• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PM rally - A GREAT DISSAPPOINTMENT & boring!!

methink

Let me tell you that when it comes to healthcare, housing and education, Singaporeans have it better than pretty much every other country.

While the physical constraints of the Island make it impossible for everyone to own landed property, I have not come across any other country where the government is so actively involved in housing the population.

When it comes to healthcare and education, the schemes introduced take Singapore a notch above the Western world. If you don't believe me, do your own research.

Yes sinkies have it pretty much better than every other country in... NS, jobs, quality of living, presidents, press freedom, rule of law, etc

Yes I have not come across any other country where the gahment is so actively involved in screwing the population!

The speech is basically a heads up that things will be pretty much the same in the near future and that they will be fucking sinkies as usual.
Assume Doggy positions, standby....watch your front....ready, raise your arse!

TopSage

PM Lee.ND Rally disappointing...he has.run out of time...

He was playing to.his.own.crowd.rather than.playing his.role as leader
of the whole nation.

For high.medical costs, instead of tackling the root problem.of runaway cost of.medical.care, he simply
ask singaporeans pay.more.medishield premium.to solve the prooblem , yes I.insurance.companies will thank.him but now.young pple.have to.pay.more. Why not increase taxes on highest income by 0.5% to.get this.done.after all singapore system is.so.lopsided we produce the.most.millionaires.at the same time we have low and stagnant.wages for so.many.

Instead of.solving the
housing.cost.problem.he.repeat the claim.they.are.affordable.even.those.who.earn.$1000 can own.2 room.flat. Property developers must be cheering nothing more will be don't to.bring high hoising cost in.line.with median income.

PM Lee don't seem to.understand how.much.the world.has changed and.you.cannot address.the.main.co.concerns.of.twill.be good fhe.people with smalll.tweaks. Singapore is.a.small.country.so.major.improvements can.be.made.fast....but.we are only.seeing.small.adjustments.to.address.the large social inequity.problem...compare that with the changes Obama pushed through.in.the tax code, cuts in.military overspending, complete.overhaul of medical.care system.....yes.these were very unpopular for the.Americans.but.painful changes that are necessary.to.narrow the.social.inequity among the people. PM Lee was playing populist music for his.party's hardcore supporters trading off the broad social interests ...at a.time real change is needed, there.is no.resolve.in.leadership.of.this.country..instead the old popular.music.is.played to.satisfy those.who already.benefited disproportionately from the existing PAP system...the.big.corporations, the.elites, the.top 1%, ...

the new generation's exposure to the Internet, satellite channels and instant communication make them express their views quickly, share their frustrations instantly, build and destroy narratives at incredible speeds, and certainly they are not willing to wait and be patient for ideologically inclined leaders to keep playing the same populist tunes to its old audience.

Kuailan

There goes National wayang and empty promises again!!

The last he painted beautiful pictures in a power point slide show during national day
what happened? ppl forgot what he says and promises and all never fulfilled!!

WHAT HAPPENED to the 2% GST supposed to help the POOR it's forgotten promises!!
Sinkies have forgotten!! yes! and No!

enterprise2

Re: PM Lee.ND Rally disappointing...he has.run out of time...

He was playing to.his.own.crowd.rather than.playing his.role as leader
of the whole nation.

For high.medical costs, instead of tackling the root problem.of runaway cost of.medical.care, he simply
ask singaporeans pay.more.medishield premium.to solve the prooblem , yes I.insurance.companies will thank.him but now.young pple.have to.pay.more. Why not increase taxes on highest income by 0.5% to.get this.done.after all singapore system is.so.lopsided we produce the.most.millionaires.at the same time we have low and stagnant.wages for so.many.

Instead of.solving the
housing.cost.problem.he.repeat the claim.they.are.affordable.even.those.who.earn.$1000 can own.2 room.flat. Property developers must be cheering nothing more will be don't to.bring high hoising cost in.line.with median income.

