And what did the Japanese did exactly?

You really want to know the similarity huh? No need link to show you de.
You go ask the Jipunese (especially the older generations) whether are they of Chinese descendants.
You will know whether will they admit that they carries part of Chinese blood stream running in their body lor.

it depends on where they are now, and how much inter-marriage is involved. for example, many who are mixed descendants from white and native indian go on to live like they are whites. many hollywood celebrities have mixed ancestries. if amerindian culture takes a front seat and is honored nationally, every freaking smith and jones with native indian genes comes out and claims heshe's a fourfoot, a bearpaw or a soaringeagle. many who remain in reservations are in poverty and in poor shape if their tribe do not open a casino or two. tribes with casinos normally fare better.

exobay

i'm noit sure about that but the maoris many of them look like ang moh and they are a polynesian ppl so they look more like malay instead of ang moh. Maori like most islanders are big and strong and pretty violent so i suppose ang mohs don't dare mess with them.

WTF. 'many of them look like ang moh and they are polynesian ppl so they look like Malay instead of ang moh.' What are you smoking contradicting urself in one sentence? Either they look like ang moh or they look like Malay, makeup your fucking mind.

loneshark

it depends on where they are now, and how much inter-marriage is involved. for example, many who are mixed descendants from white and native indian go on to live like they are whites. many hollywood celebrities have mixed ancestries. if amerindian culture takes a front seat and is honored nationally, every freaking smith and jones with native indian genes comes out and claims heshe's a fourfoot, a bearpaw or a soaringeagle. many who remain in reservations are in poverty and in poor shape if their tribe do not open a casino or two. tribes with casinos normally fare better.
Some of them let you visit their pueblos for a fee. I've been inside one in Arizona. Yes, pretty much in poverty, dirt houses and such. But it's their land, they can do whatever they like. I have a friend who likes to drive there to buy cheap ciggies.