• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Please Help With These Dialect Phrases or Words

Unrepented

Uncle ram,

Just curious, what's the cantonese meaning:

1. Tiu nia (nay ah) seng, what is the "ah seng" means?

2. Tiu nay lou mei, what is "lou mei"?

Fuck in...
Teochiew = Poo (e.g. poo nia nia ngor chee)
Cantonese = Tiu (e.g. tiu lei lou mou chao hai)
Hokkien = Kan (e.g. kan nin na bu chao chee bye)

Sure or not? I've lived in HK, GZ and SF Chinatown before. Cantonese penis is pronounced same as Hokkien penis, lan, e.g. lan xi lan yong = like cock shit like cock.

Yes. Gao also sounds different as gao in dog.
one word that uses this gao (penis) is Ngong Gao Gao (stupid dick)

actually lan to my understanding refers to the balls....as in lampar.
But most people refers to it as penis also.
lan is more used by malaysians and sinkies probably because it sounds the same as hokkien lan........

Uncle ram,

interesting to note.......

Lou Mei is name of food dish.......a kind of braised meat.

Probably both came about because people wanted to sound poilte and substituted the F word......machiam some swear What The Fish!

Yes. Gao also sounds different as gao in dog.
one word that uses this gao (penis) is Ngong Gao Gao (stupid dick)

actually lan to my understanding refers to the balls....as in lampar.
But most people refers to it as penis also.
lan is more used by malaysians and sinkies probably because it sounds the same as hokkien lan........

Probably both came about because people wanted to sound poilte and substituted the F word......machiam some swear What The Fish!
Lou mei is the more civilise or 'polite' of 'loo ma'

Uncle ram,

1. bro, clause 1 "nah seng" has no meaning just some slang!
2. clause 2.0 "lou mei" instead of barking "lou mo" means mother.
3. it is less sharp & coarse.
4. yes, "lou mei" also sounds like some dish in hk.

Uncle ram,

tiu nia seng is about the same meaning as KNN. i dunno the word.

pt 2 just a less vulgar way of saying "fark your mother".

both use more as a expression of ones feeling than vulgarities direct at another person.

ie... tiu nia seng ar... mai 1414, tau biao hor 4141.

pt2 can also use for same situation.

Unrepented

As far as I know, "Zheng Kei Mei" is "make a few dishes":o

Is the lou mei, referring to men one or women one:confused::o

actually, it is getting to be a little too much information, me reckons......................... :o
Hehehe. That's the beauty of Chinese dialects. You don't get this in Mandarin or English right? :wink:

But don't worry, think these will be gone in another 1 or 2 generations.

Fah Hai......meaning same as Phua Cheeby.......Fai Hai rhymes with Flowery Crab

That was pointed out to me by a laundry aunty in SF Chinatown when we ate together once and I wanted to order crab. She said, speak English to order, don't speak Cantonese, even though the waitress taking the order was obviously a Cantonese-speaking Chinese. Crab is so delicious but has such a pitiful name, sigh. In Cantonese, it sounds like cunt and even in English, it sounds like crap.

Hehehe. That's the beauty of Chinese dialects. You don't get this in Mandarin or English right? :wink:

But don't worry, think these will be gone in another 1 or 2 generations.

Chinese dialects are great. Some of the best songs are from Taiwanese singers in menanyu.
Melodic tunes with beautiful lyrics.
Unfortunately, the most chorlor words are also in chinese dialects.

廣東話一門五傑 - The outstanding 5 in cantonese

The five most common vulgar words in Cantonese profanity are Diu (屌), gau (), lan (), tsat () and hai (屄), where the first literally means fuck, while the rest are sexual organs of guy....except for Hai with reference to Ladies.

廣東話一門五傑 - The outstanding 5 in cantonese

The five most common vulgar words in Cantonese profanity are Diu (屌), gau (), lan (), tsat () and hai (屄), where the first literally means fuck, while the rest are sexual organs of guy....except for Hai with reference to Ladies.

1. bro, i bet my last dollar!
2. you are another canto, right!