PM Lee don't seem to.understand how.much.the world.has changed and.you.cannot address.the.main.co.concerns.of.twill.be good fhe.people with smalll.tweaks. Singapore is.a.small.country.so.major.improvements can.be.made.fast....but.we are only.seeing.small.adjustments.to.address.the large social inequity.problem...compare that with the changes Obama pushed through.in.the tax code, cuts in.military overspending, complete.overhaul of medical.care system.....yes.these were very unpopular for the.Americans.bht.painful changes that are necessary.to.narrow the.social.inequity among the people. PM Lee was playing populiat music for his.party's hardcore supporters trading off the broad social interests ...at a.time real change is needed, there.is no.resolve.in.leadership.of.this.country..instead the old popular.music.is.played to.satisfy those.who already.benefited disproportionately from the existing PAP system...the.big.corporations, the.elites, the.top 1%, ...

the new generation's exposure to the Internet, satellite channels and instant communication make them express their views quickly, share their frustrations instantly, build and destroy narratives at incredible speeds, and certainly they are not willing to wait and be patient for ideologically inclined leaders to keep playing the same populist tunes to its old audience.

What is very important is what he didn't say.

He didn't say you can take out your CPF at age 55. This is a cop out as his government promised us that we can take our CPF at age 55 and now they went back on their word and shifted the goalpost. And they will probably do that again until nobody can take out their CPF!!
He announced a lot of plans to help the poor and needy but nothing for the middle-class and PMET. All he say is that if you slide down to the poor and needy group, u will be helped!!! How very reassuring!!! In the meantime, make sure u pay more to help support the new Medisave and Medishield and compete with the hoarde of FTs.

bryanlim1972

But then again it won't be so easy b'cos in the early 70's, a wise holy man who helped the old traitor, scum and thief to remain in power was also betrayed by him.

The wise holy man felt so disappointed and betrayed by him that he cursed that the old dog 'boh-hor-see!'

how did he betray reverend HC?

bakkuttay

PM: Beyond that, there will be a new Republic of Singapore Air Force (RSAF) air base and fourth runway at Changi East. Paya Lebar Airbase will move to Changi, freeing up 800 hectares of land.

The area which is bigger than the size of Bishan can be used to build new homes, offices and factories. Mr Lee said relocating the air base also removes height restrictions on a large area around Paya Lebar. This will allow for new, exciting plans for eastern Singapore.

10 million cumming soon

scoobydoo

Johore will have more implications. He should have suggested for St john island, kusu island, palau tekong etc to build HDB with lower cost of livings.

hmm, i am contented to stay in attap-kampong-house.
no need HDB.
got shelter and clean water, can already.
maybe small garden to plan soursop and pomelos.

The speech is basically a heads up that things will be pretty much the same in the near future and that they will be fucking sinkies as usual.
Assume Doggy positions, standby....watch your front....ready, raise your arse!

Own time own target carry on. :wink:

OverTheCounter

Hundred times better than ours. Happiest people are there. Gosh, I thought that with the internet, sinkee will be more exposed. Sadly not, as reflected in you.

The model of self-reliance is in the US ...do you know the state of US healthcare? Even they are better than us as upon 65, all Americans enjoy government-funded healthcare.

The harsh reality which you have yet to realize - and I don't understand why - is that the government is selling this country to the foreigners.

The western model of healthcare has failed, filled with long waiting times, expensive treatments, and escalating costs. Over time, less and less people have become insured, not more. Clearly their system is broken.

Universal health care is the answer, but not in the way implemented in the european nations, UK or US. They have neglected the fact the self-reliance works over the long run and is the best strategy over the long run. With no budget deficits and chronic government debts, the govt will have the ability to manoveur and deliver better goods to the citizens in the long run.

That is why our healthcare and education is superior to the US, UK and European countries.

Merl Haggard

how did he betray reverend HC?

Scum was introduced to the Grandmaster after his '59 win.

On his request Grandmaster did a number of deeds for the nation such as the two racial riots, land-reclamation, merger-breakup, to warn him about an impending attempt on his life & in 1971 to select a plot of land on the grounds off Orchard Rd which he used taxpayers' money to build his luxurious bungalow.

