• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SDP - Democrats continue groundwork - on this coming Sunday, 26 May 2013

No lah, the guy will be dead by then. Its his legacy and everyone defers to it including the party faithful. It is also a psychological blow to the PAP and a plus for the opposition if the TP citadel is breached. With Lily Neo, Indranee, Kee Chiu- all known to have a way with the people on the ground, it will be hard to overcome.

There is a possibility that PM will shift there.

You guys must be crazy if you think LKY will be standing in 2016.
He probably will be dead by then....even if not he'll be 92/93 years old!
Whether he's dead or not, come 2016 all wards will he fair game.
I'm only afraid LKY will kick the bucket a few months before GE and they send in the grandson to TP....sympathy/sentimental votes then cannot be discounted.

metalmickey

I think there's a grand total of one GRC in Singapore which is untouchable. And that's Ang Mo Kio. If the SDP wants to treat Tanjong Pagar as a BMT camp for new recruits, the way that WP did in AMK in 2006, I don't think that's a bad strategy. Because one, you have a barometer to see how well your big fucks are doing. (Remember they were talking about 80% for AMK in 2006. 63% was a kick in the balls.) So now people have the opportunity to kick LKY in the balls. Two, not to mention the psychological effect of that kick in the balls. Three, a party is a system, it's never just about the seats that you contest and win right now. You are a farmer. In one field, you are planting seeds, in another field you are harvesting.

The message that AMK GRC sent in 2006 to the rest of WP is: earn your stripes first, and then we'll put you in a place where you have a real chance. (Unless you are Chen Show Mao with your fancy academic degrees) They rewarded Yaw Shin Leong with Hougang. I don't really think it's that stupid of the SDP to take a leaf from that copybook.

metalmickey

There is a possibility that PM will shift there.

Big fucks don't move around. They even told George Yeo to stand his ground even though he was about to get run over. PAP people get in through the GRC system, make their faces known in the first term, and then make one move, and then stay there for good. Anything after that is an abdication. Goh Chok Tong didn't move from MP. Even Wong Kan Seng didn't move. How is TP so much more valuable than AMK that LHL wants to abdicate AMK for TP? What's the point? Who will anchor AMK? Suddenly everybody will want to be more popular than Seng Han Thong.

I can only think of one example of somebody moving and it turned out well: that was Low Thia Khiang. Even Chiam See Tong's move was a disaster.

I'm starting to understand the significance of the Tanjong Pagar GRC. But that's only after doing my own extensive research on the internet. So you have all the old birds, like Lim Kim San, Goh Keng Swee, EW Barker, Rajaretnam, Toh Chin Chye, even Richard Hu, and all their wards are in the "Tanjong Pagar" area. Question is, who is going to get sentimental about the PAP? That old auntie collecting aluminum in the kopi tiam? Or the newly minted PRC citizen staying in the vicinity of Chinatown, for whom all those names mean nothing? Or young punks like me except they don't give a shit about history? Now suppose Tanjong Pagar were to fall, it's poetic justice for them to have gerrymandered the place upside down so that the whole shitpile goes up in flames at the same time.

steffychun

again if a party wants to battle at the gates of hell, fine. Let the other rational and proper parties capture the seats that can really be captured first.

Why did the western allies invade Italy first and not France?

leetahbah

Democrats met residents at Tanjong Pagar and West Coast on 26 May 2013

Great job, Cosmos. You guys need more publicity in your ground work. Assign a few dedicated camera man, takes lots of photos and post them here. The Workers Party did a great job in this area, look at their threads on Hougang, Punggol East in this folder and you can see they generate the publicity for them.

Cosmos10

Hi bro. LTB, thank you for your support and kind words of encouragement.

The good news is that the latest edition of the SDP newsletter, the "Democrat", is all about bread and butter issues. It explains the dangers of increasing our population to 6.9 million as proposed by the PAP Government and presents the SDP's alternative policies on how to manage population growth in a sustainable manner. It also highlights the SDP's policies for affordable housing and healthcare.

Another good news is that the SDP has beefed up the Chinese section of their newsletter.

Please encourage us more (as in SBF speak, sarpok sarpok!!!) so that the SDP will improve and do better on our road to 2016.

c0103.gif
c0136.gif
c0146.gif
c0137.gif

Hi bro. LTB, thank you for your support and kind words of encouragement.

The good news is that the latest edition of the SDP newsletter, the "Democrat", is all about bread and butter issues. It explains the dangers of increasing our population to 6.9 million as proposed by the PAP Government and presents the SDP's alternative policies on how to manage population growth in a sustainable manner. It also highlights the SDP's policies for affordable housing and healthcare.

Another good news is that the SDP has beefed up the Chinese section of their newsletter.

Please encourage us more (as in SBF speak, sarpok sarpok!!!) so that the SDP will improve and do better on our road to 2016.

c0103.gif
c0136.gif
c0146.gif
c0137.gif
Need support? than SDP must keep feeding us news on weekly basis and seen to be walking the ground. Yawning bread said, if SDP wanted to reach the same level of support as WP, SDP must surpass WP with concrete action of being seen moving regularly in the heartland they intend to contest in GE2016. More photos will be convincing.

Liquigas

Need support? than SDP must keep feeding us news on weekly basis and seen to be walking the ground. Yawning bread said, if SDP wanted to reach the same level of support as WP, SDP must surpass WP with concrete action of being seen moving regularly in the heartland they intend to contest in GE2016. More photos will be convincing.

There are people who are drawn to SDP because of the party's strong belief in the liberty of individuals living in a free society. Notions such as openness, transparency, free speech & assembly are important on their agenda. No doubt walking the ground and tackling bread & butter issues are important for political parties aiming to win elections but what is more basic is press freedom and the presence of democratic institutions which can only be found in a truly free society and where only then can free and fair elections be carried out ....

yellowarse

There are people who are drawn to SDP because of the party's strong belief in the liberty of individuals living in a free society. Notions such as openness, transparency, free speech & assembly are important on their agenda. No doubt walking the ground and tackling bread & butter issues are important for political parties aiming to win elections but what is more basic is press freedom and the presence of democratic institutions which can only be found in a truly free society and where only then can free and fair elections be carried out ....

I think since GE2011 the SDP has been shifting the emphasis away from political rights to socio-economic issues: reducing the rich-poor gap, plugging the holes in the social safety net, universal healthcare, affordable housing, a kinder, less dog-eat-dog kind of economics.

People only remember the libertarian fights and scrapes with the govt of yesteryears, but forget that the SDP is probably the only the left-wing party in Singapore. Not as left-leaning as the Nordics, not by a long shot, but certainly more socialist than any outfit here save for the PAP of the '60s & early '70s.

when it comes to political awareness.......majority of sinkie voters still at the pre-school level.....they cannot grasp SDP's first world notions of democracy......
no worries, time is on SDP's side........as more young voters come in, the mid age matures and the LKY era oldies dies off......the time will come......

Cosmos10

Hi bro Myfoot123, last month on 21 April 2013, the SDP visited households at Holland-Bukit Timah (and Bukit Panjang). :smile:
Please read more details here: http://yoursdp.org/news/2013-04-22-5608

HouseVisitBP21Apr2013_zpsaa2e9ef1.jpg

HouseVisistVW21Apr2013_zps138f1b7f.jpg

HouseVisitCSC21Apr2013_zps98320f49.jpg

Yes, SDP is now following the WP approach and it is proven strategy in times like these.

I think since GE2011 the SDP has been shifting the emphasis away from political rights to socio-economic issues: reducing the rich-poor gap, plugging the holes in the social safety net, universal healthcare, affordable housing, a kinder, less dog-eat-dog kind of economics.

People only remember the libertarian fights and scrapes with the govt of yesteryears, but forget that the SDP is probably the only the left-wing party in Singapore. Not as left-leaning as the Nordics, not by a long shot, but certainly more socialist than any outfit here save for the PAP of the '60s & early '70s.

tanwahp

but forget that the SDP is probably the only the left-wing party in Singapore. Not as left-leaning as the Nordics, not by a long shot, but certainly more socialist than any outfit here save for the PAP of the '60s & early '70s.

Not the way I see it, based on my own understanding of "left" and regularly reading all party publications.

It might be the most left in 2 or 3 aspects, but people always forget that when doing comparisons, it is to compare overall.