Then came the stable period in the 70's, when the director of housing wanted to make a compulsory acquisition of a huge chunk of the temple land for road widening. Grandmaster called to ask him to ask his director to instead acquire the cemetery land right across the street.

Scum refused to accede to his request, and thereafter Grandmaster refused to have anymore dealings with him from 1972 onwards.

More than 40 years ago Grandmaster with his worldly wisdom and S E Asia's most respected religious figure was already able to see his horrible, merciless, spiteful, selfish, ruthless & vindictive character.

Merl Haggard

How to live on the same grounds with such a horrible person?

DN once said he felt very uncomfortable and it was like a prison and TC refused to live on the same grounds with him and instead he resided in the Command House at Kheam Hock Rd.

Subsequently only his three other lap dogs were able to put up with him.

OverTheCounter

How to live on the same grounds with such a horrible person?

DN once said he felt very uncomfortable and it was like a prison and TC refused to live on the same grounds with him and instead he resided in the Command House at Kheam Hock Rd.

Subsequently only his three other lap dogs were able to put up with him.

The past is the past. Let's close ranks and move on.

lan_lan69

PM: Beyond that, there will be a new Republic of Singapore Air Force (RSAF) air base and fourth runway at Changi East. Paya Lebar Airbase will move to Changi, freeing up 800 hectares of land.

10 million cumming soon

It would be a BIG mistake to move an air base next to a civilian airport. In a war, airports are the first targets to be destroyed. By locating both military and civilian airports nearby would end up with both being destroyed. Strategically, the airbase should be located at Tuas or Seletar.

so did those bookworm general advise him for that

or just yes men who say yes to anything he say..

this puny island is gone.

Poomer

Let me tell you that when it comes to healthcare, housing and education, Singaporeans have it better than pretty much every other country.

While the physical constraints of the Island make it impossible for everyone to own landed property, I have not come across any other country where the government is so actively involved in housing the population.

When it comes to healthcare and education, the schemes introduced take Singapore a notch above the Western world. If you don't believe me, do your own research.

Where else in the world will someone pay $700,000 SGD for a 70 year leasehold 5 room public housing at the fringes of the city? When a government is leasing out most of the land for 99 years, it is hard not to get involved.

Singapore's education system is so good that each year, thousands of local students go overseas to study at foreign universities, most if not all in the western world, which you claim is worst off than Singapore.

Regarding healthcare, I believe having the government run the hospitals and polyclinics, coupled with good management and a rising SGD have played a big part in prevent healthcare costs from rising. At last check, all our hospitals have become restructured, aka privatised. I don't think the good years will last very long.

Where else in the world will someone pay $700,000 SGD for a 70 year leasehold 5 room public housing at the fringes of the city? When a government is leasing out most of the land for 99 years, it is hard not to get involved.

Singapore's education system is so good that each year, thousands of local students go overseas to study at foreign universities, most if not all in the western world, which you claim is worst off than Singapore.

Regarding healthcare, I believe having the government run the hospitals and polyclinics, coupled with good management and a rising SGD have played a big part in prevent healthcare costs from rising. At last check, all our hospitals have become restructured, aka privatised. I don't think the good years will last very long.

$700,000 is a bargain considering the fact that Singapore is one of the best cities in the world. Compare it with what you get in other world class cities and you'll realise how cheap housing is in Singapore.

Singapore's education system has a basic requirement and that is that students actually have 1) brains 2) the desire to learn. Those that leave obviously have neither so they slink off with their tails between their legs searching out some half baked education system that caters to dumbos.

When you have experienced ending up in hospital in other countries, you'll learn to appreciate the Singapore system. It is ranked the BEST in Asia and the 6th best in the WHOLE WORLD by WHO.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_Health_Organization_ranking_of_health_systems

The past is the past. Let's close ranks and move on.

If only scum was so forgiving to those he view as his enemies...
Thanks bro MH for sharing the nuggets of history many of us would otherwise not know....
Indeed vileness of the man is still evident 40 years on...
I previously had heard he consulted master HC well into the 80s....and that even color of his tie to wear was advised by master....heard scum managed to 'Siam' a plane crash due to master's prediction....dunno any truth or not.